We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENERGETIC STAFF - TIRED HOTEL”
Review of The Revere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Revere Hotel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Revere prides itself on old world charm. Unfortunately however, this could also be interpreted as being tired and out of date. In our room the wall paper was lifting and peeling; the woodwork was heavily marked and chipped and the basin chipped and cracked and lacking a plug. The shower which ran off the mixer tap had a mind and temperatures all its own, at one time freezing and the next scalding. We would also have preferred not to find previous occupants chewing gum stuck on the wall beside the bed!

Having said that the staff were always very attentive, cheerful and couldn't have been more helpful and the breakfast spread was extensive.

We understand that some rooms have been refurbished and as we were on a cheap deal with BA, it is perhaps not surprising that the standard of the room was below par.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you for your mixed review about our presentation and standards of housekeeping. Our apologies that you found your allocated bedroom and bathroom to be disappointing. Please be assured that we have investigated the points you have raised and the necessary steps have been taken to ensure that similar incidents do not occur in the future.
On a positve note I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our extensive breakfast and the general level of service was to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 974 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for three nights food excellent good value for money staff go out of there way to make you welcome alex very good in restaurant tony very good behind the bar got everyone talking to each other will definitely be going back

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valjim97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Very pleased to hear your positive and encouraging words about Alexandra and Tony. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Revere soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I Have been meaning to write a proper review since we stayed on Easter weekend! Despite it being Easter they managed to fit 10 of us in on a really reasonable rate. I am so glad I booked here as all my friends loved it.
In the run up I had lots of questions and a few changes (as you do in such a big group) two people couldn't come last minute but nothing was ever a problem for Nicky on reservations!
The staff were ALL lovely! On our first night we arrived just as the bar was closing but they got 2 bottles of wine out and some water for us so we could chat downstairs for a bit before going to bed. On the Saturday when we got in I was really hungry and the guy on reception got me some bread and cheese from the kitchen!
The breakfast was huge and everything was there, the staff continually asked us if we needed anything and checked we were done before closing the breakfast (which i've never had before) they were on hand providing unlimited coffee which was brilliant!
The rooms were clean and plenty big enough, with new towels, tea, toiletries etc every day.
Overall - I'd really recommend staying here to anyone! It's right on the edge of town and very near the bus station too which is really handy as the buses are very handy and easy to get around on.
Good one to all the staff - i've worked in tourism in jersey before and it takes a LOT of effort to be that nice all the time!! They deserve a good night out :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ccbsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Revere Hotel for your group Easter weekend break. So pleased to read your favourable comments about our service and standards which are shared and brought to the attention of dedicated and professional team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

A shabby chic hotel, in my opinion relates more to shabby than chic. Hotel would benefit from a deep clean and some repair and maintenance to some of their furniture and fittings. However, their staff and the customer service are second to none. In the restaurant you are made to feel special and totally catered for by Alexandra, Irinia and Flavia, they are the perfect ambassadors for this hotel. Food is excellent and dining and room service was wonderful. Hotel has a fantastic location and although parking is nearby, you constantly need to make sure you keep the tickets up to date. Overall, my last visit to Jersey was 50 years ago and although some attractions no longer there, it is still a lovely place to visit.

Room Tip: Any room at front of hotel experiences noise from street below. However, perhaps if the double glaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank for your mixed comments to the presentation, maintenance and cleanliness of the hotel. Our dedicated housekeeping and maintenance team strive to achieve the high standards for which we are known and I regret we failed to live up to expectations on this occasion.
On a positive note I am pleased to hear you found the restaurant experience and service provided by Alexandra and her team to be most enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

What a wonderful experience- My first impressions were wow!The Revere is a beautiful hotel warm and friendly the staff make you feel so welcome are very helpful and polite and I would not hesitate to stay again.Excellent food and facilities.Great location less than 4 walk minutes to Esplanade and only 5 minutes from shopping centre. Would definitely stay here again and recommended it . Beautiful private outdoor pool and sun terrace to relax and chill.

Room Tip: only over three floors so all rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you for the very positive comments about your recent visit to the Revere. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service form our team, the food, facilities and our central location.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Where do I start with the praise for this hotel. I chose it because it looked "oldy worldy" and perhaps a bit special and I was not dissapointed. The staff were excellent , nothing was too much trouble and they were always cheerful. Our room was amazing, with four poster bed and complimentary champagne as it was our 25th Anniversary. We only ate breakfast but the choice was extensive and the staff only too happy to accomodate your requirements.Only 2 minutes walk from the seafront and 5-10 minutes from the town and more importantly the bus station , it is perfectly placed. We will definately return to Jersey in the future and this is the place we will stay, hopefully we will get to use the pool next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Revere Hotel for your 25th Wedding Anniversary. Very pleased to hear that you found the hotel be an ideal choice for your special occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, hopefully when the weather is warm and you can use the swimming pool !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Its been over 35 years since I visited Jersey prior to this month. So picking the Revere hotel was a shot in the dark. But what a fabulous choice. The hotel is a little old worldly with comfortable rooms. But what is exceptional is the service, I have never been so well looked after before in any country.
the food in the Camdlelight restaurant is excellent. we were half board with plenty of choice and excellent quality from comprehensive buffet breakfast to gourmet evening meals. with the most attentive service from Alex, Irinia & Flavia. you could not wish for better. Thank you ladies.
In the hotel itself everyone was helpful. And a wonderful relaxing atmosphere was maintained in the bar by Tonis.
It was a great visit and my wife and i will be going again soon.
Alan Crickett

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 633Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel team, bedrooms & Candlelight Restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon when you can be assured of the same high standards and attention to detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
2,153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,710 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 32 in St. Helier
1,205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Revere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Revere Hotel

Address: Kensington Place, St. Helier JE2 3PA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $69 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Revere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching house and family owned, the Revere Hotel is St Helier's most authentic and charming boutique hotel with decor that is rich in olde worlde ambience and character. The team at the Revere is focused on affording a sincere warm and welcoming service that has distinguished the organisation through the years. The Revere is situated in close proximity to the town centre, the financial district, the marina and the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Revere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Revere Hotel St Helier
Revere St Helier
The Revere Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing