We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed here for a week, and it was fabulous. With 2 children, we had 2 interconnecting rooms on the 5th floor, which was ideal. Very clean, plenty of room and quiet. The breakfast buffet was excellent, as was the evening buffet we tried one night. Our children loved the Kids Club which was open from 4 - 10pm, which gave us the opportunity to have a drink in the bar! The swimming pool was lovely, and although didn't get to try the Spa, it looked very inviting. Although the hotel is situated just outside St Helier, it wasn't a problem as only a 15 minute walk but there is a hotel shuttle bus and a bus stop outside the hotel for public transport. We will definately return!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sloanestreetshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,869 - 1,875 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2010

The hotel's glorious facade is obscured by an ugly modern building which is a shame because it would look wonderful if you could see more of it as you approach. I couldn't fault it really - the room was spacious especially for a single room, with a good en-suite and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I didn't get a chance to try the leisure facilities which was a shame as they looked (and smelt - in the case of the spa) excellent.
The breakfast was self service and I would prefer it to be served but the food itself was ok. cafe and bar were pretty pricey but I guess that comes with the territory.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed here earlier in the year and found that the staff were much more friendly and customer focused than last time.

Had room service and chose the burger which was nice on my last visit. It arrived but was only seared and uncooked . Of course I had to send it back and that was another 25 minutes wait. My room was paid for in advance and was rather suprised that given the issues, I was still charged for the meal.

Room was fine, but why have they invested a lot of money in TV's the size of laptops? Free WiFi is a real plus point these days

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southdown_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Despite concerns raised by comments on Trip advisor we had a great time at this fabulous hotel.
Our room was huge with a fantastic bathroom,with double bath and walk in shower.
Our view was great-across rooftops to the churches and to the sea.
The staff were knowledgeable and attentive and we felt that we were very well looked after.
The spa area was wonderful,it was clean and luxurious.
We did have a few niggles but this is really nit picking-at breakfast we were not given tea pots,we had to wait for staff to bring tea to us,this was difficult as they were all very busy and so tea was the last thing on their minds,unfortunately for us it was the first thing on ours at that time on the morning! The hotel is quite difficult to find especially due to the one way road system.The treatments at the spa are quite expensive and so we had to pass.
All in all we had a fabulous time and would like to thank the staff at Hotel de France for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Yes the hotel is not the 5 star but they have Ronald which makes it beyond a five star. Here is a man that loves his job. We bought the hip hop bus ticket from Viatar but didn,t know where to get on. Ronald drew it on the map and went outside and pointed so we clearly understood , we did . Latter we asked how to get to other sites again he made sure we knew not the usual that way. He answers all questions about your stay. Yes it is his job but unlike most places he does it to the fullest. Breakfast is a expensive but when you see prices in Vienna its well worth it,excellant.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

I stayed in the hotel for 7 days due to a double booking at the Legay Hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable with all the expected facilities. Unfortunately it is a typicaly large hotel and it feels a little impersonal. (This is why I had booked a smaller hotel). The food in the restaurants was lovely if a little pricey (again no more than you would expect from this type of hotel). The price of the meals is different in the two restaurant areas so check it out.
Unfortunately not all the bars were open as the hotel was not full.
The view from the hotel is superb as it is at the top of a hill.
The only problem I had was that there are a lot of steps up to the hotel so if you do have difficulty you may need to make full use of the shuttle bus into town as you wont need to go up and down the steps.
The walk into town is quite a stretch of the legs so be prepared.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigSiouxiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed for five days in August and really enjoyed ourselves.

Our room was comfortable, good bathroom and everything worked, the feature that really enhanced our stay was the public areas.

The reception/lobby area is very grand with lots of space and comfy squishy sofas. The outside terrace is absolutely lovely, a real sun trap overlooking the small but well formed gardens. There are sun loungers available on the grass area which also provides a very relaxing space to read or snooze. The waiting staff gently patrolled the terrace, without being over pushy, serving beverages and snacks from the Aroma bar.

We also enjoyed aperitifs and after dinner drinks in the very classy panelled bar, the cocktails were especially good value given the surroundings and expertise on offer.

The health club was very well equipped, excellent changing areas together with nice pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and treatments which again we felt given the quality on offer represented very good value for money.

Although the hotel was full with over 400 guests, the public areas are so well proportioned the only time we knew we were two of four hundred was at breakfast when everyone was in the same place at the same time. Breakfast quality was very good with plenty of choice but seating arrangements are a little cramped, well worth asking to be seated in the adjoining bar area (you may have to wait a short while but it is worth it).

Free wi-fi worked very well all over the hotel and all the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and gave the impression that they genuinely wanted to look after us. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magyarmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
808 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
1,608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: St Saviours Road, St. Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#6 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $121 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 129 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing