We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, great location”
Review of Ommaroo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ommaroo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Reviewed August 5, 2011

A really charming hotel right on the sea front. I am glad we paid extra for the sea view as the sea was beautiful when we opened our curtains every morning.

The newly decorated rooms are clean and comfortable.

Staff were really nice and friendly.

If we go to Jersey again we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19london81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for Ommaroo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 410 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have just returned from a very happy holiday in Jersey where I stayed at the Ommaroo Hotel with my two sons and two teenage grandchildren. Whilst I visit Jersey most years, this was the first year I have stayed at the Ommaroo. I couldn’t have chosen a better place to go. The rooms were delightful: pretty, immaculately clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The breakfast was terrific with a choice from the buffet of an English and/or Continental breakfast and so lavish that we didn’t need lunch most days. All staff were very friendly and helpful but the two girls on reception were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for them and when my granddaughter got a little sunburnt after a day spent in and out of the swimming pool (about which, more later) they even immediately produced “after sun” care to ease her pain.

The hotel is located within walking distance of St Helier and across from the lovely sandy beach and a huge swimming pool set into the sea. This amenity is free and as we were particularly lucky with hot, sunny weather, we spent quite a lot of time there. The children loved it!

We went with Condor ferries and learnt the hard way that last on the ferry means first off. When one of my sons returned two days earlier than we did, it took him two hours to get off the boat and he was then stuck in a traffic jam for another one and half hours - so we won’t be using them again in a hurry! The traffic in Weymouth is absolutely dire!!

In fact, we chose to go by ferry because the boys wanted to take their bikes and they thoroughly enjoyed riding them all over the island. However, the place to leave our bikes at the hotel was not a secure one and as our bikes were very valuable, we ended up keeping them in our rooms. This was the only criticism we had of the hotel and a very minor one and even so, the Ommarro was the only hotel that I could find that offered anywhere to keep a bike at all. It should also be noted that not all hotels have a car park although it is always helpful to take or hire a car on Jersey – there is so much to see and do! The Ommaroo’s car park is large and there is also a delightful garden beside the hotel to relax in and enjoy.

All in all, there is a great deal to recommend about this hotel and in summing up, I wouldn’t hesitate to suggest a stay here. We shall certainly return as soon as we can!

Room Tip: ask for a re-furbished room
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billyandbessie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights at the Ommarro hotel. Our holiday was booked through Condor breaks so it included the frerry crossing from Weymouth with our car.
The ferry should have arrived in Jersey at 8.10pm but was delayed so we didn't dock until 8.50pm. Consequently we missed dinner at the hotel but they were happy to provide sandwiches for the 4 of us. The Ommaroo is a Victorian hotel but has recently undergone some major refurbishment to the interior. Our rooms seemed completely new including the en suite. Breakfast is buffet style except for tea.coffee and toast which is brought to the table. The dinner menu offered one meat, one fish and one vegatarian choice with a good starter course and then a choice of sweets from the trolley. We enjoyed the food and despite being walkers, managed to come home carrying a few extra pounds! The staff were friendly and helpful. The dining room is at the back, so no view, but the front lounge overlooks the beach and Jersey's sea pool which was surprisingly popular. Jersey's roads are quite narrow and everyone seems to be doing 20/30mph and courteously giving way to each other, a refreshing change from the mainland.
We chose the Ommaroo from the selection offered by Condor after checking the reviews on Tripadvisor. Its only a 10 minute walk to St Heliers pedestrianised shopping centre and the Ommaroo has an ample free car park at the back. There was entertainment on 2 of our 5 nights at the hotel. Bar prices were not expensive.
Our only comment was the delay in leaving the ferry on our return to Weymouth. We were quickly off the boat but it then took over an hour to travel less than a mile. Traffic management on leaving the ferry terminal at Weymouth is awful. It was like leaving a premiership football match.
We stayed for 2 more nights in Weymouth and watched the same traffice queues again and again each time ferry came in.

Room Tip: We did e mail the hotel and we were allocated rooms next door to each other.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NottinghamMike14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Me and my family are returning customers to the Ommaroo hotel and we will still continue to stop there again, I have just come back home from after a week at the hotel and im about to book another holiday there at the end of the year, I go to the Ommaroo at least three to four times a year that is how much we love the hotel. Over the past four years we have seen the Omarro hotel get better and better. The restaurant was refurbished last year and it is fantastic, lovely and clean. This time I went we got a refurbished room and as soon as we walked through the bedroom door we were blown away by how outstanding the room was the only thing I would suggest to the hotel is to put a bottle of still water in the room. All of the food we had there was lovely and ive put on weight now after eating so much lovely food. All of the staff are very friendly and the one member of staff we enjoy seeing is “Mano” (as he is called), he is one of the waiters and he has always got a smile on his face. I also think that when you have your tea or coffee after your meal at night there should be a after dinner mint!!! And I also think that returning customers should get a free bottle of wine or something like they do at the Fort d'Auvergne Hotel. I also hope that the hotel has made plans to refurbish the reception. But I really did not want to leave :) FANTASTIC

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeresylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary. Very impressed with service. Got a great deal though airmiles. Lovely room- i believe it was in the refurbished part. Breakfast was second to none- full english and continental help yourself. Was a bit of an old persons retreat though! Think we were the youngest couple there by about 40 years but we still enjoyed ourselves. Power shower was brilliant and room was comfortable. The bed was a little on the small side mind!!! Very short walk into st helier where we had dinner every evening. Try the cream tea at the lavender farm. Very interesting. Also go to the war tunnels and my husband loved the steam museum. Lots of interesting cars and machinery from the island. I would recomend hiring a car. Although the island is small it enabled us to visit everywhere in the 4 days we were there. St Oiens bay is beautiful. Visit Jersey pearl then go for a walk on the beach. Would definately go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. We didn't but got one anyway.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Just returned from a week at this hotel. We were in a refurbished room which was very comfortable. The standard of cleanliness was excellent, the food extremely enjoyable and the staff were very welcoming, friendly and very helpful.
The hotel, for us, was in an ideal location looking on to the sea but still only 10 minutes walk from St. Helier itself. Would definitely go back to this hotel!

Room Tip: I emailed the hotel and asked for a refurbished room.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathrob54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Almost everything about the Ommaroo Hotel is ripe for repair, refurbishment and a complete overhaul. The exterior of this Victorian-style building is very appealing but that positive impression stops as soon as you walk inside.

I paid £125 per night for a room in the basement, with a partial view of the pavement and busy road right outside.

The only internet in the hotel is at reception, where people huddled round their laptops trying to get a signal. In my basement room, there was almost no phone signal either.

Room 85 smelled musty and had the look and feel of a typical 1950s bedroom. The mattress was lumpy, the pillows not fresh or new and dropped to the bed like a sack of Jersey Royal potatoes. The mustard-yellow blanket was grubby and old and the sheets thin - overall, the beds could have used fresh new linens and modern pillows / duvet / mattress.

The fixtures and fittings inside the room were very old fashioned: the small portable TV at least 15 years old and didn't even get all the terrestrial UK channels clearly, never mind the range of Freeview or satellite channels that are standard in most hotels charging £125 per night.

The lights and lamps in the room looked like they might have been 20 years old. The furniture perhaps dated back to the 1960s. The "wardrobe" was simply an unfinished breeze-block hole in the wall with some doors attached. There were no shelves, only mismatched hangers. The stained carped was a lurid rust colour and there was nothing in the way of nice design touches which you might expect at this price.

The bathroom was very small with old porcelain fixtures and a cheap plastic toilet seat. The beige tiles had printed pictures on some of them - again, reminiscent of a bygone design era. The shower was adequate with a glass screen, however the previous shower curtain railing hadn't been taken down so it looked like someone started the work, then stopped half way through without being bothered to finish the job. The hairdryer in my room had sign on it which said "failed electrical test, do not use".

The hotel restaurant - a giant school canteen style shed - closed at 8:30pm but having looked at the menu that's perhaps a blessing. I was shocked a hotel like this is still in business on an island where tourism is so important.

If you're thinking that £125 per night buys you an in-room mini bar, perhaps some leisure facilities like a gym, pool, sauna or spa then think again.

For what the Ommaroo offers, a more appropriate price range is £40-£60 per night.

I will be writing to the Jersey Tourist Board and to the hotel itself to flag up some of the key problem areas and suggest they review the stars rating awarded to this place with a view to downgrading it.

By comparison, modern hotels like Radisson Blu in Jersey charge LESS than the Ommaroo but offer a lot more. The night after checking out of this hotel I stayed in a brand new Holiday Inn hotel in Manchester which was stylish, clean and comfortable for just £65.

To sum up - do not stay here unless there literally is nowhere else in Jersey left to stay (that was the case with me, couldn't find a decent hotel for the 6 nights in a row I needed). And even then I'd say you might want to consider sleeping on the beach instead of booking a room at the Ommaroo.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DavidMacDougall73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, Owner at Ommaroo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2011

I am the Managing Director and am writing in response to the shocking
review we received below.

I would hope that any guest considering staying at the Ommaroo Hotel would
speak with us first if they have any concerns both before booking and whilst
staying with us. I can confirm that the below review has several errors in
it, particularly regarding the pricing. The guest concerned in fact booked a
treble room for sole use with an online service provider which is naturally
significantly more expensive than a single room. At no point did the guest
concerned come and request a single room or make any complaint to the staff about his room.

The Ommaroo Hotel has recently undergone a major refurbishment and is proud
to announce that over half of our bedrooms and bathrooms have been fully
refurbished. We are constantly updating and upgrading the hotel.

We find that the majority of our guests are very happy here as demonstrated by generally very good reviews and we have many
new and return visitors every year. We are a family run hotel and reviews
such as these are neither helpful nor constructive, we would urge any guest
with any concerns to address these to the management in the first instance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,689 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St. Helier
606 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ommaroo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ommaroo Hotel

Address: Le Havre des Pas, St. Helier JE2 4UL
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#19 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $100 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ommaroo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ommaroo Hotel, which has been in the same family since 1920 is situated on the seafront at Havre des Pas and comprises a number of traditional Victorian villas. typical of the area. From the sunroom you can sit and enjoy the spectacular ever changing seascape of Demi des Pas a sprawling rocky reef made visible at low tide. The large sea swimming pool opposite is ideal for a cool dip on those hot sunny days or maybe you prefer to relax on the beach whilst enjoying a Jersey ice cream!The hotel comprises:82 ensuite bedrooms:Club rooms and Standard rooms (within these categories there are twins/doubles/ trebles/ family rooms and seaview & balcony rooms)The rooms have recently been refurbished to reflect a slightly more contemporary feel whilst remaining sympathetic to the Hotel's history.RestaurantBar and Function room.Attractive Gardens.Entertainment in Season.Conference and Private Dining Facilities.Large car park for guest use.Please note this hotel is not wheel chair friendly as access into the hotel from all entrances is via steps. For further information please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ommaroo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ommaroo Hotel St Helier
Ommaroo Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing