We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, literally just a 5 minute walk from the delights of St Helier. The staff are very friendly and international. I was very pleased by the spa and fitness center as well, you can use them both as much as you like and they are open until quite late. The breakfast was good and there was a lot of choice. On busy weekends you may have to wait a little while to be seated and for any cooked to order food but other than that it was rather satisfactory. The rooms are big enough, and the decor is quite traditional but not quite yet outdated. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AwkwardGuest93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    533
    155
    45
    18
See reviews for
255
859
101
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights (3 to 7 Sep) on a short break. The room (No 124) was clean, airy and comfortable and had a lovely view over the terrace and towards St Helier. The hotel was beautifully furnished, with a wonderful staircase in reception. The breakfast was excellent with loads of choice and was taken in the Orangery. We ate three nights out of the four at Cafe Aroma, twice on the terrace and once inside. The meals were really tasteful and there was a great choice. As 77nab commented, the staff were absolutely terrific and were a credit to the hotel. We will be back as we found 5 days was not enough to see all of Jersey. All in all a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Every single member of staff encountered during my staff was excellent, cheerful, friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Other hotels could learn from your staff.
Would be good to warn guests that lifts up to rooms are glass and on outside of building. Being terrible with heights this was a shock!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77nab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is one of the fanciest and most expensive hotels on Jersey. I used to live on Jersey and recentoy went back to see mates for my birthday with my bf. We stayed here for a week and enjoyed the poshness! However I was dissapointed with the aircon as it was a very hot week in Jersey and we boiled in the room with the windows open and vad aircon in full blast! Apart from that we had a great time. There is even a hotel bus that will take you into town. The staff were really happy and freindly too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJerseyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southminster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We booked a 10 night stay at this hotel at short notice after our planned holiday feel through and so didn't really know what to expect.. The staff were friendly an helpful during our whole stay. The food is excellent with a choice of three restaurants where the service too was excellent. Our room was clean, comfortable and airy. The hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes walk from the hotel. The walk is not difficult except for the last part where there are a number of steps which may be difficult for those with mobility problems. However a mini bus does run a shuttle service to and from the centre of St Helier and this drops you at the front door. If you are in a car the Hotel is on the Ring Road which is a bonus and there is ample parking available. A perfect base from which to explore Jersey. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I recently transferred here from the Samares Coast hotel for 2nights. I booked a single room without breakfast for £130. Very good value for money. I have stayed here several times before with my partner and it is still very good. It's not a bucket and spade family hotel which but is perfect for couples and business travellers. It's quiet and a 10 minute walk from the town centre with plenty of parking. I did find the receptionist a tad surly on check in but perhaps she was just having a bad hair day. Altogether a quality hotel that I will be happy to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A wonderful week celebrating a 60th birthday and 40th wedding anniversary made special by a lovely room, friendly staff and excellent food. A standard room was all that was available on booking but the travel agent asked if we could be allocated a superior room should one become available. The hotel actually took notice of this and we were upgraded to a lovely spacious room wih a view facing the town(254). Champagne and fruit was left in our room on the day of our anniversary- a lovely gesture we wont forget. We had planned to go in to town for our evening meals but after sampling the excellent food in Cafe Aroma served by the most friendly efficient staff we ate in the hotel every night. The spa area is also very nice. We spent a lot of time relaxing in the garden. I asked a member of staff one day if he could help my husband put up the sun brolly. I will do better than that he said I will do it for him. That was just one small example of the outstanding service . I hope the management appreciate what a valuable asset they have in ALL their staff. We did not have any dressing gowns but the spa staff told us to ask at reception. No problem - These were in our rooms shortly afterwards. No decaff coffee in room - No problem - arrived in room within a few minutes.
I am very loath to mention any negative points but as mentioned by another review we were a little suprised there was no fridge/mini bar. I would also point out to anyone with mobility issues
- if arriving by vehicle (courtesy bus available) you are dropped off right outside the hotel doors so no problem but if you choose to walk the steps from the road back up to the hotel are quite steep. Very much looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Our room was 254. Large - front facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompsons2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
1,726 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
1,571 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 32 in St. Helier
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: St Saviours Road, St. Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 126 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing