We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but definately 3* not 4.”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2010

This is a gorgeous hotel, but could be so much better. Excellent reception area and good front of house staff. Rooms were a reasonable size, and very clean. They were however impersonal, for example no pictures on the walls. Bathroom small side, but adequate. The rooms had very basic hospitality tray and toiletries, not what we expect in a 4* hotel. (The four of us have travelled the world together.) Breakfast buffet was very good, apart from the butter shortage!! Every morning there was only two small butter pats on our table of four, and although the staff would bring more, it was grudgingly brought, as was extra tea/coffee. In fact we found all the restaurants to be somewhat parsimonious, and began to think Jersey still had rationing. The portions in Saffrons were particularly small, though food very good. Service very slow in all restaurants, and staff somewhat surly. We felt we were a bit of a nusiance. The buffet in the Orangery one evening was a disaster. We thought buffet meant self serve and eat what you want, but we got into trouble with the manager for eating too much, though we did take her to task over that issue. We were watched like hawks throughout the meal, and made to feel like naughty schoolchildren. Overall we had a lovely holiday, and enjoyed the hotel, especially the spa/pool area, but it could be so much better, with a few basic tweaks and a bit of staff training.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cressidasmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,849 - 1,855 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2010

A nice hotel from the outside, but dull and impersonal inside. Despite being a 'business' hotel there's no iron or trouser press in the room, the matress is not at all comfortable, the TV is tiny, the decor cheap (hate an uncovered divan), but the pillows are ok. Would not chose to stay here for pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gee1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

As a number of previous reviewers attest, this hotel is clean, spacious,well run, with great amenities. We stayed in the balcony rooms which are well worth it. Spa was very relaxing and all the hotel staff are extremely polite and professional. Whenever we return to Jersey (at which time we will hopefully see some sun) we will not bother looking for any other hotels - the De France really is that good. And no,we are not affiliated to the Hotel in anyway way - we ar just a very satisfied, average punter.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Honest-OpinionOct10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

For a relaxing holiday this hotel is just about perfect. The gym, spa and choice of restaurants were fantastic. Best of all though were the staff. Every member of staff we encountered went out of their way to help and advise us in making the most of our short break. It is rare nowadays to find staff who seem so happy at work and who genuinely seem to care that you enjoy your stay. We especially loved the breakfasts and the wine tasting(free to residents) and very informative.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sct58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

From the moment we entered the reception area we were impressed.
Check in was quick. We were taken to our room which was spacious and well appointed with the w/c separate from the bathroom.
The public areas were varied with separate sitting areas inside and out.
The pool/gym complex was excellent and again very spacious.
Breakfast was a feast with hot and cold buffet and even with just 15 minutes left to closing the chef's were still ensuring there was plenty to pick from.
The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the town centre but we didn't find this a problem but for those that did there was a free courtesy bus.
We would recommend this hotel and its friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The best thing about Hotel de France is the swimming pool. There is a suite of indoor pools in a modern extension, beautifully warm and surprisingly under-used when we were there. We swam every morning before breakfast and used the jacuzi and sauna.

On arrival we were allocated a room with no view. When we asked for another room, the staff were very helpful, showing us two alternative rooms (one large room in the new wing at an extra £50/night and one smaller attic room with a great view). We chose the attic room. The bed was a small double and fairly comfortable; the room and bathroom (with bath and shower) were freshly decorated. Breakfast was a buffet with large selection.

The hotel is 15-20mins walk from the bus station or there is a free shuttle provided by the hotel every 2 hours. Jersey buses are a great way to get around; the green, red, blue and yellow explorer buses stop at all the main tourist sites as well as providing convenient drop-off and pick-up points for walks on the scenic North coast.

We ate in the hotel one night - it was okay but rather expensive. We'd recommend the Bastile bar and pizza restaurant in town (excellent, freshly-made pizzas and reasonably priced). Another evening, we had a wonderful meal out at the Chateau La Chaire in Rozel. This is a magnificent, characterful, old house up on a hill overlooking the bay. It was expensive @ £40 each, but worth it for a one-off special occasion. They also do excellent morning coffee with homemade shortbread for £3.50. It's worth the climb up from the bay just to take a look at the building.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingwoman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I've been staying at this hotel since I was an infant and I am now 22. I'd class it as my favourite hotel in Europe and I've been fortunate enough to stay at the Ritz in Paris. Now, don't get me wrong, it's nowhere near as extravagant as the Ritz, but it's simply fantastic. Perhaps it's because of all the nostalgia I've built up over the years and love returning to see the winding staircase in the main reception, the familiar smell in the corridor and the beautiful gardens.

This time I took my mum to the hotel on a spa break as a treat for her birthday. We visited at the beginning of July and so the hotel was very quiet and peaceful with only a few business travelers staying there. We had lovely weather while we were there so took up the opportunity to sunbathe in the beautifully manicured gardens and eat lunch and sip cocktails on the terrace.

Our room was bright, clean and spacious. We were able to access free Wi-Fi from our room and also tea & coffee making facilities. Plenty of storage space in the room. Lovely view from room down to St Helier (see photos).

Breakfast was absolutely fantastic. I don't usually eat much at breakfast, but I really can't help myself when staying at the de France! There is so much choice and it's all so delicious!

The town centre is really close-by. Only a 10-15 minute walk along the cutesy little streets, however the hotel also offers a complementary shuttle service into town at selected times.

One of the most amazing parts of the hotel which you MUST visit is the Ayush Wellness Spa. So relaxing and peaceful there. The massage treatments are out of this world and the whole atmosphere is wonderful. Also be sure to spend time around the pool area. The temperature around the pool is delightful, it's so warm you could easily fall asleep on one of the lounger chairs.

I adore this hotel and will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilam06a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
1,593 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: St Saviours Road, St. Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#6 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $119 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 129 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing