We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No1”
Review of Seafish Cafe

Seafish Cafe
Ranked #26 of 228 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Premium Fish & Chips and Much More
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No1”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

we thought we would have fish & chips a simple quick meal, how wrong we were.
we ordered scampi and a cod both with chips, what a shock we had when we were served.
I have never seen such a portion of scampi so much we could have shared the portion and when the cod came out wow! a piece that could feed a family.
if you have a meal anywhere you must give this a try, fantastic food, fantastic atmosphere and a very helpful staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony300456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    173
    51
    35
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Spot on Fish and chips!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Perfect traditional fish and chips - they didn't try and re-invent the wheel with fries or different kinds of batter or fillings, just really great quality produce cooked traditional-style and really well. Cod was as thick as my teenage son's head (but less greasy). Great stuff!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dani-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great gluten free fish and chips.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It is always such a treat to find a place that does gluten free fish and chips but Seafish Cafe is one of the best I have ever had. The menu has a disclaimer that says because of the risk of cross-contamination they can't guarantee that the food is suitable for coeliacs but I was prepared to risk it. The fish in batter was delicious but I think the home made tartar sauce was actually the most impressive part of the meal. My husband had fish cooked in chilli sauce which he thoroughly enjoyed too. We went on a Monday night when it was quiet. We had good service and a really nice time - overall, a good place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N_Brownski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great takeaway fish and chips”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went to Seafish Cafe to buy fish and chips to eat on St Aubins beach. It is a bit of a walk from the takeaway to the beach (about fifteen minutes) but the food was still hot when we ate it. We also went at lunchtime so we did have to wait about fifteen minutes for our order to be cooked, but it was lovely. We ordered one portion of white bait and a large portion of chips between two people and it was more than we could physically eat. The fish was really fresh and yummy, and the chips were really crispy. They also do cod, scampi, calamari and lots of other choices. We will definately go back next time we stay in St Helier

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Her13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Takeaway chips not what they were”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had a takeaway fish and chips not long after Seafish opened and they were really excellent. I visited the takeaway recently and only had chips and something seems to have drastically changed because they were nothing like as good. I don't know if they use frozen now but they were very inferior.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ap998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Seafish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing