We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I found an Internet deal so decided to try the Grand Jersey when I recently visited friends on the island. It did not disappoint.

With the deal I paid the same for a single room here as I normally would in the 3 star hotel I have previously stayed at. However I suspect I was not actually in a single room as it quite large, with a double bed and two of everything. The room was beautifully presented and had all expected amenities.

Breakfast was a buffet in the hotel restaurant. There was a wide choice of food.

The spa was lovely and the pool was never too busy.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay at Grand Jersey. We appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,690)
There are newer reviews for Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,622 - 1,628 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel was everything we had hoped, it is just such a shame about the location.
We had never visited Jersey before and we assumed that St Helier would be a good base to stay as we had planned to use a hire car.

The location of the hotel is on the sea front but there is a busy road between the hotel and the beach. We visited the castle on the beach which we could see from our sea view room.
The castle can be visited on foot when the tide is out.
Across the road from the hotel seems to be more of a business area - there are also a lot of luxury flats which we assume locals live in and then there is a cinema, fast food chains etc (not very pretty)

When we drove around the Island we realised we had most likely chosen one of the worst locations especially as we had a hire car- St Brelades bay for example is gorgeous.

The hotel itself is clean, the meals are good, spa facilities excellent - the staff are very courteous too.

In conclusion a great hotel if you could pick it up and move it to a different part of the Island !

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coconut_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Jersey. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and sincerely hope you will return in the fuure.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were booked on the Luxury Spa Escape, a package which included two nights D, B & B, return airport transfers and two 2 hour spa treatments each. This is/was a good value package, particularly as we were lucky enough to be upgraded to an Ocean View Suite. This was a fabulous room, and we were very grateful to the staff for putting us in there.

Food was not as special as we'd hoped, with service in the restaurant a little inefficient. It took nearly 50 minutes for our deserts to arrive on the second night, and portions were of the "less is more" school of thought and were eaten in barely a minute, making the long wait feel totally pointless. The restaurant was not busy and this was unacceptable. However, given our room upgrade it would have been invidious to moan too much. Plates at the breakfast buffet were stone cold (even though stored under heat lamps). The buffet food was very tasty, but at best lukewarm, and having warm plates would seem to be a quick and easy step in the right direction given the many comments on tripadvisor with regard to the tepidity of the cooked breakfast buffet items.

Bar a couple of rather miserable individuals in Victoria's Resturant, the staff were quite excellent: well trained, generous with their time and very friendly. The spa treatments were very good, the spa facilities were fine, but nothing in this area was truly spectacular which, given the accolades which have come their way, I was expecting.

All in all, if you can get a deal and you are fortunate enough to get a good room there is much to enjoy at the Grand Jersey. But paying full rate there were a few too many things which weren't quite up to scratch to justify the pretty hefty price tags. I would say this is one of those places which you ought to visit and make up your own mind - there are sufficient really good things to hopefully guarantee an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ocean View Suite was truly stunning - though at a price on the rack rate
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mordrydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Jersey; I appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit.

I have passed your comments regarding Victorias and the cuisine on to our food and beverage department and we will address these as a team. I would like to thank you for raising these constructive points.

I would also like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff. I appreciate your kind words and have passed these on to the team.

I sincerely hope you will return to Grand Jersey in the future.

Kindest regards,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The staff are very obliging and the General Manager Eamon made us feel so welcome as though we are old friends. Breakfast was very good and the outside terrace offers a great selection of food and beverages. Will definately go back again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliaarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Grand Jersey with us, I am exceptionally grateful for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Jersey again next year.

Kindest regards,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Having just gotten back today from the 5 Star Grand Jersey Hotel in St Helier, I had to let you all know of my most wonderful stay there.

The staff were most obliging, nothing was ever too much for them. They made me feel most welcome, as if I was the only person staying there. I saw they did this with everyone who stayed with them as well.

You can see the hotel has been modernised, while retaining it's original charm. My room, a single, had everything I could want from a 5 star hotel room, was clean, and extremely comfortable.

The White Company soaps and shampoos were an added luxury, along with the robe and slippers.

I can't wait to book again for next August and recommend you do too. Well worth the price.

OH! And it is within 5 minutes walk to the centre of town and the cinema.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacationernw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Grand Jersey, we are flattered by your kind comments and are thoroughly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Jersey in the future.

Best wishes,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I am fortunate enough to travel and stay in fine hotels due to my job, this was a holiday stay and what a let down. The hotel is very average indeed, for a standard room with sea view cost £900 for 4 nights, the room was definately standard, holiday inn's have more to them. The room smelt of dam and the pillows even worse(sweat smell) to be fair they changed the pillows when we asked. The sea rooms overlook the main road into St Hellier so if you like fresh air at night good luck trying to sleep. The hotel has a nice spa with some nice features and the staff are pleasant but overall for what you pay this hotel does not deliver. Certainly not 5 Star.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gjw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Jersey. I am sorry to hear that your time with us was not all you expected.

I will pass on the constructive points you raised to the team and we will work to ensure these issues do not arise again.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, we sincerely hope you will return to Grand Jersey in the future and give us the opportunity to provide you with a true reflection of our five star service.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Very disappointed in this 5* hotel. Although the room was lovely, it felt very cramped due to the fact they squeezed in a bed for our son. The noise coming from the busy main road did not help either. Also, the lighting in the Spa and Pool area was down so low that it was an accident waiting to happen. The breakfast was another disappointment, no choice of fruit juice, quality of cooked buffet very poor. and ordering from the menu seemed to take forever. The only positive was the staff who were very polite. Sorry, but won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbskyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaCrowther, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent visit to Grand Jersey.

I appreciate the constructive comments you have raised and I will be discussing these with the relevant departments in order to find a solution wherever possible.

I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and would hope that you will return to Grand Jersey in the future for an improved experience.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,095 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
1,548 reviews
1.7 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
840 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Address: The Esplanade, St. Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $128 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing