We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service good but hotel disappointing”
Review of The Inn Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn Boutique
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Chose hotel on basis of excellent photographs from website but were disappointed with the actual rooms. We were on the first floor overlooking a patio and the main road. The first night we were kept awake by the relentless noise of the traffic. We closed the windows for the second night and so slept better. The car park is very small but this was managed by staff who moved cars around when necessary( although they forgot to lock car after!) there were also litte niggles such as not replenishing the water until reminded and charging for the 'complimentary' newspaper. The food was very good though and we loved the espetadas. However we did get charged for the next tables drinks bill. All these things were sorted out once mentioned to reception (apart from the free newspaper!) but you don't expect to have to point these things out in a 'boutique' hotel. Little extras such as White Company' toiletries nice touch but towels in room were very worn and need to be replaced. Staff very personable though especially Miguel who looked after us in the restaurant and we were pleased to receive the food meal voucher offer. We found the location good for St Helier but felt it lacked the holiday feeling which you get from a country hotel. Probably wouldnt stay again but was adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovelymummy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Lovelymummy9

Thank you for your review and the positive comments you made.

The pictures on our website are a true reflection and for our grading our rooms are very high spec whether being a classic, superior or suite.

Like most town hotels, we do suffer from an element of traffic noise however for some it is not an issue due to our central location for easy access to all parts of the island.

Sorry we forgot to lock your car, fortunately there is little crime here but there is no excuse for complacency and I will remind our porters that although they might not lock their cars they must not forget lock our guest's.

We have recently changed our policy regarding free newspapers and thank you for bringing to our attention a couple of the pages on our website have not been updated to reflect this.

I have looked into the towels and you are right a few and it was only a few were past their sell by and have now been replaced – I’m most sorry.

You point out that you may have been happier out of town which I totally understand and I am most sorry you felt disappointed with some aspects of your stay, but on reflection I hope you feel despite a few niggles you had an overall good experience and great food.

Regards
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 816 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

My partner, 8 year old daughter and I stayed in a family suite at the Inn between 23 and 27 July 2012. On booking I asked for a quieter part of the hotel following other comments on trip advisor which was acknowledged on arrival, however, we were allocated the De Carterecet suite which was situated at the front of the hotel overlooking the main road. Having said that the noise level was ok despite having to have all the widows open due to the heat. The room itself was spacious and comfortable. The only thing lacking was air conditioning but this is a 3 star hotel! The bathroom was spotless and looked like we were the first to use it following a complete refurb. The hotel staff were excellent, helpful and made us and particularly my daugher feel very welcome. A card from all the staff was left in our room on my daughters birthday which was a nice touch. We ate in the hotel on our first night, the food was good and reasonable value. The breakfast was of a high standard with the usual choices of continetal and full english. The hotel is situated on a main road approx 15 minutes walk from the town centre and 20 minutes from the bus station. Don't bother hiring a car or paying for taxis unless you want to visit the hard to reach areas of the island as the buses are cheap, frequent and take you to all the major attractions. Overall a great place to stay and would not hesitate to book this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyRachShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenclipp, Manager at The Inn Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear AndyRachShannon

Thank you for your wonderful review, it really is appreciated.

I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay and taken the time to let others know about it.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Friendly, courteous staff, nothing was too much trouble. Pleasant, spacious, comfortable room, fluffy towels and White Company toitetries.

Lovely restaurant, excellent, well presented food, always piping hot. Recommend the seafood estipadas which are delicious!.

10 - 15 minute stroll to the town centre through a pleasant park. Hotel has a small well furnished terrace.

Room Tip: Book a superior room for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear DR & SA

Thank you for your wonderful review, it really is appreciated.

I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay at THE INN and taken the time to let others know about it.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is the second occasion that we've stayed at the Inn and we have been impressed on both occasions with the high standards that this hotel sets for itself and for the service it provides for its guests. Most of the staff and management go the 'extra mile' to ensure that the service they provide is second to none. The food is excellent and the choice is quite large for a three star hotel. Minor grumbles about a small and limited car park are easily forgotten. All in all this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougieBodham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Dougiebodham

Your wonderful review is really appreciated.

I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay and taken the time to let others know about it.

THE INN is family owned and run by a small and dedicated team and therefore reviews such as yours lifts our spirits, as it confirms that overall we are doing things right which is so important to us - thank you.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We chose this hotel for a get away break in the first week of July for six nights and this was our first ever visit to the island. On arrival our request for a room on an upper floor had not been met. We paid for a superior room and on being shown to our room we were very disappointed to say the least. (Room was very small). I returned to reception to request another room which after some searching we were offered the Langtry room. To be fair it was slightly better but probably one of the few rooms in the hotel that had not yet been refurbished.

I think in all fairness to the hotel we made the wrong choice. A colleague of mine uses it for business and had recommended it, although he failed to mention that some rooms in the hotel were next to the main road and were noisy. Likewise I checked on Trip Advisor for reviews, but for the first time ever I have to disagree with the overall ratings. We like a room with space to relax in an evening, probably with a balcony and wrongly thought based on the rooms displayed on the hotel's website that we would get one of those being a superior room.

We did not dine in the restaurant but had breakfast each morning which had a reasonable choice. Only comment was the supplement if you wanted some items on the menu.

Throughout our stay all the staff were very friendly and helpful, and overall we enjoyed our stay, but left feeling a little deflated because we chose the wrong hotel for us.

Room Tip: We had a room on the side of the hotel next to the main road. This was very noisy from 6 o'clock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The-Canny-Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear The Canny Scot
I think you will appreciate from the vast majority of reviews and from your friends recommendation that guest experience of both THE INN and Jersey is paramount to us and I am so disappointed that you felt we did not come up to your expectations and deflated by you stay with us.
As you say you booked the wrong hotel for your personal requirements, but I feel I must reply as it would be so easy for those who do not know THE INN to take your criticisms out of context.
THE INN is graded 3 Stars with a Gold accreditation, on the outskirts of St Helier. That is how we promote ourselves.
Within our grading which is reflected in our rates, I doubt if you could find another establishment in Jersey that offers the comfort, service and great food you will receive at THE INN.
Room descriptions on our website are accurate and I think the room you were mistakenly expecting is a suite which clearly advertised as such. We do not have or advertise rooms with balconies.
You stayed in “Langtry” one of our most popular rooms. It is a bit quirky and regulars often request it as they like the 4 poster and the large corner bath. I would add here I have checked the notes on your booking and cannot find a request for an upper floor room.
You made the reservation direct on our website and the only note from you was a query about car parking.
It is a real shame you did not eat in our restaurant as this may have added somewhat to your overall experience.
Again I would not want readers of your review to take your comments regarding breakfast out of context as it sounds as if we don’t offer a “proper “ breakfast included in the room rate.
Guests have a choice of full English, freshly cooked and served at your table and a continental buffet with, fresh fruit, juices, cold meats, cheeses, yoghurts and pastries. Again we hold an award for our breakfast.
We like to give our guests as much choice as possible so for a small supplement we offer an à la carte breakfast menu as well. This menu includes such items as Bucks Fix and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on a toasted bagel .
Once again we are really sorry you didn’t like us and we have received this negative review from you which I feel is a little unjustified.
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We used this hotel as a base for a girls weekend in Jersey. When we booked the rooms the hotel was very accomodating at allowing four of us to share the "penthouse" by adding extra beds. Single and double rooms could be obtained cheaper than through expedia etc. than via the hotel direct. Early booking is necesary as when an extra person wanted to join the trip last minute, there were no free rooms.

We ate in the hotel on the first night, great food. The breakfast was also done well, but don't start early on a weekend.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, providing guidance to the area and assistance within the hotel. We had a couple of little niggles which they managed to iron out for us. The hotel had a Wii room which was a good idea, but it did not work well. The hotel is a little noisey at night, I think this had a lot to do with us needing the windows open as it was very humid and they don't have aircon.

Overall we had a great stay and would use the hotel again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emster_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Inn. What a fantastic find. We were travelling with our young daughter so booked one of the suites for some extra space - was definitely worth the extra money. We stayed in the Pierson suite which was spacious, tastefully furnished and lots of nice little extras - like bathrobes, i-pod docking station, fridge and a whirlpool bath.

The food was excellent - the breakfast (there was lots of it!) kept us full for most of the day and we ate in the restaurant the first night of our stay. The portions were generous and we were impressed with the quality of the ingredients and presentation of the food. No wonder so many people who aren't even staying at the hotel come and eat here. Book a table though - as it does get busy on a Friday evenings

Most importantly the staff here are great - very professional, very friendly and willing to help with every request. We asked them to come and close one of the blinds on the velux windows in the roof space which was too high for us to reach and within 5 minutes one of the staff had appeared with a ladder (and a smile) to sort it out. And on our last day, it was pouring with rain and the reception staff had lots of helpful suggestions for places we could go to keep our 2 year old entertained before heading to the airport later in the afternoon. We took them up on one of their suggestions and spent a fun 4 hours at the Fort Regent centre - would thouroughly recommend with lots of fun activities to keep little ones entertained

Just in response to a couple of the other reviews, the road outside is reasonably busy, but although we looked out over the road we didn't notice any noise and did have the windows open. That said, we live in a busy city so maybe we are just used to it and have learned to filter it out! But if you do want a quiet room, email the hotel in advance and I am certain they will do all they can to sort it out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.2 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 30 in St. Helier
1,286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St. Helier
2,335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#20 of 30 in St. Helier
902 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 30 in St. Helier
2,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 30 in St. Helier
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Boutique

Address: 14 Queen's Road, St. Helier JE2 3GR (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $65 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE INN is an award winning friendly boutique Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, a 10 minute walk into St Helier centre. The hotel has 36 beautifully decorated comfortable rooms, including suites, all with excellent modern facilities. Classic Rooms have hospitality tray, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, snack basket and safe. Superior rooms and Suites also have ipod docking station, DVD player, bathrobes and complimentary mineral water. Facilities within the hotel include an open plan bar, free WiFi, outside smoking terrace and free car parking facilities. THE INN also has a contemporary air-conditioned restaurant, very popular with locals, with an extensive menu including Specials which take full advantage of local produce.Our friendly team will always be on hand with attentive service, and guests always comment on our superb staff. Our customers are always our number one priority and we strive to offer everyone something very special at THE INN. THE INN is very proud to have retained a GOLD award from Visit Britain for the seventh year running, which recognises outstanding levels of quality, comfort, customer care and food. THE INN Restaurant also holds a Taste Jersey award.THE INN aims to be different to any other Hotel on the Island in terms of the ambiance and diversity of what we are offering. Look forward to seeing you soon! Please note we are situated on the outskirts of St Helier which is a busy town and some rooms may suffer from a little road noise at peak times. Our main car park is situated opposite the hotel and when full we ask guests to block in other cars and leave their keys at reception to enable us to move cars around, which we are insured for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Boutique Hotel St. Helier
The Inn Boutique Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing