We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very superficial. Cannot acknowledge it's 5 star status.
My room (4) had a window looking out onto a mass of metal ducting which was covered in anti-pidgeon netting. This netting was successfully supporting quite a bit of rubbish - empty bottles, packets etc.
Wednesday morning saw a hot water issue - not even tepid water in the showers.
The vent fan in the bathroom runs on for 20 minutes after the light is turned off - and sounds like a pneumatic drill, thus making getting back to sleep difficult.
The toilet flush lasts about 1.5 seconds - hardly enough time to flush a tissue away.

Was reception interested? Not at all.
The lack of water was "unfortunate and inconvenient";
I was blanked at the mention of the "view" and the bathroom fan, and when I asked whether they ever inspected their rooms for usability, I was told - we are always fully booked so we depend upon customer complaints.
Totally unacceptable.

Wow ! - a new concept in customer care - maintain 5 star status by being totally reactive (but my guess is nothing will be done about the third world type view or the noisy fan, and I'm sure I dont hear anymore from them).

Not all service was reactive: if you like the concept of fuedal vassaldom, this could be the place for you. Their conciege nearly broke his neck trying to grab my bag to carry it 7 yards to the reception desk. Needless to say I didn't accept his over zealous "offer".

Positive thoughts?
The bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,418 - 1,424 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was our first visit to Jersey. I chose this Hotel after looking at reviews on trip adviser and the reviewers did not let us down. What a fantastic Hotel. Loved it. The service was top notch, the staff could not do enough for us and made us feel special. They were so polite and attentive. The breakfast was wonderful - I've put on a few pounds! The spa was so relaxing. I loved the subtle lighting the pool area, so relaxing and peaceful.

The Hotel is a short walk from the hustle and bustle of St Helier itself. We found the location perfect, surrounded by resturants if you didn't fancy the short walk. We hired a car. the car park is small at the Hotel, but the staff took any worriesabout parking it as 99% of the time, they kindly parked it for us.

The Hotel is spottlessly clean. The champayne bar is a must for late night cocktails.

Loved the place, Hotel and Country. We will return.

Room Tip: We had a sea view, but they do face a main road - this wasn't a problem for us, but just so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Not Delux enough for 5 star hotel; very poor lighting in lobby where wardrobe is, bathroom/toilet not separately vented, ceiling light in bathroom not been cleaned for ages. good service with clean sheets and towels every day but fruit in bowl not replaced during 7 night stay and fresh milk not offered for room tea even although room has fridge. Welcome very muted not helped by reception insisting we were just booked for 7 nights bed and breakfast instead of holiday escape pakage including 4 evening meals. Breakfast service and food good but no choice of low fat/full cream milk and you needed to be strong to lift the milk jug when full and could be kept waiting when it ran out. On one occassion the coffee refill was poured from the last drops of the thermal jug and was too cool. Service in the Victorianis Resturant good but food quality strayed from very good-excellent on several occasions. Had set menu for our Tasilli night and this was again a curates egg experience in relation to food with tasteless fish for the Rock Pool dish. When provided with more bread the waiter failed to notice we had used up the unsalted butter. You need a good memory to recall how much the extra food items and drinks which are offered at various points cost and a single bottle of still mineral water was charged at £3.99 per person double the cost in the Victorianis resturant.

Room Tip: Bear in mind that Sea View is accross dual carriageway main road and you may still hear and feel the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have just spent our first visit to Jersey in the Grand St.Helier. It is an excellent hotel and worthy of it's 5 star rating.

We were staying on a bed and breakfast tariff.

The food was great and the staff were very attentive, helpful, courteous and friendly at all times.

Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a executive sea view room. Well worth the lovely view of the bay and Elizabeth Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandraBisset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just spent 5 nights here and it was excellent. The service was superb and the room and food were terrific. The spa is every bit as good as it looks on the photos. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I usually find something I can moan about a little, but not on this occasion - well done Grand Jersey!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheAnglersRest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I recently spent one night at The Grand for business. I enjoyed my stay and would stay again, but I was not particularly overwhelmed and having not yet stayed anywhere else in St Helier, I'm sure how it stacks up in terms of value for money.

Service was generally very good, especially from the front desk and bellhop.

The room was large but a bit dated with some lackluster lighting. The bathroom felt a bit tired but clean. The shower curtain was exceptionally annoying - but that could just be me! There was a seating area next to a bay window with partial sea views, a large comfortable bed and lots of extra pillows. Bathrobe and slippers, tea/coffee and kettle, cold water in the mini fridge and a laptop sized safe were all a plus.

The Champagne bar looks great, has amazing views, and boasts a well stocked bar. Prices are not over the top.

Unfortunately, their main Michelin star restaurant is closed on Mondays so we ate outside the hotel. Breakfast in the morning had a exceptional variety and great service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliverN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just popped in to look around and have some hot drinks. The hotel is in a beitiful position right on the seafront. It is quite an imposing building and also has a large outside seating area. The interior is very lavish and well looked after. Naturally, I can only comment on the public areas I could see but I am sure the luxurious theme continues into the bedrooms. We had 3 coffees and a Tea and didn't get much change from £20 so it is at the high end!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dumbo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
2,132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
1,564 reviews
1.7 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
858 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Address: The Esplanade, St. Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $135 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing