We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a grand holiday at The Grand Jersey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a grand holiday at The Grand Jersey”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked this holiday break purely for its location. We received an upgraded roon with balcony and sea view. We noted a couple of minor defects with reception and these were rectified. The room was great ,the bedding replaced daily and extremely clean. The staff were a credit to the hotel, very polite and gave great service. We didn't use the spa as the weather was so good but maybe next time as we would want to visit again at this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the park are quieter than on the front of the hotel and have a good view of St Aub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centurymotors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    471
    191
    60
    32
See reviews for
207
877
56
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

In a very convenient location with great views at the front. The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The beds were changed daily and the rooms kept clean. The food was excellent. A real five star hotel. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A recent stay at the Grand Jersey Hotel was rather disappointing.
On check in I was advised, without asking, that we had been "up- graded" from a de luxe park view room to a sea view room.
This was a joke as it had the smallest window I have come across. Although it did have a sea view, it was a very dark room even with the lights on. It was small & rather pokey, built in to the roof & I had to duck walking about to prevent banging my head on the sloping ceiling - certainly not 5 star although it had been re-furnished to a high degree.
I think that there was a nightly turn down service but the only thing that was evident each night was that the curtains had been half drawn but nothing else was done.
The concierge department was however 5 star & they were very helpful.
There is nowhere to sunbathe & the swimming pool is indoors & although it is a lovely pool - there is no daylight & it is extremely gloomy with very low lighting.

Room Tip: Avoid room 323
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I spent most of my time here in the first and second quarter of 2012. If you are given or booked into deluxe or double rooms then it is good. Avoid single bedrooms here at any cost. The hotel staff are very good and helpful, especially the staff at the breakfast hall are excellent. Basically you will be looked after very well at the Grand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coonbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I booked a Suite Room for a 13 day holiday to Jersey and thought it would be the ideal place to stay.

The location of the hotel is not great as it is on a main road but the view of the ocean is lovely and is in a very short walking distance to the town. Car parking facilities are abysmal but to be fair the concierge boys looked after us impeccably as they always made sure we had an allocated space for us to park our vehicle, although we did find the concierge manager rather miserable.

Staff in the hotel were not generally very friendly or welcoming, there were a few that were exceptional who we had dealt with but you could definitely see a difference in service, there seemed to be a a lack of atmosphere within the hotel but I think that was due to the staff. I think due to the laid back attitude of the staff this did reflect in the service which was slow at times but generally good.

This hotel is expensive, I would categorically state that this is definitely NOT a 5 star hotel, it has been rated to this level purely due to the Spa facilities.

Our Suite was clean and decoratively very contemporary but the facilities were very dated and the bathroom was quite tatty. The bed was very comfortable which was reassuring as we were going to be in this hotel for nearly 2 weeks so this was imperative!! The rooms were very clean but I found it frustrating as they did not have Wi-Fi in the rooms and was only available in the hotel's lounges, you could however get internet access via an ethernet cable (if you happen to have packed one!!!).

The hotel has a fantastic Champagne Lounge that had perfectly appropriate music playing in the background and where we spent a considerable amount of time, you can read, chill out, GET WI-FI, have a cocktail or lunch or just stare at the ocean and watch the world go by. 5/5 for this area of the hotel.

There are two restaurant's in this hotel and whilst we were there we became the first people to have a meal in the newly awarded Michelin Star Restaurant Tassili the food was sublime, we had eaten in this restaurant several times before the award and the food was always flawless. The food in the other restaurant on the other hand was dreadful and not acceptable, I found it hard to get my head round the distinctive contrast between the two. The breakfast was average not top quality as you would have expected from a 5 star hotel and also limited choices .

The Grand Jersey is a nice hotel and well worth a visit but it does need vast improvement in many areas in my opinion. We would definitely stay again but would not rush back in the near future. The Grand Jersey need to use the same template as their sister hotel Bovey Castle which is based in Devon and emulate their level of standard and service. We have stayed at Bovey Castle on numerous occasions and have loved it!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Booked at the last minute for a 3 night break. Arrived in Jersey in the evening and was impressed when we pulled up at the hotel and immediately were greeted by the concierge offering to park our car and take our luggage inside. Just had a snack on the terrace as it was fairly late and was impressed that they made the effort to put blankets out for people who were getting a little chilly with the night air. Good food. Good Service. Room very tastefully decorated and clean but rather small. Had everything you needed though including robes and slippers. Didn't have time to use the spa so good excuse to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham Uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hotel is nice. Car park is very small and whist they don't advertise valet parking they will park car for you. Air con is noisy but at least they have it!

No mini bar in the room disappointing.
Wifi is free but weak signal in my room 141.
A bit on the expensive side and not as nice as other five star hotels we have styled at., but nothing wrong with it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WifethreekidsandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Address: The Esplanade, St. Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing