We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with amazing views”
Review of Almorah Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Helier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Almorah Hotel
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Me and my mum stayed here for 4 nights from the 21st July and the gentleman that owns it is so accommodating and friendly. We arrived before check in time but our room was ready so we went up and the room is just what we were looking for, it was homely and warm and the views day and night were incredible! Breakfast in the morning was a huge full English which filled us up for the day! It was all cooked perfectly. We had to leave early on a couple of the days and didn't want to eat that much first thing but he was more than happy to make us tea and coffee in the front garden before we headed off. The gentleman was also very helpful on how to get to certain places and what we should do during our stay. It was a lovely place and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank TravellerZB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
There are newer reviews for Almorah Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 11 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

The couple that run this hotel are warm, friendly and care that their customers enjoy their stay and will put themselves out to make sure that things run smoothly. The rooms are charming and the hotel is furnished in a nostalgic style that is interesting and works. It made a lovely change from the minimalistic pristine look to being in rooms that had well made furniture. The bed was very comfortable,The room was clean, new towels were brought every day and breakfast was a choice of full English to cereals and toast. The location is near to the town centre that can be walked in 15 minutes. The only thing was they are at the top of a steep slope. The slope comes from the road and goes straight up to the hotel I managed it in about 10 minutes using my stick. The biggest bonus of all is the value for money. This hotel does not overcharge for their rooms or service. They don't have a restaurant but being so near to the main town there are lots of places to choose from to eat at night so it is not a problem. My room had a large balcony and I had a clear view over the town and could even get a view of the sea. There are a number of daytrips worth going on all the information is in reception. I would stay again in this hotel.

Room Tip: You will need to make the owners aware of any special needs before booking. They are very obliging a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtlonergan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

A basic hotel in a good situation with views over the harbour - some with balcony, if you have a room at the front. The rooms are in need of updating but comfortable - mine was en suite and had a new, flat screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is a useful bonus. Breakfast quality (full English) is excellent.

A 20 minute downhill walk into the town centre - but a little longer on the way back. The hotel doesn't offer evening meals or a bar but there's a nice pub (The Inn) with good menu selection within 200m. The owners and staff are very helpful and did all they could to make the stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raygo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very friendly, clean and comfortable. Owners very helpful on all aspects of stay. Room with Balcony has views to Elizabeth Castle. For a basic clean friendly hotel I would recommend this hotel and value for money.

Room Tip: Balcony Room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheffcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

The Almorah is a traditional English hotel in both the good and the bad senses. On the plus side, the staff is quite friendly, although occasionally, their English can be a bit weak. I think they worked hard to try and do the best they could with the hotel.

On the negative side, my mother and I had reserved two single rooms. We arrived and were shown upstairs and told that they didn't have two singles and would a double and a single be OK. Only after I said yes was it mentioned that we'd be sharing a bathroom, private to the two rooms, but with down a hall with a window into a common area.

Parking is also an issue. They do have free parking. However, most of the building is condos. As such, the condo owners have their own assigned spaces and the hotel has relatively few spots. To maximize parking, they allow double parking in the area they do have meaning that it's possible to either be parked in or to have to park in someone else.

The breakfast was filling, but not great and rather salty. For our rooms, one overlooked the road, which was noisy. The other looked over a roof out on St Helier and the sea. For me it had a view. For my mother (who is shorter than I am), it had only the view of the roof.

Prices seem to be good for Jersey. I would recommend the hotel for someone staying in St Helier and trying to minimize costs. (Be aware, though, that there are no restaurants that we found within walking distance and the hotel serves only breakfast.) If I were going to Jersey, I would look for something else, but might settle for the Almorah based on price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

we had book accomodation with this hotel for a week and when we tryied to check-in,it was nobody there to show us to our room,just in the reception we found registration card with our name and room number(which we have to find in the building by our self)The room wasn't what we expected,we've reserved the room en-suite and this one has sharing bathroom and toilet with othe rooms.The furniture was outdate, least the room was clean,but when we tryied to contact someone to disscus issue of our room,nobody was there.Some other guests told us that this is normal and someone we will at breakfast time next day.We planed our holiday long time ahead,on their web site it was promissing,but true was very different.I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone ...By the way,we didn't stay,we've found another hotel near by and leaved the hotel of horrors immediately

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank madaboutyouLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

we had stay only for 3 nights,but we were very surprised and we had nothing to complied about,as we were little bit worry since we read reviews,but hotel is now under a new owners and managamet so I think,reviews placed before don't count.Messige to managers:nice work you doing,just keep it up.Best regards from Dieterich and company

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sajf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.6 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#23 of 32 in St. Helier
307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,985 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#21 of 32 in St. Helier
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Francis Guest House
St. Francis Guest House
#16 of 21 in St. Helier
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almorah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almorah Hotel

Address: Lower Kings Cliff, Lower Kings Cliff, St. Helier JE2 3GU
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Price Range: $56 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Almorah Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Almorah Hotel was built around 1841 and is a listed building of great importance. It is situated in an elevated position above the town of St Helier with views over the town and its interesting harbour. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Almorah Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing