We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel de France Jersey”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
wirral
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel de France Jersey”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

An impressive, imposing hotel, with great facilities. The staff were polite, helpful, and efficient, and genuinely friendly. We had a wonderful long weekend, and we cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor, even number
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrygWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    577
    165
    47
    19
See reviews for
284
941
106
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My visit was a quick business trip so packed that I can't comment on the breakfast because I had no time to eat it, or the infinity pool and spa which sounded lovely. Setting very convenient and staff friendly. My room was on the top (fifth floor) accessed via a slow lift. Bed comfortable - the whole experience was a bit like going back in time. I'm sure there are many more picturesque places to stay in Jersey and its a shame the grandeur of the hotel is hidden behind more modern buildings but a good central base, none the less.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandBeccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Hotel de France is the place to stay in Jersey ! Spotlessly clean and elegant throughout, coupled with excellent customer care. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and rooms were lovely. The cleaning staff work to very high standards and restaurant staff are friendly, efficient and well trained, always with a smile to give. I particularly liked the fact that there was a very cosmopolitan feel to the hotel with the staff coming from all different areas of Europe. Staff were from Hungary, France, Romania and several other counties and were all polite and very eager to please.

Well done Hotel de France .... keep up the good work ... I for one will definitely be returning and will be recommending you to others !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nissanessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marske by Sea, Redcar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Elegant hotel in an excellent position, well enough away from town to be quiet, but also within walking distance of it. Breakfast was excellent, with a great choice of good healthy food. The swimming pool, jacuzzi area etc all looked really good, but unfortunately, being on a conference I didn't get a chance to use any of it.

The bedrooms were really lovely, bathroom spotless, and I was lucky enough to get a room with a view towards the sea.

Although nearly all of the rooms were taken up by people attending the conference, I still found it quiet during the night.

Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lovely hotel, beautiful island! I spent 4 nights in the hotel at the beginning of the month with some friends and we were more than happy with the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, and the helpfulness and efficiency of the staff. Unlike some other large hotels, there was always the feeling that each guest mattered.
Breakfasts were delicious and efficiently served, as were the other meals that we took in the hotel restaurants. I would be more than happy to go back to the Hotel de France - hopefully quite soon! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for a short break at the end of May. A very nice hotel, far enough away from the centre of town to be quiet, but near enough to walk to for shops, attractions, night life etc. Like a previous reviewer, I too last stayed here back in 1976 and was disappointed that the sweeping view had been obliterated by the ugly building in front, but otherwise it fulfilled all expectations. Breakfast buffet had plenty of choice, including gluten-free rolls on request for which I was very grateful. Standard room was very comfortable and spacious enough. Swimming pool was excellent, just wish we had more time to make more use of it.
All in all a very nice stay, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and less outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexgirl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth Garden City
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Wonderful Hotel on a beautiful Island. Staff were efficient, courteous and friendly. Nothing seemed to much for them. Saffron is an excellent restaurant with great Asian fusion cuisine. The facilities are excellent and I wish I had taken more advantage of the swimming pool and gym. I would also like to say how appreciative we was of Elliot. He is a credit to the hotel. Again very helpful and courteous and was doing work experience, well done Elliot and I am sure with that attitude, you will have a bright future in the hotel trade.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelWold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,013 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
1,517 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
750 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: St Saviours Road, St. Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#1 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 126 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing