We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There was nothing bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

1st time experience in a 5 star hotel, the porters were very professional, at breakfast the waiter were so professional coz they were fantastic at presenting themselves, the manager was especially fantastic coz he was always helping us. The swimming pool is fantastic, loved the lighting in there it was all so relaxing, even the bar was amazing and nicely decorated and nice choice of whiskeys and glasses to go with aswell. Room service was great, room was done twice a day which was nice. It was a Groupon deal, so it was a great indroduction into 5 star living. The only thing i will say that there was no baked beans for breakfast but everything else was there. The bacon was amazing! And salmon for breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KOPJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. It is always good for staff morale to receive such positive feedback and recognition for all their hard work and effort and I will be circulating your comments to every department.

I hope that we will be seeing you at Grand Jersey again in the future.

Best wishes,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,689)
There are newer reviews for Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,330 - 1,336 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed between Xmas and new year, all staff very helpful and welcoming offered a mulled wine and mince pie on arrival nice touch. Room was clean and well equipped but on the small side, we did booked this hotel on a good twixmas deal so didn't expect a better room but we we did not go to stay in the room. I had not been feeling to good during our stay and we were late for breakfast on one morning this was no problem the staff were happy to accommodate us many thanks.
On the downside we would have liked a relaxation area in the spa to just sit and read but there is none available (except if you pay extra for a treatment).also the jacuzzi was broken and had not worked for three days, the lay out of the changing rooms is also confusing it took me a while to find my locker as they seem to be spread around in other rooms down passage ways that have no signs telling you. There did seem to be little in the way of signs we found the champagne bar by accident when I opened an unmarked door. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay again possibly considering a better room we did eat in the hotel apart from breakfast and Sunday lunch both very good with plenty of choice,location is good with only a short walk to the shops, cinema etc.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I have noted all of your comments - especially those regarding the lack of relaxation area for residents in the Spa, and I shall be looking into these in more detail.

I am delighted that overall you had an enjoyable stay and I certainly hope that you will decide to visit us again in the future.

Best wishes,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Wow,Great location overlooking the bay and castle,virtually everything about this hotel is excellent,from the private cinema (complementary) to the swimming pool,steam room,sauna,Champagne bar and Michelin starred restaurant,complementary breakfast being fantastic,all the staff were helpful and polite,our room was well equipped and the large bed to die for,small downside was the room could have been a little cleaner but overall a great experience and excellent value for money for a genuine 5 star hotel,would recommend to a friend and will certainly stay again.John Farrin and Lovely Deb.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear John & Deb,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Grand Jersey.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I look forward to you returning again in the future.

Best wishes,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A great week in Jersey but the Grand was disappointing, does not deserve 5 stars :-(
pros:
- great food both in the main restaurant and in the fine dining one
- very nice location, amazing view

Cons:
- service is of low quality, Romanian waiters seem to hate their job and guests in general
- rooms are crowded and small, even the family suite. This may stem from the history of the building which, i guess, was originally not a hotel.
- the swimming pool is dark, small and hidden in the middle of a labirinth, literally

I heard from some people working there that the new management is clearly in for the short term profit and is not willing to invest. This certainly feels true.

Alltogether an ok place to stay but definetly not five stars. Feels overpriced. Consider the modern four star hotel at the seaside (forgot its name) instead.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Miki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Jersey on TripAdvisor - I appreciate this takes time and I am grateful for your constructive comments.

All of your feedback has been noted by myself and will be relayed back to the team with the intention of resolving all of the issues raised.

On a positive note, I am pleased that you enjoyed dining in our restaurant and I shall pass your compliments on to the kitchen.

Best wishes,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Perhaps we stayed here the wrong weekend of the year as unfortuntely it did fall short of our expectations, It was far too hot in the hotel the weather was very mild and made it very uncomfortable, Our bedroom didn't seem to have been cleaned properly when we arrived and had a layer of dust everywhere. We were very impressed the hotel bar and champagne bar when we were allowed in! Unfortunately we were told we couldn't go in there the second night of our stay as it had been taken over by a private party which was slightly embarrassing as we had arranged to meet friends there for a pre-dinner drink and were told to go and sit in the dining room in a make shift bar area and had no apology. The one meal we did have in the bar when we were allowed back in on the Sunday was disappointing as it wasn't cheap and service not great which was a shame as it did not do justice to hotel's Victorian elegance and charm.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janeybhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear guest,

I am sorry that the hotel did not meet all of your expectations and I would like to assure you that I will be looking into the points you have raised - especially those regarding your room and access to the Champagne Lounge.

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your constructive feedback via TripAdvisor and best wishes for 2013.

Regards,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I had a overnight stay.it was a fantastic deal from quids inn.on arrival we were told our booking was cancelled,which it certainly wasn't.It was booked in Oct.after half a hour wait was given a lovely room.it made up for the confusion.The room was faultless,We then went to the spar the steam room and hot tub was great,the pool was really cold couldn't use it.Our evening meal was lovely the staff were fantastic very helpful.The bar staff were great.we had a great nights sleep,then breakfast it was very disappointing it was like a holiday camp.self service everything was cold.we couldn't eat it.we've been to a few quids in deals at other places and the breakfast was fantastic .all in all it was ok but the breakfast let the place down.

Room Tip: We paid extra to have a sea view room.it was worth the 10 pound extra.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishface003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Grand Jersey.

I appreciate your constructive feedback and thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. On a positive note, I am pleased to see that you were happy with your room allocation and had a lovely time in the Spa.

I would like to see you return to Grand Jersey in the future, and would be happy to take care of your reservation to ensure all aspects of your stay meet your expectations.

Best wishes,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is just fantastic!! cannot fault a single thing!!, the hotel is situated in a super-location for the whole island and the shopping center only five min walk away, the views of the bay are stunning the hotel was spotlessly clean, the food is exceptional, i stayed here for 3 nights, and cannot recommend this enough! the decor exceptional and the bar area has fantastic mood lighting! The staff are very friendly and go out of there way to help with everything, i will be staying here again next year! cant beat it!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirrorsmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Grand Jersey.

It is always so rewarding to receive such amazing feedback and I shall be circulating your review for all of the staff to see.

I hope that you will decide to return to Grand Jersey in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,090 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
1,546 reviews
1.7 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
839 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Address: The Esplanade, St. Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $127 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing