We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Apollo Hotel(St. Helier)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$144
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Pomme d'Or Hotel(St. Helier)
$200
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$140
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Hotel(St. Helier)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn Boutique(St. Helier)(Great Value!)
$146
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Savoy Jersey(St. Helier)
$146
$124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ommaroo Hotel(St. Helier)
$136
$132
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,860)
Filter reviews
1,860 results
Traveler rating
983
545
214
74
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
983
545
214
74
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barelizabeth castlepark viewvictoria restauranttassili restaurantsea viewfive star hotelsmall balconylovely hotelsea frontfirst classsteam roomrelaxation roommain restaurantnothing is too much troublemain roadshort break
Filter
Updating list...
1,592 - 1,597 of 1,860 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I booked a Suite Room for a 13 day holiday to Jersey and thought it would be the ideal place to stay.

The location of the hotel is not great as it is on a main road but the view of the ocean is lovely and is in a very short walking distance to the town. Car parking facilities are abysmal but to be fair the concierge boys looked after us impeccably as they always made sure we had an allocated space for us to park our vehicle, although we did find the concierge manager rather miserable.

Staff in the hotel were not generally very friendly or welcoming, there were a few that were exceptional who we had dealt with but you could definitely see a difference in service, there seemed to be a a lack of atmosphere within the hotel but I think that was due to the staff. I think due to the laid back attitude of the staff this did reflect in the service which was slow at times but generally good.

This hotel is expensive, I would categorically state that this is definitely NOT a 5 star hotel, it has been rated to this level purely due to the Spa facilities.

Our Suite was clean and decoratively very contemporary but the facilities were very dated and the bathroom was quite tatty. The bed was very comfortable which was reassuring as we were going to be in this hotel for nearly 2 weeks so this was imperative!! The rooms were very clean but I found it frustrating as they did not have Wi-Fi in the rooms and was only available in the hotel's lounges, you could however get internet access via an ethernet cable (if you happen to have packed one!!!).

The hotel has a fantastic Champagne Lounge that had perfectly appropriate music playing in the background and where we spent a considerable amount of time, you can read, chill out, GET WI-FI, have a cocktail or lunch or just stare at the ocean and watch the world go by. 5/5 for this area of the hotel.

There are two restaurant's in this hotel and whilst we were there we became the first people to have a meal in the newly awarded Michelin Star Restaurant Tassili the food was sublime, we had eaten in this restaurant several times before the award and the food was always flawless. The food in the other restaurant on the other hand was dreadful and not acceptable, I found it hard to get my head round the distinctive contrast between the two. The breakfast was average not top quality as you would have expected from a 5 star hotel and also limited choices .

The Grand Jersey is a nice hotel and well worth a visit but it does need vast improvement in many areas in my opinion. We would definitely stay again but would not rush back in the near future. The Grand Jersey need to use the same template as their sister hotel Bovey Castle which is based in Devon and emulate their level of standard and service. We have stayed at Bovey Castle on numerous occasions and have loved it!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Booked at the last minute for a 3 night break. Arrived in Jersey in the evening and was impressed when we pulled up at the hotel and immediately were greeted by the concierge offering to park our car and take our luggage inside. Just had a snack on the terrace as it was fairly late and was impressed that they made the effort to put blankets out for people who were getting a little chilly with the night air. Good food. Good Service. Room very tastefully decorated and clean but rather small. Had everything you needed though including robes and slippers. Didn't have time to use the spa so good excuse to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hotel is nice. Car park is very small and whist they don't advertise valet parking they will park car for you. Air con is noisy but at least they have it!

No mini bar in the room disappointing.
Wifi is free but weak signal in my room 141.
A bit on the expensive side and not as nice as other five star hotels we have styled at., but nothing wrong with it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WifethreekidsandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here in July and the first room we were shown was really tiny, about 10 cm between the bed and wall, definitely not 5 star. We complained and were shown to room 210 which was larger but extremely dark. We could not look out the window beacuse it was a galzed window. At night we could not sleep due to the nosie of ventilatores outside. After two restless nights we complained again and were offered room 7 which was much nicer and brighter with a park view. We were very comfortable here.
This hotel also has a great spa and private cineama.
The staff were at all times nice.
To sum it up this hotel has some real substandard rooms which belong to a 2 * and the better rooms are about a 4*. If you book here get a room with an odd number as these seem to have a better view.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bernie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We've just returned from our first trip (3 nights) to Jersey and hope to return very soon.
The hotel was luxurious as expected for the price, but it was the staff who made it so special. Each one made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We were met with a warm friendly smile each time we came in the door and there were so many smartly dressed staff around eager to help. Our room overlooked the bay on the 2nd floor and although there was one warm dry night and the terrace was busy, the level of noise of people enjoying themselves did not disturb us. There was a large tv at the foot of the bed on the "dressing table" which did mean that I had to move the freestanding mirror so that it was near a plug in order to use the hairdryer but it wasn't a big problem. Little touches such as slippers, bathrobes and chilled water in the fridge really do make a difference.
The bed was two singles pushed together so was huge and very comfortable.
Breakfast was amazing! Fresh coffee and orange juice which kept being topped up for us by our waitress, a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, continental and then the hot buffet which was plentiful and freshly cooked. I wish we could have seen the chefs to compliment them. The waiters/waitresses were so attentive and friendly - we watched them clear tables professionally and quickly during a busy Sunday morning and the smiles kept coming. The ladies on the Concierge were very helpful and offered to print our boarding pass on our leaving day.
The Spa was clean and relaxing - we used the swimming pool and gym. Slightly difficult to see in the changing rooms as the atmospheric lighting was a little too low but again very relaxing.
The location is very good - only a few minutes walk to the town centre with plenty of restaurants just around the corner (we recommend Little Italy which is just about 100 yards away). Buses stop almost outside the hotel and the service is very efficient - we chose to buy a 3 day pass and used the bus to travel around the island without the need to hire a car.
We certainly hope to return to this hotel one day and wanted the chance to thank the friendly staff for making our short stay so enjoyable. Many thanks - keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We chose a room with seaview when booking and were given a room on the 2nd floor. Very happy with it - lovely view over towards the castle.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WickhamWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear guest,

I am delighted to see that you had such a wonderful stay with us recently and I'd like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

It is always such a compliment to our staff when their hard work and efforts are appreciated and I have already passed your praise on to all departments.

I hope you enjoy the remainder of your summer and I look forward to seeing you at Grand Jersey again next year!

Kind regards,

Eamonn Elliott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews