We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Inn Boutique(St. Helier)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Apollo Hotel(St. Helier)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Royal Yacht Hotel(St. Helier)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Savoy Jersey(St. Helier)(Great Value!)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel de France(St. Helier)
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Monterey Hotel(St. Helier)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,876)
Filter reviews
1,876 results
Traveler rating
989
550
217
76
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
989
550
217
76
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barelizabeth castlepark viewvictoria restauranttassili restaurantsea viewfive star hotelsmall balconylovely hotelsea frontrelaxation roomsteam roomfirst classmain restaurantnothing is too much troublemain roadshort break
Filter
Updating list...
1,762 - 1,767 of 1,876 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed for 5 nights, mid October 2011 after a terrible experience in Jersey last year. Decided to push the boat out and avoid the cheaper places.

The hotel has an excellent location, just the other side of the Esplanade dual carriageway from the lovely beach and from the front of the hotel, there is a nice view of Elizabeth Castle. If you want to visit the castle, you can catch the amphibious bus right opposite the hotel entrance.

St. Helier centre is just five minutes walk from the hotel, if you don't want to use the hotel restaurant in the evening. We only had breakfast in the hotel, which was decent, although service varied. A good selection of items was available, although some might bemoan the lack of baked beans and the toaster that is always set to burn. Minor issues.

Our basic room had a view of adjoining roof areas and what appeared to be the hotel's junk collection, which admittedly did reduce in volume during the week. The room was a little small, the double bed actually two very comfortable singles pushed together, but was very cosy. Nice touches included pleasant ambient lighting and movies on demand at no cost. However, the decor looked a little tired and the creaking from the floorboards in the room above was enough to wake us up on several occasions. As our floors creaked also, we figured there was no point changing rooms.

We felt a little shortchanged overall as we had paid quite a lot for this room, but we would return again if there was a decent deal to be had. There are a lot of facilities we didn't use in the hotel, and others may find that the value for money is better if they use them. One thing to note, is that whilst rooms have wired net access, no wifi extends beyond certain public areas, and even this failed after a few days.

If, like us, you are bringing a car on the ferry, the hotel is literally two minutes drive from the harbour. There is free parking, but the spaces are limited and the car park is somewhat cramped and dark.

However, compared to previous experience on the island, the hotel was in another league entirely.

Worth starting, just try and get a good deal.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inspec71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Jersey.
I appreciate the constructive points you have raised and thank you for bringing these to my attention; I will of course address these with the team in order to improve our service.
Thank you again for you feedback; I sincerely hope you will return to Grand Jersey in the future.
Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon and had a lovely time here. We were given an upgraded room because it was a special occasion and we had a beautiful room with a spectacular view of the promenade and Elizabeth Castle. The room was really big with a lovely bathroom and White Company products.
The spa was great although the pool was a little cold for our liking. There was a lovely experience showers with different aromatherapy scents such as peppermint, lemon etc which were so refreshing. It was such a treat to go in to the spa after a hot day of wandering around the island.
The food was very good with a wide range of dishes which were excellent quality and presentation. There was a big range of choices at breakfast, our only small complaint was they topped up the coffee by the cup and it was sometimes difficult to get a waiter's attention for a top up. A coffee pot for each table would have been better.
The staff were friendly and professional and we really appreciated the car parking service which the hotel offered as complimentary.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to visit it again in the future .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronte75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Grand Jersey. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and sincerely appreciate your kind words.
I will of course pass your comments on to the team and we will aim to address the constructive issues you have raised where possible.
I sincerely hope you will return to Grand Jersey in the near future.
Best wishes,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

very nice hotel and spa, room very nice but the food was terrible sent my meal back on our first night £17 for a small piece of belly rasher which was not as described on the menu ,and breakfest was in the form of a buffet and was only luke warm.

Room Tip: don't eat there,as there are some good value resturants around .
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norris26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Jersey. We value all feedback as it allows us to see where we are getting it right and where we can improve.
I apologise that we did not deliver our usual five star standard of service on this occasion and can assure you that we will investigate the constructive points you have raised.
I do hope that you will return to Grand Jersey in the future for an all together improved experience.
Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay here. Staff right across the hotel were very friendly, and the spa & pool is a really great facility. We were staying in a group, and there was quite some difference in the room sizes, with standard rooms pretty small, so if you can, book a park view room.
Rooms don't have wifi but other than that, everything was pretty good.

Only commnet was about breakfast service - The breakfast was really good, but service on the juice and coffee was very poor. Self service in this case would have been easier.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrottee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of Grand Jersey. It is fantastic to receive such nice feedback.
I have passed you constructive comments on to our restaurant manager and we will endeavour to rectify the issues you raised.
Thank you also for your wonderful comments regarding our staff, it is always nice to hear such positive comments.
I hope to welcome you back to Grand Jersey in the future.
Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Had another wonderful experience at The Grand. Had the indulgent package which was wonderful and breat value. I got picked up from the Airport and taken to the hotel by Alex. On arrival greeted by Hugo and the wonderful reception staff. Had a wonderful evening meal and pleasant evening In The champagne lounge before retiring up to my beautiful room. I chose to wake up early and went down to the cinema to watch the rugby with the general manager. In the afternoon went to the spa for the treatments included in my package. Had a beautiful hot stone massage and intense facial from Sonia. All the spa staff are great and the spa is expertly run by Jane. Had another lovely meal in Victorias and then retired to the champagne bar to check out the talents of Raf the most amazing cocktail batman ever. Tell him what you like And he'll make you a drink to die for. He loves a challenge. The only thing to mar the week-Endis trivial and petit complaints from other clueless rude guests who clearly don't recognise a good thing when they see it. Congrats to all. Oh indwell done on the Michelin star for Tisilli. Well done Richard, Sean and crew.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa-Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews