We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for a week in late June 2012 and had a really wonderful break. I have stayed at the hotel many times before, but only on a one or two night business break, so decided to go back for a touch of luxury. We got it!! The room we had was on the front on the first floor with a lovely view across St Helier. There is a large building in front of the Hotel, which is a medical centre, but the roof has been planted as a wildlife reserve with lots of different coloured plants and grasses, so well done to whoever did that. Consequence for the hotel is although you can see this building in the close up view, you just look straight over it and include the roof garden in your view of St Helier. The room was large airy, clean and very comfortable, with a really comfortable bed. The bathroom had both shower and bath and we really could not fault the room at all. The walk down into St Helier is an easy one and really quite pleasant. You can walk out through the back of the car park to enjoy a short cut. The Spa and leisure facilities are probably about the best on offer. I've stayed in many hotels all over Europe over the last few years and this Spa is one of the best I've come across. As the weather was rainy most days, it helped a lot to make up for the lack of sunshine. The Car Parking was easy and we always got our favourite space. We didn't eat in the hotel as it was a bit pricey, but I've no doubt that the food would have been good had we decided to. There were two bars when we arrived, but after three nights of drinking in the 'Starlight' bar, we found that it was closed, which disappointed us no end. Apparently it had only been opened for a Corporate Event. We had enjoyed drinking there every night, and did not much like the alternative, which was more like a lounge bar anywhere, with leather chairs lined up in rows around small tables and much more expensive drinks. Hence, we went out to drink elsewhere from then on.
All in all, the Hotel de France was excellent value for money for our break, it was really very luxurious and we came back to London relaxed, refreshed and ready for our busy lifestyle again.
If you want a walk along a beautiful beach, go to St Ouen's. It's a surfing beach, immense and wild, and the surf shacks provide fabulous food.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a holiday, try not to get a room on the back of the hotel as it looks into a...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clearaschristal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,982)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de France
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,669 - 1,675 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June 2012. Initially had trouble picking between this and a couple of other 4* hotels in St Helier, but after reading some other reviews for this hotel thought I'd go for it.

The room was well sized with a good bathroom with a bath and shower and a separate toilet. Room was clean. There was a good hairdryer in the room, but no ironing facilities. Good space to unpack your clothes. Bathrobes were included.

In terms of location, for those who haven't been to Jersey before, it is about a 15/20 minute walk to the shops and bus station. It's good if you don't mind being active and want to be around the town. For those who want to be more hidden away then this might not be the hotel for you. To get public transport, which was both regular and well priced then it was best to walk into town. Also about the same distance to walk to Elizabeth castle and the harbour. Staff were very helpful and good for booking taxis etc. Oh and there is a shop selling essentials in the foyer, as the nearest corner shop is a good 10 minute walk away.

The breakfast was a good buffet style option. Full english was well cooked, there was a large selection of breads for toast and wide range of spreads and cereals. Mini croissants and pain au chocolates etc were available. There was also fresh fruit and lots of flavours of local yoghurt. Also available was a continental selection of meats and cheeses which I didn't try. Tea, coffee and juices were also plentiful with a good range of fruit juices. The orangery was a nice colourful airy room.

I have to say the spa was lovely. Obviously fairly new and with a good range of facilities. There was a steam and sauna room, a hot pool, plunge pool, massage pool with jacuzzi and swimming pool. Plenty of loungers were available inside and outside. There were loads of towels etc complimentary. The changing rooms were that of a nice gym, wooden lockers etc. Hair-dryers, cotton pads, swimwear bags and swimwear dryer all available. Good showers with complimentary shower gel/shampoo and body lotion. All of this came with the room and at no extra charge. I also had a treatment in the couples room which involved an ex-foliation, body massage and face/scalp massage. I have been to lots of places around the world for massages and I have to say that this was the best treatment I've had. The girls were lovely and couldn't be faulted and the rooms upstairs where I had my treatment were first class. Although the treatment was expensive it was wholly worth it. Do be prepared for the paper pants though, they are hilarious. I've had them before, but for the unprepared they might come as a bit of a shock. We had a good laugh at ourselves though.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights end of June 2012, Beautiful hotel, great location, really friendly staff, lovely food, rooms were very good, facilities excellent. The only downer was the miserable welsh lady we met in the lift on our last day who was complaining about everything, these are the people who put the bad reviews on! Overall a happy and memorable stay will definitely go back :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed at hotel de France for 3 nights in June. The spa is amazing and the masarges excellent well worth the money. I would also recommend the safrons resterant the food is amazing (just try it) the service is very good. Rooms nice and clean and loads of choice for breakfast. Would defenatley recomend this hotel to anyone going to jersey.


Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have been at the hotel since Friday morning and from the moment I arrived the staff, service, leisure facilities, foo, housekeeping have been outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

40 years ago my wife and I honeymooned on the island of Jersey. That time our taxi from the airport stopped at the Hotel de France for another drop and we promised a stay there in the future. Children flown the nest, mortgage paid etc. and we finally got around to it. Can only say that it has been worth waiting for in all these years.
Where to start? Cleanliness and hygene - my wife and I argued whether the bed linen was changed everyday or every other day! Whatever it was, such quality and attentiveness set the standard for the whole hotel. Faultless!
Food and drink. Excellent menus, food quality and staff. We only had one evening meal during the stay as we wanted to try more specialist fish restaurants in St Helier but what we had was excellent. Breakfasts were to a high standard with an extensive range of food available. Here is possibly the only negative. I did ask for porridge and eventually got what seemed like ready brek. Not an issue for my largely because it gave a new addition to the vocabulary of the waiting staff.
Leisure facilities to a very high standard and difficilt to be matched by many other hotels.
Any visitor to the hotel must realise that it is about a 20 minute walk from the centre of St Helier and the last few 50 or so metres on the return is up a steep incline. There is a courtesy bus service Monday to Saturday though.
Top notch hotel that is fantastically clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NodNodPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

First trip to Jersey, went for a weekend. Stayed here for 2 nights.

The hotel is massive, and could be in danger of losing itself, as some hotels of this size do, but the hotel retains an intimate and inviting atmosphere.

When we arrived we were allocated a double, which as sharing with a friend we needed a twin, the reception staff were very helpful and changed us immediately, just as well as the view from the first room awful (room 620....dont have it) we were immediately re-allocated a twin with a little terrace which was much nicer.

rooms are immaculate and well appointed.

The service is excellent, the food was good, and the breakfast variety was excellent.

This hotel really excels due to its spa, its huge and very well equipped. Spent hours here and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The hotel is probably a 10 minute walk to the town, but the hotel does offer some courtesy bus also.

Lots of hotels to choose from in St Helier, this is definately a good one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James4298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,090 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
1,546 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
760 reviews
0.9 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: St Saviours Road, St. Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#1 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $127 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 129 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing