We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel :)”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had an overnight stay at this hotel last Saterday and it was brill, staff (from reception to waiting staff to porters) were very attentive and professional. Dinner in the Cafe Aroma and terrace was great as were the guys that served us. The room was lovely, big enough for 4 people. and the view was over St Helier :) On Leaving we found a car with a flat battery...the staff were so helpful and soon got us up and running.... Can't wait to stay again :)

Room Tip: We were in 419 and i was impressed, no noise and a great view over St Helier :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,666 - 1,672 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our first trip to Jersey and we simply loved it. The island is stunningly beautiful, the people courteous, welcoming and helpful; and the history of Jersey truly absorbing and fascinating.

Hotel de France capped off a wondersful time on Jersey.

From the moment we stepped across the threshold, the staff could not have been more friendly. They were all highly professional and nothing was too much trouble. The facilities are of a high standard and the hotel is beautifully maintained. Our room was larger than one might normally expect and very comfortable.

We had a lunch and a dinner in the Aroma Bar and it is to be recommended. The food was very, very good, as was the choice of wine. Service was of the highest calibre.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed the the Hotel de France for a weekend. The facade of the hotel is beautiful and grandiose, even if surprisingly hidden by a hideous car park.

The rooms however are pretty basic, they look like one of those 2* and 3* hotel (usually part of hotel chains) in the outskirts of many towns. Nondescript, basic decor.

Staff were friendly and breakfast is ok. Breakfast starts at 7am during the week so if you have an early flight it is unlikely you'll get any breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We only stayed one night here - a quick hop to Jersey for my mother's 92nd birthday. The hotel provided adjoining rooms - requests not always facilitated when booking online deals! Rooms were clean, sea facing albeit over the roof of the Orangery and I'm sure at one time the hotel would have looked very impressive as you drove up before the view from the road was spoiled by the Health Centre being built. There was a very convenient disabled parking space for us just outside the entrance - undercover parking for other guests must also be noted as a boon. Away from the main part of St Helier it is obviously a fantastic choice for a spa weekend - we weren't destined to use that on this occasion but would certainly consider it for just a couples weekend another time.
We would definitely book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Myself and my partner have just returned from a lovely three night stay at this Hotel. All of the Staff were very helpful and attentive and the Hotel itself was definitely Four/Five Star. The room, pool, restaurants and Bar area were all excellent. The Breakfast was plentiful and the hotel is a perfect base for touring Jersey. If you do find the walk up the hill too much after a nice evening out or after a large meal in one of the many excellent Restaurants in St Helier, local Taxis were all very cheap! I would recommend this Hotel to all and will definitely consider it again when I revisit Jersey. Overall we had an excellent three nights here and I thank all of the staff for making it so.

Room Tip: Excellent Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

have been to Jersey many times.
first stay at De France.would return.
stayed 2 nights for a getaway break.
spa and pools very relaxing and clean,
as were the changing room etc...
massage on last day was sublime.
sea view room quiet.
slept 12hours one night,my normal is 6/7hrs.
hotel is a 15 minute walk from town tho there is a curtesy bus.
delicious food in aroma bar and great service.
one complaint, my cooked breakfast took 35minutes.
and it wasnt busy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lovetotravel503790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on several occasions now and wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Rooms pleasant, staff very friendly and helpfull. Leisure/Spa facilities top class, can see why it won an award. Excellent breakfast served in the mornings, bistro open all day and a choice of restaurants in the evening. The only negative is the location as it sits high at the back of St Helier, however they do run a mini bus down to the town centre at regular intervals Monday-Friday. Car parking on site usually not a problem. Believe it's very popular with families end of July, into August and September with kids club/creche on offer plus a variety of entertainment for the adults. Great deals available off-peak.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jbskyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
1,583 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St. Helier
788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: St Saviours Road, St. Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $118 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 129 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing