We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redbridge stay.”
Review of Ommaroo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ommaroo Hotel
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Redbridge stay.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

On the 31st of January the Redbridge netball squad went to stay at the Ommaroo hotel for 3 nights. When we first arrived all the staff were very kind and welcomed us in. They had put on some supper of sandwiches as it was quite late. This was very much appreciated. That night i had a very good sleep as the beds were very comfy. In the morning i got up and looked around the bathroom, we had a bath/shower, sink and toilet. Also in 1 of the draws on the dressing table was a hair dryer. We went down for breakfast were they had kindly put a buffet on for us girls while our coaches ordered from the menu. On 1 side there was cooked food on the other things like croissants and cereals e.t.c There was a good selection and the food was very tasty. The hotel is ideally located near the beach and i am sure it would be lovely in the summer.

Over all i really enjoyed my stay and would like to say thank you to all the lovely staff.

By Nina McCausland aged 11

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    148
    65
    28
    9
See reviews for
87
172
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our experience was disappointing. We had to be moved twice on arrival as there was something faulty in each of the rooms and we finally ended up in one of the older rooms which was comfortable enough but oldfashioned and in need of refurbishment. The staff who manned the main desk were friendly but nothing in the hotel seemed particularly professional and there was a weary and casual atmosphere. The waiters were a varied lot but one felt that they had received little in the way of training and some were abrupt and charmless. A smile would have helped. The food itself was surprisingly good and we were impressed with their chef but the dining room was draughty and cold at night. Even the waiters complained of being cold!
The real plus was being on the sea front and being in walking distance of the town.
Overall one had the impression of a hotel that had seen better days and was in need of some imaginative and dynamic management.

Room Tip: Hard to advise as the refurbished rooms were the ones with things that were faulty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We live in Brittany and decided we would like to visit Jersey for Christmas. We booked direct with the Ommaroo and they gave us a good deal on a 4 night package in a refurbished room overlooking the sea.

We arrived Sunday afternoon and were welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff. Christmas Day arrived and we spent the morning watching the brave swimmers taking to the water in the sea water pool opposite. Christmas Day Lunch was brilliant, held in the main function room, 7 courses with excellent service.

We left on the Thursday and were sorry to leave, excellent service and food. Yes the public areas need a spruce up but if the hotel does not get the guests then they wont have the money. Although there were over a 100 people for the Christmas Lunch, there were only 11 people staying at the hotel, a problem that other hotels were also suffering from.

If you are going to Jersey and want a hotel near the shops in St Hellier, you cant go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey C.I.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The food, the service and the location were superb. We loved our coffee and cheese in the conservatory overlooking the beach at Havre Des Pas.
Congratulations Simon and your team.
We will definitely be back in 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussiesheila54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
258 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

They've been working hard on bringing some life back into an old tired hotel, but they've managed to keep the character. The hotel is a great location from town - no more than a 10 minute walk (just ask the reception for the quickest route). Right across the road from Harve De Pas outside swimming pool - which is a restored Victorian sea water swimming pool on the beach. So great for swimming when the tide goes our and very safe for swimming.

Stayed in one of the refurished sea view rooms (#88) - this was excellent. Clean, large with a good size balcony over looking the sea. Hotel is clean, still a bit tired in places, but very good value. Staff are all very friendly and make you feel at home.

Food is OK, but there are so many options right on the doorstep that it would be a shame if you stayed here and ate in the hotel every night. Breakfast is not a buffet of you have a hot breakfast. This is made to order so everything is perfectly cooked and fresh - not the tired dried out rubbish you can get with a buffet sometimes.

If you want to stay in a hotel that is not pretentious but still retains some character and charm, in a good location with a sea view that is minutes from St Helier then I would recommend this one. It's below top class, but above the average. Great compromise.

Room Tip: Room 88 is large and has a great balcony view across the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigs_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed for five nights from 18th-23rd October 2012, we thourghly enjoyed or stay. Staff very friendly, food and service excellent. Rooms very neat and tidy. If you can walk it takes 10 minutes to centre, or catch the bus, every 20 mins. We were attending my sons wedding, and the wedding room was arranged to a high degree. Plenty of choice of meals and times to suit everyone, whither a snack or main meal, ( try the moules).If you want to sit and read or just talk, there is ample space with large leather seats. The outside grass area is ideal for a small beer or snack. Parking is round the back. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony on sea front, extra, but great to look at the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The food was great, breakfast lunch and dinner!
Rooms neat, clean and freshly renovated!
The staff are lovely they went above an beyond so thank you!!!!!
Great location easy to walk into the main part of town, near a great little Thai hut on the beach which I highly recommend!
My mother and nan also stayed, with my nan being 84 they had lifts which was a must and the staff would even go out of there way to help her down a step!
They also expressed how lovely it was
So thank you to the ommaroo hotel staff everything was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St. Helier
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
1,879 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ommaroo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ommaroo Hotel

Property: Ommaroo Hotel
Address: Le Havre des Pas, St. Helier JE2 4UL
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#19 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ommaroo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ommaroo Hotel, which has been in the same family since 1920 is situated on the seafront at Havre des Pas and comprises a number of traditional Victorian villas. typical of the area. From the sunroom you can sit and enjoy the spectacular ever changing seascape of Demi des Pas a sprawling rocky reef made visible at low tide. The large sea swimming pool opposite is ideal for a cool dip on those hot sunny days or maybe you prefer to relax on the beach whilst enjoying a Jersey ice cream!The hotel comprises:82 ensuite bedrooms:Club rooms and Standard rooms (within these categories there are twins/doubles/ trebles/ family rooms and seaview & balcony rooms)The rooms have recently been refurbished to reflect a slightly more contemporary feel whilst remaining sympathetic to the Hotel's history.RestaurantBar and Function room.Attractive Gardens.Entertainment in Season.Conference and Private Dining Facilities.Large car park for guest use.Please note this hotel is not wheel chair friendly as access into the hotel from all entrances is via steps. For further information please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ommaroo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ommaroo Hotel St Helier
Ommaroo Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing