We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Monterey Hotel(St. Helier)
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Revere Hotel(St. Helier)(Great Value!)
$129
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hampshire Hotel(St. Helier)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn Boutique(St. Helier)(Great Value!)
$66
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de France(St. Helier)
$182
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Savoy Jersey(St. Helier)(Great Value!)
$188
$108
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mayfair Hotel(St. Helier)(Great Value!)
$117
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$141
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$142
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stafford Hotel(St. Helier)
$89
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,785)
Filter reviews
1,785 results
Traveler rating
953
520
207
64
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
953
520
207
64
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barpark viewelizabeth castlevictoria restauranttassili restaurantsea viewfive star hotelsmall balconylovely hotelsea frontfirst classsauna and steam roomrelaxation roommain restaurantnothing is too much troublemain roadlong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,308 - 1,313 of 1,785 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

There are some good things about this hotel. We appreciated the lovely soft sheets, books by the bed, the mostly very amenable staff, the amenities by Pecksniff and the nice sized and well appointed bathroom.Public areas are elegant and stylish although the scent of "The Jersey Lilies " was a little overpowering at times for me.
We did not like the location as traffic noise is a big problem. The decor of the room is very strange, dark colours, swirly carpet and a bed head illuminated by red or maybe pink lights. (We rejected the soiled pillows that were on the bed and were given fresh ones but as others have pointed out they don't really work as pillows any more and it is time new ones were bought. ) A layer of dust on top of the wardrobes could have been eliminated if the room had been better planned by making the wardrobes celling height.
None of these things help you feel relaxed and seem totally out of keeping in a seaside hotel. In fairness the decor is just as it appears on their website so I think the hotel appeals to a holidaymaker who wants things that we don't want on a holiday in the Channel Isles ie a relaxing tranquil break. Maybe a business traveller would enjoy The Grand?
Breakfast was hard work in the hot, big ,noisy restaurant where the swirly carpet meets you each morning. Hot buffet food is as you would expect when it is being kept warm rather than being freshly cooked. My boiled eggs freshly prepared were well presented and cooked just as requested. One table we were shown to was next to a grease spattered wall so we moved ourselves.
The fire alarm went off one evening. Evacuation procedures seemed to work but we not given an explanation of why it had gone off nor offered an apology for the inconvenience of leaving the hotel to go out into the rain.
St Helier could be an attractive town but the dual carriageway and car parks that greet you as you arrive don't do it any favours which seems a great pity as the town has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Contessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us here at Grand Jersey.

All comments are viewed constructively, and I shall be following up on some of the points you raised - thank you for bringing them to my attention.

I am glad that there were many elements of the hotel and staff that you enjoyed, and we would love to see you return to Grand Jersey in the future.

Best wishes,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very good Location. The rooms were spacious and clean as you expect from such a Hotel. The best aspect of the hotel was the staff who were very attentive and considerate - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Grand Jersey.

Your recognition and acknowlegement of the service our staff provide is very much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My mother and I stayed at Grand Jersey, St Helier (Jersey) from the 8th April 2013 to 13th April 2013 in room 331 (park-view). We've stayed there three times (Aug 11, Feb 12, Apr 13) and they keep improving their standards. The hotel staff were very kind upon arrival and took our two big suitcases up to our room. The room was spacious. It was equipped with a tea set (i.e. kettle, teas, biscuits, sugar, coffee, etc). The beds are a joy to sleep on and the doors insulate the sounds from the corridors very well for a good night's sleep. The breakfast buffet is very luxurious: there is a wide selection of food from the hot buffet section, cereals, "bakery section", fresh fruit and you can order some hot dishes too - e.g, poached eggs on toast, kippers etc. Although, 1) you have to order baked beans if you want them, and 2) the only freshly squeezed juice is orange juice. However, this doesn't affect the pleasure of a stay at Grand Jersey. The spa at Grand Jersey is excellent. The swimming pool is a heated swimming pool and is not too hot (like the Jacuzzi) or too cold (like a leisure centre swimming pool). There is also a sauna and steam room and gymnasium. The location of the hotel is a 5 minute walk to St Helier town centre, the main bus station (Liberation Station) and the tourist information centre. There is also a bus stop outside the hotel were busses to the West Coast, North Coast and Airport stop. (The bus stop for the bus from the airport is a one minute walk west of the hotel.) Across the road (directly in front of the hotel) is the boarding spot of the "Charming Betty" water-bus that takes people across the sea to the Elizabeth Castle. This is very convenient.

Overall, we both enjoyed the stay thoroughly and the hotel is (100%) worth the 5-star rating it has! Thank you Grand Jersey.

Room Tip: Most "Park-View" Rooms have balconies (and most overlook the coast as well as the park) No "Sea-View" Rooms have balconies
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Anthony,

Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay at Grand Jersey.

It is very much appreciated by the whole team when their hard work and five star service is recognised and acknowledged by our guests and as a returning guest to the hotel, I would also like to thank you for your continued support.

I can't wait to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. From arrival to check in - car park, information, restaurant, room was above expectation. Hotel has a great team I was with kids needing additional help nothing was too much. I felt all the staff was happy and care about the guests while delivering exceptional service. I would definitely recommend the hotel to my friends and family for any future stays.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REChatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear guest,

I am delighted that you and your family had such a great stay at Grand Jersey recently.

At Grand Jersey we strive towards delivering a five star, exceptional service to every one of our guests and to know that you and your family experienced this throughout your 4-day stay is great to hear. I shall pass your compliments on to the team and hope to see you return in the near future.

Best wishes,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel has been a fantastic experience. This is our first time in Jersey and won't be the last. We are lucky that Easy-jet are doing a flight from our local airport. Thanks to Booking.com for the great rate we got on the room. We had a lovely room with a view of the Sea View at one side and a view of Victoria Park on the other with a lovely little balcony. The breakfast was very good with a great choice. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We used the local transport to get around which was great. The highlight of our stay was our meal in Aromas which is just around the corner from the hotel. The food was amazing. That's why it's no 1 on the reviews. Thanks to Tripadvisor for this. We will come back to Grand Jersey again soon.

Room Tip: Room 331.Sea View and Park View.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooseymat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Grand Jersey.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time in Jersey and I shall pass your compliments on to the team who helped make your stay such a memorable one.

I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews