We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect break away”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Hotel quite a walk from town, and steep hill at the end but well worth the walk. Lovely reception area and staff most welcoming. Room was spacious and great view of the town. Meals good esp Saffrons very nice. Had two treatments each at Ayush spa massage and facial, wow would go again just for that and swimming pool lovely.
If i went to Jersey again i would stay here again and book a treatemnt in a flash

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilmaB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,847 - 1,853 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2010

I stayed in this hotel as my usual haunts on the island were all full. My first impression of the hotel was good. The room was a nice size with a decent bed and the shower in the morning had good water pressure. I didn't have time to use the spa facilities so I can't comment on them. My only gripe is that when I ordered my usual double espresso for breakfast I was told it would cost extra - I would not expect this in a four star hotel. I also was not able to put this extra cost on my room allowance as according to reception that was for dinner only. All in all its an ok hotel - but not really worth the extra walk so I will be staying elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellingWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

recently returned from a five night stay at the hotel de france. The reception area of the hotel was very impressive and the staff were excellent. The leisure centre was well worth a visit and the pool was a big hit with our five year old Breakfast had a good selection but the quality was only average. The one thing reall y letting this hotel down is the food. Cafe Aroma was very expensive and expect to wait up to forty minutes for your food to arrive. Not good when you have 2 small hungry children. Overall this hotel is good but go into town to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocotuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Lovely building, not much to do at night time, plenty to do in St Helier, restaurant facilities in my opinion leaves a lot to be desired, food cooked in Aroma's was adequate, service was appalling i am still waiting for my wine. I recommend eating out. Hotel was very clean. My room was very tired, one of the lifts was out of action the whole time i stayed. Cocktail bar was good value, parking is an issue, car park seems to be full of Jersey people using the pool. Eat breakfast out as in my opinion it was poor. I was looking for a high quality experience stay, sadly this was not the case. It pays to read all reviews before you take a holiday

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank centre-of-the-line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

This is a large, functional hotel, comfortable with good leisure facilties. We stayed as part of the Jersey International Motoring Festival so reliable & secure parking was important and that's exactly what we got. Our double room was spacious, clean, quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We walked into St Helier (about 15-20 mins) each evenimg to eat, so can't comment on the restaurant, but breakfast buffet was good and the service efficient. All in all this is a very adequate hotel and I can't think of any reason why not to stay here assuming the room rate is reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed here for a four day break. The room was clean and comfortable and of expected standard for a 4 star hotel. Breakfast buffet was good and staff attentive. Cafe Arome was a good choice for evening meal or afternoon tea but tables were limited considering it was a 300 room hotel. Saffrons the only fine dining restaurant and again small, was a pricey way of eating curry! Our particular grouse was that there was only a small lounge bar, which happened to be adjacent to Saffrons, where a post dinner drink could be enjoyed. We gave up. Drinks are available in Cafe arome but it is not to everyone's taste to sit on stools in a bistro. The alternative eating is a fifteen minute stroll down town - not much good on a wet Sunday evening!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AEAEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We went to Jersey for a family event, and Hotel de France looked perfect. The location behind a very modern building was weird.. really is hidden.. Hotel staff very pleasant.
The rooms where tired, and could do with a make over. The lift with the glass, could do with a good clean. We arrived at 5pm on Saturday, and decided to have a cocktail before we went out.. not in this hotel.. bar did not open until 7pm - all we had was the cafe, and a glass of wine. The terrace of the cafe outside was pleasant, but not what we wanted, and not what you expect of a 4 star!
We went for breakfast, and the breakfast room was much more like a canteen. Food however was good, and a good choice. We where going to stay here for 3 nights, and I am glad we did not.. 1 night was enough. Not the hotel for me.. I was looking for so much more from a 4 star!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dianewarrenpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
2,141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
1,567 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
771 reviews
0.9 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: St Saviours Road, St. Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $130 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 129 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing