We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Royal Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit(after a year) to this marvellous hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming as well as totally professional in every way. The food is exceptional. There is no other way to describe this really memorable eating experience. The building has been painted outside which adds to the pleasant ambience that envelopes the whole place with a feeling of comfortable warmth and timeless character. Our room was spacious and comfortable and kept spotless by the housekeeping staff. The bar is also a very pleasant experience and not too dear as some hotel bars can be. It's not cheap but it is fair and many people choose to eat there as well as socialise. The restaurant is superb and I would recommend booking half board which gives superb value for money and a truly wonderful eating experience from the Table d'Hotel menu with the option to choose from the full menu if there is something that really takes your fancy; but I would suggest that most people will be fully satisfied with the daily-varying standard menu. The building isn't on the front, which is what some people must have, but it is only a short walk from the town centre. We will return, funds permitting, for another visit to this great hotel. Having travelled extensively in Europe on business and stayed at some very good hotels in Italy, France and Germany, I can honestly say that this one ranks with the very best of them for me. Superb.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    285
    69
    26
    9
See reviews for
108
436
31
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful spring break at the Best Western Royal Hotel and can't praise the hotel or its staff enough. There were two shadows, but I'll come to them later.
We took advantage of a Spring Break offer emailed to us - we've stayed before but it was a long time ago.
The offer was for two nights, at a reduced rate, plus dinner and a glass of wine in the restaurant on each night at a reduced rate too.
The room was superb - opening out on to a sun terrace, but private enough with nets and heavy curtains. Lovely comfy beds, clean and spacious bathroom, and a full compliment of extras to make the stay special.
The food in the restaurant was superb, the offer was for only two courses and wine, but they were substantial and we didn't feel we needed anything else. The bar attached to the hotel is friendly and serves great food and drink too - all day. We hired a car for two days, and although the car park is small, we didn't have any problems parking at any time.
All the staff made us feel welcome, and although we were staying on a boat for the rest of our holiday, the weather forced us to consider an extra night in the hotel. When we inquired, we were offered the same room at the same Spring Break price, even though the offer was only for two nights. We would definitely stay there again at any time and would recommend it to others.
I mentioned two shadows - we were offered a free hire car as part of the spring break offer, or so we thought as it came on the same advert and in the same email, but although it looks like you are entitled to it, its says in small letters underneath " not part of any other offer..." . As the Spring Break is an "offer" the car isnt free. You need to read ALL the small print.
The other niggle is that when the bathroom lights are turned on, the noisy extractor fan starts up and cannot be isolated, so anyone using the bathroom in the middle of the night risks waking their partner, and you can hear other fans whirring away in the early hours as people use their facilities.
On the whole though, a great hotel for a great price and we'd definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBoatOwners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. As regular visitors to the Island it is wonderful that you hold our hotel and staff in such high regard. Thank you for your custom.

With regard to your comment on our own website early book offers - we have looked at how the car hire offer, to which you refer, is presented and can report that the main body wording of the offer is over only three lines of text. One of these three lines is devoted to our telephone number and the words 'Not in conjunction with any other offer or early booking discount'. All in same size font etc.. We believe that this is clear but if you would like to contact us directly then we would be pleased to discuss the matter with you further - in case we have misread your comment.

With regard to the bathroom fans, these may be isolated in most instances within the hotel.

Your comments are very much appreciated and we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two nights on a half board basis and was very impressed. The hotel is fairly central with parking, although limited, but I was impressed with the cleanliness, the quality and price of the food in the restaurant. The room, being a single, was adequate, the bathroom being over sized in comparison to the room itself but was more than adequate, being clean and comfortable. Oliver and Sorin were superb in terms of service and made the stay. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel for its three star status, the only downside is the ups and downs in terms of getting to rooms, something you might expect for an old hotel. Great to have free parking and wifi in the hotel. Would eat and stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues then contact the hotel first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The building, room, food, bar, etc were all fine but I thought the staff were absolutely superb; what lovely attitudes. I had a broken ankle and was on crutches but they catered for me and made my life as comfortable as they could.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisG206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Your kind review is appreciated. Thank you for your custom at the BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of March 2013 whilst on a business trip to Jersey.

The room I was given on the third floor of the hotel was big but the decor was outdated and tired but overall was alright. The room was spotlessly clean including the bathroom although the shower was very poor in terms of power and temperature control.

I ate in the hotel bar for two nights and had the fixed price menu on both occasions. The food was outstanding as was the service from the bar staff. The breakfast was also excellent with a good selection including fruit, cereals, full english breakfast and continential options. All the staff I encountered in the hotel were friendly, helpful and genuinely interested in ensuring my stay was pleasant.

Whilst the rooms need to be brought up to date (blankets on the beds and rubbish shower!!) the staff and the quality of the food make this establishment stand out for me. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you would recommend the BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel and are grateful for your kind comments in respect of our catering and hospitality.

We are a traditional hotel in style, established in 1846, and bedrooms do differ. The vast majority of our bathrooms do have full temperature controlled shower units which are modern and recently fitted.

Thank you once again for your feedback, which is greatly appreciated by our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 1 week stay at The Royal. We had Room number 199 and it was lovely and quiet - just what we wanted, so we had a good nights sleep.

All of the staff were always friendly, helpful and welcoming. The food in both the bar and restaraunt was excellent.

The location was very good as we didn't hire a car. We went to the zoo, the castle at Gorey and we visited St. Brelade's Bay.

Thank you to everyone at The Royal. We look forward to returning before too long.

Room Tip: Room 199 was very quiet - at the end of a corridor, looking out to the sun terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bajan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel.

We will pass your comments on to our hotel staff members who are always pleased to receive such feedback. We do hold a Bronze Investor in People award and value our staff greatly at the hotel. Our catering in both our AA Rosette restaurant and Bar 27 is produced in the same kitchens by our experienced team of chefs and your positive feedback is appreciated.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Booked this at the last minute with the hotel direct over easter, got a brilliant price and did not expect much, I was shocked at how lovely the room was door out onto the terrace extra bed to put all our clothes on, great bathroom comfy beds and the rooms are super clean, tea and coffee making facilities, breakfast is really good full english plus fruits and cereals great selection. The staff all go out of their way to help you, there is a bar and restaurant both are very good.

Room Tip: First floor with access to the sun terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lallySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are very pleased that you were happy with your stay and felt that our traditional BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel exceeded your expectations.

We are a premium AA Three Star hotel and sit at a high level within that grade. Our AA Rosette restaurant does offer an added benefit to guests and we do seek to provide good value and to operate the hotel to International standards under the BEST WESTERN brand.

Our internal terrace areas are shown on our hotel website and these facilities are rare for a central St. Helier hotel. It is wonderful that you liked the accommodation, facilities and catering. Thank you for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 31 in St. Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Hotel
Address: David Place, St. Helier JE2 4TD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#11 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#14 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the principal hotels in Jersey, the Best Western Royal Hotel is ideally located only minutes walk from the quality pedestrian shopping areas of St Helier. Equally suited to the leisure or business traveller, this attractive 89-bedroom hotel also boasts suites, rooms with balconies and 'four poster' bedrooms; AA Rosette restaurant and informal bar; Large rooftop terrace. Graded 3 stars by the AA. Parking is available but is limited to 16 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Helier
St Helier Best Western
Best Western Royal Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing