We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAFF AND SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Royal Hotel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Very friendly and well run hotel . Excellent staff who were very friendly and helpful . Everything ran smoothly - slight glitch with the internet which was quickly solved . Great location to walk into town and a good selection of eating places nearby although the restaurant was excellent

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Chris_CJ49KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 848 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here for a few days recently whilst working nearby. There is a small car park next to the hotel and an NCP 2 minutes walk away. The guy at check in was extraordinarily helpful - explaining to us about the parking discs, where to see in St Helier and coastal walks too - thank you :)
The room was a standard room and had all the amenities we needed although AC would have been nice for the summer! The only complaint is the quality of the internet - frequent dropped connections and disappearing networks made it almost impossible to use for any length of time.
The restaurant was excellent - very good good quality food, well presented and a sensible price. Breakfast was also good, enhanced by the banter between George and his boss, very entertaining.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and, other than the internet, everything was first class.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were in Jersey on holiday for a week and found that the professionalism and friendliness of the staff were unmatched by any other hotel that we have ever stayed at. From Alex at reception, Andreea (both of them) and Oliva in the breakfast room, right through to the cleaning staff nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfasts were very good and the bar 27 food was always freshly prepared
Only slight down side was being on a noisy road at night
Overall we would return the the hotel on our next visit

2 Scottish Kiwis

Room Tip: choose a room at the rear of the hotel as the road can be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the end of July and couldn't fault it. Our room request, emailed ahead of our visit, was granted and we were happy with it. Yes, the soft furnishings are a little dated and will not be to everyone's taste but we did not mind as cleanliness is far more important to us and the room was spotless. It was a good sized room (better than we had at the Grand some years ago) and had everything you might need including tea/coffee making facilities and ironing board and iron.
The buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty to choose from with extras (fried or poached eggs, kippers or porridge) cooked to order. Yes, we did have to wait to be seated each morning but it didn't take long and wasn't a problem for us although it may be if you are in a rush.
We ate in the bar one evening and had a very good value, well cooked and presented 3 course meal from a set menu for £15.00. The drinks were also very reasonably priced unlike most hotel bars.
We took advantage of using the leisure facilities (outdoor and indoor pool and Jacuzzi) at a sister hotel a short walk away which was a nice way to relax after a day of sightseeing. Towels are provided for you so there is no need to take them.
The hotel is well placed and is a slow 15 minute walk to the town centre/bus station - we travelled in from the airport on the no 15 bus for £1.80 each - much better value than our return trip in a taxi which cost us £18.00!
All the staff at the hotel were very friendly, polite and helpful and a lovely touch was that we were given a bottle of sparkling wine, in an ice bucket, to celebrate our Pearl wedding anniversary (again more than we got when we stayed at the Grand for our Silver anniversary!!). We drank it sitting on the outdoor terrace which is on the 1st floor of the hotel at the back. .
We would definitely stay at this hotel again when we return to Jersey, and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: A high floor at the back overlooking the out door terrace seating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Overall this was a nice hotel. The location was good with a short walk to shopping and the town center. Just down the street was Millennium City Park which we walked around after dinner and found it very nice. The staff were very nice and helpful. Restaurant food was very good for breakfast and dinner. We also had dinner in the pub which had excellent food too and nice surroundings. The room was just ok as it was smallish and quite hot at night (summer). The furniture is dated and make-up mirror is very small. The bed was comfortable. In the bathroom...the mirror was mounted very low making it difficult to see yourself, the shower tub had a very high side to step over and the shower head would not stay up (sprayed the wall) but had to be hand held. Overall we were happy we stayed here as the location and good food made up for any short comings.

Room Tip: Ask for a inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were in Jersey for a family occasion (4 nights). Polite, friendly, helpful staff. Helpful booking taxis and chasing up again when taxi was running late. Nice room for a single person overlooking the terrace. Friends room a bit noisy overlooking road when lorries were delivering. Must happen in a town hotel which we chose for ease of getting about.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking sun terrace are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinegirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with by Brother & Sister In-law with their 17 month old daughter who was very energetic and wanted to explore the dinning room , bar and every area of the hotel !! The Staff were excellent and very patient in dealing with this little explorer !!
The hotel is in an excellent location , 10 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct with a vast array of restaurants to cover all tastes. We eat in the hotel Bar on several nights and the food was excellent , the fixed price menu for either two or three courses is excellent value for money . We also had breakfast in the hotel, this was included a full English and was always hot and tasty. The rooms were very clean and a good size , although if staying in Summer I would recommend asking for a room that is not on the main road as this can be noisy if you leave the windows open, for us it was OK but may not be for everyone. Also the room we stayed in didn't have air conditioning so the need to leave windows open.
Overall a great hotel, good value for money , excellent location and great staff . Will definitely stay again when w return to Jersey .

Room Tip: Rooms not on main road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.6 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Helier
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
2,141 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Hotel

Address: David Place, St. Helier JE2 4TD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#11 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#14 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $131 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the principal hotels in Jersey, the Best Western Royal Hotel was established in the 1840's and is graded 3 Silver stars by the AA. Ideally located only minutes walk from the quality pedestrian shopping areas of St Helier, the hotel is equally suited to the leisure or business traveller. This attractive 89-bedroom hotel also boasts suites and executive bedrooms. An AA Rosette restaurant and a more informal bar menu makes the Royal a popular town centre choice year round. Parking is available but is limited to 16 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Helier
St Helier Best Western
Best Western Royal Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing