We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2011

very nice hotel and spa, room very nice but the food was terrible sent my meal back on our first night £17 for a small piece of belly rasher which was not as described on the menu ,and breakfest was in the form of a buffet and was only luke warm.

Room Tip: don't eat there,as there are some good value resturants around .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norris26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Jersey. We value all feedback as it allows us to see where we are getting it right and where we can improve.
I apologise that we did not deliver our usual five star standard of service on this occasion and can assure you that we will investigate the constructive points you have raised.
I do hope that you will return to Grand Jersey in the future for an all together improved experience.
Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,629 - 1,635 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay here. Staff right across the hotel were very friendly, and the spa & pool is a really great facility. We were staying in a group, and there was quite some difference in the room sizes, with standard rooms pretty small, so if you can, book a park view room.
Rooms don't have wifi but other than that, everything was pretty good.

Only commnet was about breakfast service - The breakfast was really good, but service on the juice and coffee was very poor. Self service in this case would have been easier.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrottee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of Grand Jersey. It is fantastic to receive such nice feedback.
I have passed you constructive comments on to our restaurant manager and we will endeavour to rectify the issues you raised.
Thank you also for your wonderful comments regarding our staff, it is always nice to hear such positive comments.
I hope to welcome you back to Grand Jersey in the future.
Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Had another wonderful experience at The Grand. Had the indulgent package which was wonderful and breat value. I got picked up from the Airport and taken to the hotel by Alex. On arrival greeted by Hugo and the wonderful reception staff. Had a wonderful evening meal and pleasant evening In The champagne lounge before retiring up to my beautiful room. I chose to wake up early and went down to the cinema to watch the rugby with the general manager. In the afternoon went to the spa for the treatments included in my package. Had a beautiful hot stone massage and intense facial from Sonia. All the spa staff are great and the spa is expertly run by Jane. Had another lovely meal in Victorias and then retired to the champagne bar to check out the talents of Raf the most amazing cocktail batman ever. Tell him what you like And he'll make you a drink to die for. He loves a challenge. The only thing to mar the week-Endis trivial and petit complaints from other clueless rude guests who clearly don't recognise a good thing when they see it. Congrats to all. Oh indwell done on the Michelin star for Tisilli. Well done Richard, Sean and crew.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa-Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

An immaculate hotel, a prefect fusion of old and modern, decor was superb.The spa was the perfect finishing touch. Rooms exceptionally well appointed, but I did feel it was perhaps a little smaller than I would have liked, I would stay there again, but be aware, unless top price paid, it is possible your room will be completely 'viewless' I appreciate, not everyone can have a view, but at £200 odd a night, one is not paying 'cheap rates' either!

The staff were very kind and helpful, even when under pressure from brash & rude guests. The food was excellent, and it was lovely to catch some late summer sun on the terrace, wine chilled and the view of the castle were perfect relaxing bliss.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fififilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for your lovely review of Grand Jersey. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us .... and also managed to catch some sun!
Thank you also for your kind words regarding our staff.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Jersey in the future.
Best wishes,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We arrived in the afternoon and were served hand and foot throughout our stay. The staff were extremely attentive and courteous and they were all trying their best to make our stay a memorable one, and one we will remember with pleasure on our return home. I can't understand some of the negative comments regarding this hotel. The only noise in the evening from the bar were from people who were laughing, talking and having a drink, which is exactly what most people do on holiday. The bar was quiet later in the evening. The dining room was spacious and elegant and there was a wide choice from the buffet, serving both hot and cold food, to suit all tastes. There was a splendid uninterrupted view of the bay from the front of the hotel. With the benefit of Google Street Map it is obvious that there is a main road between the hotel and the sea front. In my opinion this does not detract from the situation of the hotel. On the negative side I would have liked a more upmarket room for the price we paid and a larger fridge or an ice making machine on each floor.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RHaL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Grand Jersey. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and am sincerely grateful for your praise of our staff.

Our team are always delighted to hear that they have played a part in making our guest’s holidays memorable; so it means a lot to them to receive feedback such as yours.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to Grand Jersey again soon.

Best wishes,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Spent 3 nights here to celebrate our anniversary and couldn't fault it from start to finish.

All staff were outstanding, apart from on the terrace they didn't appear to know what a macchiato was, but apart from that all staff were personable, friendly and always there for you, the room was gorgeous, not the largest but beautifully appointed. A lovely hotel all round and fantastic value for money.

Loved the cocktails in the bar, and will definitely be back next year - just hope the weather will be as good!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chopsmiaow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Grand Jersey. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
I have passed your comments on to the rest of the team and we will of course aim to address the constructive point you raised regarding our Terrace.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Jersey next year.
Best wishes,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Arrived at 6.30 pm, Concierge was very polite and helpful as were receptionists,.
Our room was directly over the foyer, very clean and elegant.
Lighting in dressing area was very dark as was all the furniture, not enough drawers or shelves to store clothes, all my folded clothes stayed in the suitcase. felt the room suited business guests as non existent dressing table was a desk with reading lamp a large TV mounted on the wall above, the mirror was on bedside table, hair dryer was stored in the top of a wardrobe, on a tray with a brown framed mirror on a stand.
Bed was very comfortable, dressed with slightly shabby cushions,and fur throw.
Nice touches were bowl of fruit , bottle of chilled water and card as it was our anniversary.
Air con was efficient.
Bathroom was fine with lovely toiletries, slippers and bath robes.
Sea View was across the busy road, view of Elizabeth Castle, lovely sunsets, double glazing shut out the traffic noise.
Breakfast was very good, staff in the restaurant were lovely, very hard working team.
Victorias Restaurant evening menu was varied and delicious.
"Tassili" in the Hotel (fine dining) was our choice on our Anniversary, artistically presented creations of food, tiny portions though, and expensive.
Outside bar area was a popular place as an after work meeting place, problem there was no seats for us to have a drink there, so we sat inside in the Champagne Bar.
Pool and Spa were lovely, again lighting was dim,
We enjoyed our stay there, the Staff were great.

Room Tip: Sea view are at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Jersey, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

I have passed your comments on to the team and we will endeavour to address the constructive points you have raised.

I would like to thank you for your fantastic comments regarding our staff; it is always nice to hear positive comments about our team.

I hope to welcome you back to Grand Jersey again soon.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,257 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St. Helier
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
882 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Club Hotel & Spa
The Club Hotel & Spa
#14 of 31 in St. Helier
880 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Address: The Esplanade, St. Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $125 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing