We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star service but a 3 star hotel”
Review of The Inn Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn Boutique
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend in standard rooms B&B. this is an old building, rabbit warren like corridors and odd shapped rooms. Our room 202 was a double, pretty small, roasting hot and a little tired in decor. The decor was meant to look like cracked glaze antique furniture, certainly looked old and tatty. The double bed was 2 matresses zipped together. my side was a bit uneven and lumpy, Mrs side seemed better. Bathroom and shower were fine. TV and DV player. Our sons twin room was even smaller and again looked a bit tired.
Breakfast was nice, glad we didn't pay though!
The staff were all very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doccrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnedunham, General Manager at The Inn Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Thank you for your review. I must agree with your headline - we are a “3 Star” Hotel. What makes us stand out from other hotels of our grading is that we have a Gold Award from Visit Britain.

Service is totally focused on our guests, our rooms are comfortable and tastefully furnished and our restaurant and bar serves fantastic food, all without charging 4 Star prices. We strive to live up our accreditation every day.

THE INN is an old building that has been totally renovated. We have 3 types of furniture in our rooms and in yours it was Java Crackle. I am sorry it is not to your taste but I find it hard to understand how you can call it “tatty”. All our rooms meet and often exceed the minimum room size laid down by Jersey Tourism.

Our beds are less than 3 years old and are of the highest standard hotel contract quality. Many are 6ft zip and link to allow flexibility of room type. I wish that if you felt that your side was lumpy you had told us as we would have done something about it for you. We do encourage guests at check in and in their welcome pack and room information to tell us if there is anything we can do to make their stay more comfortable,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 769 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed here on a business trip to Jersey in February. After nearly not landing due to fog we were pleased to retreat out of the rain into this modern and comfortable Hotel. The room was spacious and had a good bathroom. Sadly we were eating out at the Salty Dog that night as the evening menu looked promising. I thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaxBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We booked the hotel through a room and breakfast deal on travel republic. The hotel has been recently refurbished, the tons are clean if a little small. The restaurant provided a good breakfast especially as it was included in the rate. The hotel is 10 mins out of town which in some ways was good as we could walk if our tea. The rooms have free wifi which is useful for writing reviews. It I could improve anything,I would fit aircon in each room and move the hotel 5 mins walk into town. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We came to the Inn for my partners 50th birthday and have had a really good stay. I upgraded the room a few weeks before and were allocated Durrell on the 1st floor. My partner thought the room was a tad small but I loved the quirkiness of having the bathroom down a few stairs. Other reviews have complained about noise and yes it can be noisy. It's not the hotel that
causes the noise it's the guests! All the roads are busy so I doubt you could stay anywhere without road noise. The staff at the hotel are wonderful. All if them are so friendly and will do anything for you. They ate a credit to the hotel.
As for Jersey it's lovely. We didn't know the battle of the flowers was on so that was a bonus, even if the weather was less than desirable. I would recommend getting day tickets for the busses so you can see more of the island. The roads ate very narrow in places so make it easy on yourselves and grab a bus! They are very cheap, go everywhere and always on time. We travelled all over the island this way. My favourite visit was Gorey Castle, it was very interesting and we luckily had a good day.
The only negatives I would say would be the sheer volume of traffic in St Helier (we weren't expecting that), and the only negative about the hotel was no matter how I had my eggs for breakfast, they were never cooked!! Overall though, a really good time but we now need to go home for a rest!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoonyPrune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Well what can I stay, I couldn't fault a thing with this hotel, it is superb we stayed in one of the superior rooms, it was gorgeous!!!! The bed itself was unique and very comfortable. ALL the staff were so friendly and made you feel really welcome (sian and mohammed to name but a few), you have to eat in the hotel restaurant the food is amazing!!! We ate dinner there every night! Breakfast was really nice, the location is superb just a straight short walk down to St Helier we are certainly staying there again, I cant wait!!!! Toby and John xx

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobes87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for four days in July. The hotel is a renovation of an older building and they have done a very nice job. Its has a cosy dark ambiance and relaxed atmosphere. Its idal for St Helier (10 minute walk to the center).

The room we had was lovely (but very very hot - possibly as it was over the kitchen so had somewhat disrupted sleep) ; a little on the small side but still very nicley done out in I would say a 4 star standard.

The food in the hotel is of a very good standard also.

The service in the hotel overall is good; soemtimes it feels like the staff are a bit overstretched and means they come over a little bit stroppy mometarily. Example being that one morning at breakfast we arrived and sat on a table that obviously had one person perviously sat there, we both sat down and aksed the waiter for fresh cutlery on the vacant side (given he wiped down the table with a cloth) The waiter seemes to take umbridge to this and gave us stroppy service for the rest of breakfast. Nevertheless the overall job was good.

Value wise the hotel is reasonable priced; maybe the slightest bit overpriced on the dinner menu.

If you are hiring a car - it should be noted that there is parking at the hotel for 10-12cars - but the hotel is quite good at managing the car park.

In summary - IMO this hotel is a solid 3 star with some 4 star elements. Good job considering it is a newish hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businessroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

A group of 4 of us spent a week staying at this hotel and were very impressed. The level of service was superb from the receptionist to the bar staff and restaurant staff all made us feel most welcome and ensured our every need was met!

The facilities are very good and our room was very modern and beautifully presented. The bar and restaurant are excellent with the quality of food superb. So much so that we had our meal in the hotel on every night of our stay - something i have not done anywhere else ive ever stayed.

Although it is a short walk from the town centre i was more than happy with its location but it is on a main road - so can be noisy at times.

Only addition i would like to see is air con in the rooms!!!

Overall a fantastic stay and i will certainly be recommending this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Jersey!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shutcheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
2,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 32 in St. Helier
1,203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,032 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Boutique

Address: 14 Queen's Road, St. Helier JE2 3GR (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#9 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $69 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE INN is an award winning friendly boutique Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, a 10 minute walk into St Helier centre. The hotel has 36 beautifully decorated comfortable rooms, including suites, all with excellent modern facilities. Classic Rooms have hospitality tray, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, snack basket and safe. Superior rooms and Suites also have ipod docking station, DVD player, bathrobes and complimentary mineral water. Facilities within the hotel include an open plan bar, free WiFi, outside smoking terrace and free car parking facilities. THE INN also has a contemporary air-conditioned restaurant, very popular with locals, with an extensive menu including Specials which take full advantage of local produce.Our friendly team will always be on hand with attentive service, and guests always comment on our superb staff. Our customers are always our number one priority and we strive to offer everyone something very special at THE INN. THE INN is very proud to have retained a GOLD award from Visit Britain for the seventh year running, which recognises outstanding levels of quality, comfort, customer care and food. THE INN Restaurant also holds a Taste Jersey award.THE INN aims to be different to any other Hotel on the Island in terms of the ambiance and diversity of what we are offering. Look forward to seeing you soon! Please note we are situated on the outskirts of St Helier which is a busy town and some rooms may suffer from a little road noise at peak times. Our main car park is situated opposite the hotel and when full we ask guests to block in other cars and leave their keys at reception to enable us to move cars around, which we are insured for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Boutique Hotel St. Helier
The Inn Boutique Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing