We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Fish & Chips”
Review of Seafish Cafe

Seafish Cafe
Ranked #29 of 225 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Premium Fish & Chips and Much More
Canvey Island
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Proper Fish & Chips”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Really good fish & chips, imaginatively presented. Excellent batter, light & crispy which allows the fish to be the star.
Mushy peas were not the average murky sludge, but a nice clear green minted pea puree.
Homemade tartare sauce was lovely, just the right "bite" to it.
There are some more "upmarket" dishes on the menu, but who needs it, when the basics are done so well.
Staff were warm & welcoming, service was good & I'd certainly say it was good value for money.
All in all a great meal

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazzrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    165
    48
    35
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Supreme Seafish Cafe”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stopped in for lunch, this well sited restaurant in the liberty Wharf shopping centre also has a very traditional looking fish and chip shop at the front which was very busy. The restaurant has a more modern feel than the take away area, light and bright with the facility to eat outside weather permitting, all clean lines and very inviting, but pleasantly simple. Food was amazing had the "Posh fish and chips" three types of fish in tempura batter, beautifully fresh, light and very tasty. A small but good selection of appropriate wines by the glass or the bottle and bottled lager’s cider and soft drinks. Well priced with excellent service, will certainly be going back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trooper37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips I have ever had”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Went here with fiance his parents and grandma and we all loved it. Amazing food, very well designed resturant! Would recommend to anyone and would definately return. Reasonably priced, great portion sizes and they offer food to suit everyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KH2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good restaurant and to describe it as a fish and chip shop would be doing it some dis service. Although we had fish and chips they were quiet superb. I would recommend the Posh Fish & Chips with 3 different fish and a side of home made mushy peas. Very good indeed.

Helpful?
Thank SJH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

As a Yorkshire girl I'm quite fussy about my fish and chips. I have to say that this is one of the best fish and chips I've had in a long time. The staff are friendly and helpful without being in your face. Great atmosphere. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nic_star12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Seafish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing