We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch with Grandma and Mum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe 1837

Cafe 1837
Ranked #112 of 221 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely lunch with Grandma and Mum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I met my Grandma and Mum in St. Helier for lunch. Been to Cafe 1837 a few times for coffees but not eaten there before. As always, all the staff were very friendly and genuine. The food was quick (which is always great when you're hungry) and was fantastic. Only thing my Grandma commented on was the mugs of coffee were a little smaller than she was expecting. Lovely lunch that we all enjoyed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CRStanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Shocking, Terrible and Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Sorry we are so understaffed today, Sorry we have been so busy. Not bothered worked in Hotels and Retail for 13 years never said once.
Wife asked for a table for 3 lady showed us to a table for 2
Then put us on a table of 5 which was covered in crumbs and stains
Menus filty and damp
Waited a while to order had to go up and see if i could order at the till. Seems one of the Owners turned up then. He needs to sort his business out as he wont have one at this rate.
Ordered food and drink
After a wait food arrrved we ate the food still no drinks
Drinks arrived lady again we have been so busy and short staffed today. Once again not my problem.
My wifes tea pot was dirty her mums hot chocolate was at best luke warm.
Paid £13 for all that and while paying she told me she was very busy and under staffed.
Terrible place avoid at all costs

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leedsjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pornichet, France
1 review
“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

What a lovely lunch that we had ! David was absolubly perfect with us, trying speak french and he was very good. Our lunch was delicious. Thank to everyone who had made this moment special.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank constanceros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A ray of sunshine through the shopping clouds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Fabulous welcoming atmosphere. Really friendly staff, great food. The best place to stop, relax and refuel before finishing off your shopping.
What more could you ask for :-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael & Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful place to stop off for a bite to eat in St Helier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Popped in here with my little girl for a quick lunch. Staff were very friendly. Nice choice on the menu, and good selection for children too. Well worth popping in here for food and a drink if you're busy shopping in St Helier. Worth getting a spot by the window so you can watch all the people milling around below.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 1837 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 1837? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing