We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

5 Star Hotel - relatively recently upgraded - was chosen for a three night break as first visit to Jersey. Location convenient - sea view but only 15 minutes walk to town centre. Situated on a main road which was quite noisy, but not indoors. Reception always manned (personned) by two ladies, courteous, knowledgable and friendly. Ditto the concierge station. Room reasonably spacious, clean, plumbing worked - fine. Even a small balcony. Dining room service very good. Michelin starred dining was exquisite quality, although if opting for the 3- course meal, the optional extra cheese course necessary to make up for beautiful but tiny portions! Not cheap, but not over-priced. In summary, a stay made pleasant by the number, attitude and quality of the staff.

Room Tip: First floor sea-view rooms have a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Colin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at Grand Jersey.

It is always very much appreciated when the hard work and efforts of the staff are recognised and I will be sure to pass on your kind compliments to them.

I know this was your first visit to Jersey but I hope that we will see you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Eamonn Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    487
    203
    63
    32
See reviews for
220
923
56
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Booked via lastminute.com, as one of their 'secret hotels' - and was very pleased with this decision. The hotel has a fantastic location on the sea front; yes you have to cross the road to get to the beach, however this 'dual carriageway' is more 'main road' and not an issue (gets busy during normal peak times), as the hotel sits set back, and above it - giving lovely sea views towards the castle.
We had a deluxe park view - gaining the best of both worlds as the park side must be quieter than the front sea view rooms which are above the terrace bar and main road; but we still had a sea view too - lying on the bed able to see the sun set over the bay. We saw other sea view rooms, one a suite, and one a double, and yes the view was stunning, if you want to pay the price. The room was spacious enough, with the key things you would expect - tea and coffee (replenished frequently) and fresh jersey milk on request rather than uht. The walk-in shower room was lovely modern and very 'boutique chic', fluffy towels (decent sizes!) and toileteries. My only issue with the room was the lighting - despite four mirrors (generous) in various locations applying make-up was tricky.
We made good use of the fantastic spa facilities which each time we pretty much had to ourselves - again this is dark, but atmospheric with scented candles on the stairs, and subtle led lighting.
We ate on the terrace and in the champagne bar. The terrace food was a little bit of a let-down for the price; literally a chicken breast grilled (beautifully and very tender) plonked on some french fries with a pile of rocket...no dressing! The food in the champagne bar was limited in choice, small in size (three new jersey potatoes, about 8 mange-tout, 15 peas - yes sad I know but I did count them, half a carrot and the tiniest fillet of salmon), but utterly delicious, and cooked to perfection.
The breakfast buffet was great, plenty of choice to suite all tastes and requirements, and the staff serving were fantastic with the guests.
Overall, this is a lovely place to stay for the location, the spa and the attentive staff - you should have a relaxing stay here.

Room Tip: park view rooms near front of hotel for view of sea too
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happywife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear guest,

I just wanted to thank your for your recent feedback on your stay at Grand Jersey. As I am sure you are aware, Tripadvisor is viewed by so many travellers (both corporate and leisure guests) and I am extremely appreciative of anyone who takes the time to give an honest, constructive review of the stay.

I am glad that you will be taking home some wonderful memories and I certainly hope we will see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Eamonn Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My partner and I live in Jersey but decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay in the Grand. I have to say that we were so very impressed with the whole experience.
As someone who visits The Grand regularly, I have to say that the service is usually very slow on the terrace especially in the summer, but during this overnight stay my opinion has completely changed - it was sheer luxury - we will definitely do this again soon. We have even booked to have our wedding reception there.
PS - if you have lunch - I would recommend a glass of pink bubbles (not cheap though) and the roast beef sandwich - yum!

Room Tip: As for a sea view - it is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatyRingsdore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Katy,

I just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

I am so pleased that we have managed to turn your opinion around regarding our Terrace - and I am delighted that your experience this summer has been exceptional enough for you to decide to hold your wedding reception here!

I wish you well with your wedding plans and look forward to seeing you on your wedding day in August.

Kind regards,

Eamonn Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury lancashire uk
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stopped at the grand hotel and spa for a week from the 18-25 july 2012 in a twin room with double bed, room was small you couldnt open the window more than six inches windowsill was covered in bird droppings as was the window and you couldnt see out of it as it was of the bathroom type (not clear glass).breakfast was good room service charged £3 tray fee.no draught bear only bottles at £4 per bottle.they put a bottle of water in your room but you dont find out its not free till you get a bill on checkout. no clocks in hotel including your room.cleaners kept forgetting to remove breakfast tray from room and also from outside the door not nice when coming back after midnight and its still there. also some staff struggle to speak english. Not worth the money its just a 4* with exspencive spa and bar

Room Tip: dont get room 128... go somwhere better value for your money very expencive for average room with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ixi1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Given the lack of chain hotels in Jersey and suprisingly a lack of boutique/chic hotels the Grand is a good choice. It's location on the main promenade gives it a great sunshine location (when the sun is out and the wind is not blowing a gale) and is a short stroll into the town centre for shopping restaurants and bars.

the hotel is like many other older hotels in Jersey and has a mix of old world 'charm' (ie. floral carpets, curtains, bed covers and solid iron bath tubs.) and newer amenities (ie. massive flatscreen tv's, power showers and funly led lit headboards). I've stayed in a variety of rooms from closet like single classic rooms which may be fine for a couple of nights to the ocean view deluxe which although still modest in size is good enough for a couple of weeks. You get water, tea/coffe and biscuits refreshed daily. Toiletries are nice to use but for some reason they dont replace them until you are on the last drop of the previous bottle or down to a penny sized piece of soap? Beds are comfy but beware some doubles are just 2 singles hinged together so can be a little odd if you like to sleed dead centre of the bed. Also ask for an odd number room as they face out of the hotel to the sea or park etc. the even numbers face 'inland' and often mean a view of the extractor fans, other buildings or the car-park behind the hotel

The staff (with the exception of the check-in girls) seem to be made up of summer interns from eastern europe, so unless you are staying long-term or are a repeat customer dont expect a personal service. Many of the staff and this goes for all of Jersey work at least 2 to 3 jobs so can sometimes look tired and appear aloof to your needs.

I expect the hotel is becoming increasingly more popular with business clientele as opposed to the blue rinse holiday makers. As such it needs to improve the professionalism of the staff and quality of service.

Breakfast is an average affair with a range of cereals, english breakfast fare, some fruit and qustionalble selection of pastries. Actually it's perfectly acceptable for the first week but becomes monotonous and would benefit from an injection of some varied options.

The champagne bar is a nice place to relax for a drink after work and can occasionally gets busy with work parties, events etc. There is an outside terrace which closes way too early for my liking but is a great place to have a drink in the sunshine with some music, but beware Jersey residents/visitors enjoy the game of drowning each other out by talking obsenely loud and raucous. And as previously mentioned the staff are often aloof and indifferent, this is my my main gripe as they are letting the hotel down badly.

As mentioned the location is great and just round the corner (literally) is a great little indian restaurant called cafe spice, just up from that is an italian called little italy also great value for money.

Room Tip: odd numbered rooms face outward and have a view of some description. 2nd and 3rd floor suffer less f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GLOB3TR0TT3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your recent stay at Grand Jersey. I am sorry to hear that your experience didn't meet your expectations and I would very much like the opportunity to discuss this with you in more detail.

Would you mind contacting my assistant, Charlotte Dixon; cdixon@grandjersey.com to arrange a convenient time for me to call you.

I look forward to hearing from you shortly.

Kind regards,

Eamonn Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Spent one night at the Grand Jersey Hotel. Very impressed with the place - good spa and was able to check in very early as room was ready. Room was very nice with a good shower and double bed. TV is able to stream a selection of movies for free which is very good and the bar was very reasonable. The only slight downside was breakfast on Sunday wasn't as good as it can be although we went there towards the end and I think it was winding down. In terms of location and the general helpfulness of the staff I could not fault it and would thoroughly recommend it to anybody going to Jersey. Other recommendation is hire bikes to go round the island - you sometimes have to push the bike up the hill but there are excellent paths along the esplanade and then across the island allowing you to explore it.

Room Tip: We had a park side room - very nice and no real noise at all as it is off the esplanade where the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emaclaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Grand Jersey - it is always very much appreciated when guests share their thoughts and all constructive comments are circulated and fedback to individual departments. I will be sure to pass your feedback regarding breakfast onto our Restaurant Manager and Chef.

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay in Jersey and that the facilities at the hotel met your expectations.

I hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Eamonn Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Went here for lunch on the terrace, very very noisy terrible service wrong drinks twice, not even average food and when I complained they took 4 drinks from the bill. Cheeky bar and wait staff go were pretentious and should realise they are just that waiters. I will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank fred295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear guest,

I am disappointed that your experience at Grand Jersey did not meet your expectations and I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you in more detail.

If you would be happy for me to contact you then please confirm to my assistant Charlotte Dixon; cdixon@grandjersey.com with a preferred contact number.

Kind regards,

Eamonn Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,028 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
1,522 reviews
1.7 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
832 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Address: The Esplanade, St. Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing