We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neutral”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Edzell
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Neutral”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from a four day stay in Jersey, all nights at the Grand. Hotel location is good if you want to base your stay in the capital, however it is a noisy location for traffic if you are there for relaxation rather than business. We had booked a deluxe sea view room which are located at the front of the Hotel with super views over the beach and castle, however this is the noisy side, our room was upgraded to a suite which was a nice surprise. The suite itself was spacious and comfortable with a super bed and good tv,s etc, no mini bar, bathroom toiletries were mid market items and not luxury, generally the suite felt a little tired.

Hotel were completing refurbishment at the front which we were not advised about. I think completion had been delayed down to the weather. Most scaffold was off when we checked out.

The car boys were fantastic, the rest of the staff pleasant, the service staff in Tassili exceptional.

The main lobby was badly signed, took us a while to find the Champagne bar, which when we did find it was excellent with a great selection of drinks but pretty pricy. Leisure area fine but as it is all located in the basement it was bit dingy, but was operationally very good.

Breakfast had a good selection of items but hot food cold, they should batch cook rather than store, in my opinion 5 star hotels should cook breakfast to order as I have never stayed in a Hotel which gets cooked breakfast right when this is not the case.

Tassili is definitely worth experiencing - we loved it.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but think there are better 5 star options in Jersey.

Think the Hotel is a good 4 star but not 5

Room Tip: Good views at the front but with traffic noise, rooms quieter at the back. As for rooms upstairs as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    485
    202
    62
    32
See reviews for
216
916
56
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful time staying at the Grand Jersey and would highly recommend it to anyone. To our surprise we received a complimentary upgrade to a suite which overlooked Elizabeth Castle and the park so stunning views were to be seen from all windows and the balcony. The lounge, bedroom, dressing area and bathroom were very spaceous, comfortable, mordern and clean. Also the staff were fantastic and so welcoming and the service during both a very busy breakfast and Sunday lunch was first class - the waiters/waitresses couldn't have been more attentive and the food was lovely too!! We were both sad to have to check out as we could have stayed longer so we will definately be booking a return trip sometime soon!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the entrance to the hotel nothing was too much trouble for the staff, even down to parking our car as parking was limited during our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and the facilities were good to very good, the only downside was the front car park and terrace was being refurbished as was some of the internal rooms but none of these affected our stay. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay here and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise from the general facilities and have a better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I visited the Grand on Wednesday 13th to treat a friend of mine to afternoon tea using the JT Rewards 2 for 1 offer. Unfortunately it was an awful experience in terms of customer service.
It took about 10 minutes for us to be even approached when we arrived. (Not their usual high level of service) When we were approached the waiter was very short with us. He returned 5 minutes later to take our order. We explained we were there on the Rewards deal. My friend asked him if she could have loose leaf breakfast tea with her afternoon tea, to which he began to point at the Assam tea option in the menu and insist that that was the breakfast tea and that it wasn't avaialble. My friend could see he had read the menu wrongly and tried to explain what she wanted again. The waiter got argumentative and slightly aggressive with his tone. To be honest at that point we thought to leave, but that it would be rude following our order.
When our afternoon tea arrived it was beautiful. It was really nice to see how the afternoon is obviously seasonal and this time there were hot cross buns. I really enjoyed the truffle and orange tea that I had to accompany it.
Although the experience had begun to improve it was ruined at the end when we requested the bill. I had already given the code for our rewards deal to the waiter we recieved a bill for £20. This wasn't the price advertised for an afternoon tea, which is £15 and considering we were there on a 2 for 1 local deal this was confusing. We called over another man who had begun to serve us wearing a suit. He insisted that this was the price for such a lovely experience. We reminded him of the deal, but he insisted that £20 reflected the true price of what we'd experienced. At this point his rudeness made me want to walk out. So much for trading standards. Eventually our bill was returned back to it's advertised price.

The whole experience has led me to doubt The Grand and it's staff.

I complained by email a few days later. I was emailed back with an apology and told someone would be in touch.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed three nights in a superior sea view room which was spacious and comfortable. Lovely two metre bed! Spacious bathroom with good shower.
Good service at breakfast and good choice. Did not try their restaurants.
Reception staff very friendly and helpful and the front of house staff that deal with valet parking were superb.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billsurf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

i have just come back from a 2 day stay at the Grand. the hotel is pleasant and is in a great location with views across the Bay. our room was ok nice and clean, but the shower was not very good and we had to run the water for ages before it got hot. the pool area is very dark and gloomy which didnt create a relaxing atmospehere. the staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was good. i think to be honest though i would probably look at other hotel options if i returned to Jersey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tattybEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Grand Jersey - I appreciate your honest feedback.

I can see that overall you had an enjoyable stay although slightly disappointed with the shower facilities and I feel it would be a shame if you didn't choose to return to us in the future because of this. Therefore I would ask that you contact us if you are considering returning to Jersey and we can ensure you are happy with the room allocation.

Kind regards,

Eamonn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, lovely hotel, didnt eat there apart from breakfast which was good, self service, anything you wanted ect, but this morning, there were no eggs left, i asked a waiter and he said the eggs were coming,,,,,,,,,,,ten mins later they arrived,,,to a queue waiting, i had put my breakfast under a hotplate,,,luckily,,,,,,my friend had eaten hers by the time i got back to the table . Great location though, and some good restaurants just around the corner. Room was lovely, and bathroom ect. I,m not sure its a 5 star, but certainly a 4.star. We did get it on a smart deal, so was excellent value for money. I would certainly stay there again at the right price. Staff were nice,,,champagne bar good,,,,,,,cocktails gorgeous, pricey,,but then on holiday :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debs11360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you had such a lovely stay and found the hotel to be excellent value for money, and I very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Eamonn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,908 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
1,501 reviews
1.7 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
819 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Address: The Esplanade, St. Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing