We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel for a short break.”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Last minute booking which turned out to be favourable. Lovely spa facilities. Friendly , helpful staff. Spacious , comfortable and clean room. Plenty of choice at breakfast time. Café Aroma best for lunch or snacks. Plenty of eating places in St. Helier.

Room Tip: Room with a good view ..............512. Front of building. Double room with single occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,631 - 1,637 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Having just booked in for 5 days with my 2 teenage sons, we have been very pleased with the quality and location of the Hotel and facilities.
I would recommend the Hotel to anyone who is planning a trip to Jersey.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the Elevator lobby as it can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are located in the new part, and are spacious but without character. You've got all you need, but the room could be anywhere.

The beds and pillows are very hard, and the room has individual air conditioning unit, one of those blocks on wheelies.

Staff are nice and helpful, breakfast is good and plentiful.

The spa is very good, but to get there you need to walk through the lobby in your bathrobe, not pleasant.

The killer are the steps to the hotel. If you are on foot, you will need to climb up to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutch-Mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is beautiful . Good size rooms and fabulous pools . However the breakfast is always cold and not great .
The staff is just ok , they will do what we ask but no one understands the meaning of the extra mile .
Had a fantastic facial and back massage in the hairdresser and beauty salon within the hotel . It was the best beauty treatment I have ever had with a lady called Frances .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank analis46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

First time in Hotel de France was back in 1957 ! Thats a long, long time ago! I remember it well and the classic elegance has been updated over the years to maintain and provide the luxurious comfort todays traveller expects. Several bars and restaurants, large spa and swimming pool of the highest standard. Super breakfast menu. Within reasonable (10minutes) walking distance from the centre of St.Heliers shopping and business centre. (When in town, well worth a visit is the Victorian marked.) As well suited as a family holiday or a most comfortable business meeting hotel. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel has a lovely entrance and great staff. The rooms are large which was nice after the smaller London rooms. The room doesn't have a safe but seemed safe enough. I loved the sound of the seagulls in the morning. The breakfast buffet was good although I can't say I liked the black pudding! We were visiting friends so didn't get to maximise our stay. On the last day we found the pool and spa area which looked great and will be something I plan to make use of on the next visit. My husband said that the gym was great. My only complaint is that the bed was a tad lumpy otherwise a great place to stay.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Staff great but we had no air con and the room was extremely warm for our 5 days. Guess some go to Jersey for the better weather so heat can be expected in summer?? Dont expect lack of aircon from a 4 star hotel in such a location. BUT Its clear that some rooms DO have aircon so beware what you get. Also, I emailed hotel two weeks prior to stay to get a view over St Helier from high up...no reply from hotel and we got a room at the back overlooking a corrugated roof.. so not impressed with customer services. This is a hotel for those wanting a quiet time..which is reflected in the entertainment which is subdued to say the least as is the audience in general. Ive never known bars so quiet when the entertainment is on. Thank god the kids there had free wifi to keep them happy with ipads. I do re emphasise the staff were lovely as were the breakfasts. General point about Jersey...its now over priced for food and drink for a tax free island with average weather for sunseekers . Tourism seems to have suffered quite badly over the years since I was there last at least. The hotel de france I remember was a class joint with a facade to die for..it still has the facade but they built a medical centre in front of it so you cant see the hotel from the road...what a real shame. Actually, its not even on the tourist maps any more..wierd. Spa really nice, but never ate at their Saffrons indian retro resaurant as £52 a head for a meal seems OTT. There was an indian buffet at £26 or so one night but better value to be had in the town which is about 10 to15 mins walk away.The Bistro seemed better value at Hotel de France though.

Room Tip: Make sure you DO get aircon room if going high summer. Front of hotel better than back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
806 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
1,608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: St Saviours Road, St. Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#6 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $121 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 129 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing