We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and myself decided to treat ourselves again to stay in this marvellous hotel. It is set a little way from town but you can use the free shuttle bus if you do not drive and there is also a bus stop outside the hotel. There have been modernisation works carried out and we understand these will continue over time but will not affect your stay. We were given an upgrade to a Spa Room which was fantastic. The staff are very helpful and friendly and there are two great restaurants available plus bar if you do not fancy going out. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,574 - 1,580 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I checked into the Hotel de France for an overnight stay for valentines night, and it was simply excellent.
From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff who were quick to give us our room key and advise us on the hotel's facilities. Our room was well appointed and the very clean, the bed was comfortable and we were delighted.
The restaurant bar was managed by a delightful Russian lady who couldn't do enough to make us comfortable.
We also went down to the spa in the morning for a swim and sauna/steam which was fantastic. The spa is gorgeous and the gymnasium is well equipped. Just what you need!!. The food is great and the grounds are beautiful and quiet. All in all excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hurric8ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Yes, as last reviewer said, hotel was quiet, but it's January and the weather is cold and wet, but the hotel is warm, comfortable, staff are welcoming and friendly. The spa is excellent, fantastic pools, steam room and sauna, with places to sit and chill out, which we made use of on wet afternoons. The gym is well equipped, air conditioned and up to date.
Our spa room was large, warm, a nice comfy bed and bathroom with shower and bath. The included breakfast was lovely, and if we wanted a full cooked English we just had to ask. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank thegizzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with a car, we were given room 308 which was right by the lift. The hotel was deserted, we didn't even see another guest during our time here. The bedroom was small, bathroom incredibly dated and the pipes were noisy when toilet was flushed and shower used. We felt incredibly ripped off as we paid £76 room only! We checked out early and headed to the car to see a rude note left on my windscreen about the carpark being for guests. I headed back to the hotel to complain as I had written down the registration upon check in. No apology from the girl at reception, she just took the notice and said it was fine. That isn't the point. It's unprofessional. Could have stayed at the radisson for £4 more and had breakfast! I do recommend that you do this, funnily enough our boat was cancelled and we had to stay another night in Jersey. Radisson is much better value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelKelly7487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a recent business trip to the area in Janaury. Check in was very efficient and I was given a room on the second floor facing the rear which does provide a particular nice view. The room was small and very warm on entering but was very comfortable and offered homely facilities.

Breakfast is offered both as a buffet and a la cart dinning, I found the quality of food and service to be excellent. In addition we made use of the business facilities which are excellent and the hotel overall offers excellent WIFI.

A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonbelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I recently stayed here for a couple of nights whilst on a business trip to Jersey.
The Hotel and the Room were warm, cosy, clean, and comfortable.
The bed was soft and comfortable and the general appearance of the establishment is one of being looking after.
The staff were courteous and on hand to assist where needed.
If ever visiting Jersey in the future I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Loved the large Spa Room with balcony and view over St. Helier. Walk-in rain shower. Large choice for breakfast - nice to have Jersey Cabbage Bread on offer every day. Room was clean and room service was good. We ate on the terrace one evening and the food was excellent, although with such a wide choice on Jersey we were out every other night! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We had a Spa Room and would recommend it - spacious with a large bed, balcony overlooking St Helier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdCar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St. Helier
2,335 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 30 in St. Helier
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 30 in St. Helier
1,609 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St. Helier
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 30 in St. Helier
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: St Saviours Road, St. Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#6 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $124 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 129 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing