We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - must try the pool/ spa.”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel has a lovely entrance and great staff. The rooms are large which was nice after the smaller London rooms. The room doesn't have a safe but seemed safe enough. I loved the sound of the seagulls in the morning. The breakfast buffet was good although I can't say I liked the black pudding! We were visiting friends so didn't get to maximise our stay. On the last day we found the pool and spa area which looked great and will be something I plan to make use of on the next visit. My husband said that the gym was great. My only complaint is that the bed was a tad lumpy otherwise a great place to stay.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,585 - 1,591 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Staff great but we had no air con and the room was extremely warm for our 5 days. Guess some go to Jersey for the better weather so heat can be expected in summer?? Dont expect lack of aircon from a 4 star hotel in such a location. BUT Its clear that some rooms DO have aircon so beware what you get. Also, I emailed hotel two weeks prior to stay to get a view over St Helier from high up...no reply from hotel and we got a room at the back overlooking a corrugated roof.. so not impressed with customer services. This is a hotel for those wanting a quiet time..which is reflected in the entertainment which is subdued to say the least as is the audience in general. Ive never known bars so quiet when the entertainment is on. Thank god the kids there had free wifi to keep them happy with ipads. I do re emphasise the staff were lovely as were the breakfasts. General point about Jersey...its now over priced for food and drink for a tax free island with average weather for sunseekers . Tourism seems to have suffered quite badly over the years since I was there last at least. The hotel de france I remember was a class joint with a facade to die for..it still has the facade but they built a medical centre in front of it so you cant see the hotel from the road...what a real shame. Actually, its not even on the tourist maps any more..wierd. Spa really nice, but never ate at their Saffrons indian retro resaurant as £52 a head for a meal seems OTT. There was an indian buffet at £26 or so one night but better value to be had in the town which is about 10 to15 mins walk away.The Bistro seemed better value at Hotel de France though.

Room Tip: Make sure you DO get aircon room if going high summer. Front of hotel better than back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just had a week at the hotel in jersey. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating and really looked after my wife's elderly parents. Restaurants were lovely, service faultless and rooms very adequate.
Thank you De France for making our stay so effortless

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just back from a week long stay at Hotel de France and I was very impressed. Be aware that not all rooms have views (ours included). Our room was to the back of the hotel and had no view but it did have a little balcony with a table and chairs on it. There was air conditioning in the room which we really needed as we were there during a very very hot spell. The room had a double and single bed and was very spacious and airy. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant especially Barbara at reception - you won't meet a nicer person. Breakfast each morning was plentiful and there was a good choice. The leisure facilities were great and we enjoyed using the pool area. There are plenty of sun loungers outside and around the pool. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurants as the food is very haute cuisine and not to all tastes. The hotel is decorated well and has a feel of opulence about it. In all we were very impressed and would love to return some time. Should mention that this hotel is about a 20 minute walk into St. Helier up a slight hill and it may be advisable to hire a car if staying here.

Room Tip: If a view is important ask for one otherwise you may be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here i the middle of a holiday in France. The reception staff were very helpful, & upgraded us to one of the new rooms in the spa wing. Room was great with a balcony looking down onto St.Helier.
We ate on the terrace twice, food was excellent, if a bit pricey, but par for the course at hotel restaurants!
One of the main drawbacks is the distance from the town centre, walking down is ok, but it's a £7-8 taxi fare back to the hotel.
Overall a very good hotel, but make sure you get the best deal online?

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff throughout the hotel were fantastic. We stayed in a spa room and had two huge doors where you could just about see the sea from your bed. A shame there is a huge medical centre in front of it (worried us when we first pulled into the hotel!) but the actual building is lovely and the spa etc is a real bonus - a great selection of pools/steamroom/sauna/plunge pool/massage pools etc. Great for when the wind got a bit too much on the beach!

We had a lovely stay here, the staff were super helpful and really made it for us. The rooms were lovely and the food in the hotel was surprisingly good. A great base from which to explore Jersey but also come back to a bit of room service and a leisurely soak in the spa and pool when we felt like being lazy!

I've already recommended it to friends and wouldn't hesitate to return here when we are next in Jersey. Very good value for the location/area and I'm pleased we stayed here rather than the more expensive 5* option or the 3* seafront location option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fab2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Last minute booking and have to say it was brilliant, the facilities were great and the restaurants both served beautiful food. Ate in saffrons which was sublime, if you can try the tasting menu with wine... Michelin star food and drink. The staff are friendly and helpful. The only down side was the breakfast, which wasn't very organised but I can over look it for the rest of the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMcN15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
2,141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
1,567 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
771 reviews
0.9 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: St Saviours Road, St. Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $130 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 129 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing