We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem!”
Review of The Revere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Revere Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2008

Have just returned from a 4 night break at The Revere. Lovely little place. Old, quaint and cosy. A welcome break from the rest of St Helier, which is being invaded by concrete and steel.

We had a room on the top floor overlooking the street, not a brilliant view, but then we weren't expecting one so close to the town centre. Comfortable, clean, with a modern spacious bathroom. There was a wide, flat screened T.V. The tea, coffee and hot chocolate supply was replenished every day. The only fault with the room was the noisy radiator which we switched off, as the room was like an oven anyway.

The hotel has 3 restaurants, one of which we dined in twice. It was 'Tennerfest', which is an island-wide food festival. Most hotels and restaurants participate and offer reduced price menus. We had 3 courses followed by coffee and mints, plus a reasonable bottle of wine. The bill for 2 of us was £43.50 - great value, great food.

There are plenty of other eateries within the same street, if you don't want to venture too far in bad weather. The beach with a super view of Elizabeth Castle (especially at night) is at the end of the road, as is the start of a lovely walk in to St Aubins. The town centre is just a short walk in the other direction.

I'm not sure that I'd return to St. Helier, but our stay at The Revere made up for the disapointment of the town.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suebishbosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 994 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2008

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Revere. The weather wasn't good but I cannot recommend the hotel too highly. The staff were polite and helpful and the room was spacious (flat screen tv too) and nicely furnished. The food was great . We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank freyaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

We have just returned from a non-too impressive three-day stay at the Revere. Having read other visitors comments, it would seem that to some extent it might depend on what room you are given as to how you view your experience. There are many complaints about noise from outside the hotel – we heard none, but we did suffer the creaking floorboards from the room above. Overall the hotel has an air of ‘genteel decay’ – it was probably the bee’s knees in 1970! Our room was in serious need of a redec, as was much of the hotel. Dirty carpet, chipped & grimy paintwork, leaking washbasin, lights that didn’t work. Food was OK, staff varied from surly to very pleasant. There were a couple of very competent musicians keeping the evening bar area lively.
There was a ‘Could we do better’ guest comment form in the room – I didn’t bother to fill it in as it’s pretty obvious, since comments like these have been on the go for at least four years, that they don’t take any notice. Past it’s sell by date – a place to be avoided.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travellingman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Very disappointing; starting with the fact that when I called I was told that we did not have a booking ... after 2 phone calls and 10 minutes of checking my booking was found with an incorrect spelling.

Our room was on the first floor and was reasonable at best, basic but clean.

After a very busy work week we decided to ‘hit the hay’ early but after the piano from the downstairs piano bar stopped a nightclub (not in the hotel but presumably close) rattled our room until the early hours.

At 8am we were woken by an alarm call we didn't order, then just as we got back to sleep we were woken again at 9am to the sound of the vacuum cleaner outside our room.

As sleep was not an option we went down for breakfast, greeted by unfriendly staff and a very below average buffet selection.

Although the price was not horrendously expensive I am sure that it is possible to find alternatives with more charm / better staff ... and more tranquility in St Helier or elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Revere, the hotel position was quite good, not too far to walk for the centre of St Helier or to the beach.
We had a room on the top floor which looked out onto the street and found there to be a lot of early morning noise.
The room itself was a bit on the small side and the decoration a bit jaded. The worst thing was that the walls were so thin and you could quite clearly hear everything that was going on everywhere.
The stairs which lead up to the rooms are quite narrow and steep and there is no lift.
The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble, in the "chandeliers" restaurant there is a grand piano and on Friday and Saturday 'George' tinkled the ivory's during the evening assisted by one of the waitresses who had a great voice.
The food in the restaurant was OK but there is also a good selection of eateries within 50m.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirkyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We had stayed at the Revere on 3 previous occasions and had thoroughly enjoyed our stays. Now we were going to be married - but where ?

Prices in the UK were very high, and with questionable quality and service levels, after having popped the question, it only remained to arrange a venue. There was only one place that ticked all my boxes - Jersey.

A hastily arranged trip in September 2007, an appointment with the Hotel Manager, discussions over timings , menu, cake, flowers, drinks and finally accomodation for the two of us and our families, meant we had something to work on and plan.

I could post a huge message about the service we received, but let me abbreviate it by merely stating that the day was perfect, staff were unbelievably efficient and helpful, Dorans Restaurant and chefs provided a magnificent wedding breakfast, with staff who were genuinely pleased and happy for us on the day.

Both families, some 22 of us, had a fabulous time, with some staying on after we had returned to the UK to prepare for honeymoon.

Belated thanks should go to Christelle for her patience with arranging what seemed like ever changing accomodation requirements, Fanny for being so calm and for coming to see us on her day off and Violette for, well, everything on the day. She was brilliant ! The others, too many to mention, were all excellent.

How do I finish this ? As I remarked to my wife, if I were to get married again, it would definitely be at the Revere. Her reply - unprintable !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bar_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

I was really looking forward to 5 nights in the Revere after reading the reviews, but wonder whether we were in the same hotel!

The hotel is located on a seedy backstreet off the esplandade, opposite apartments for the homeless. To walk into town you go through a run down area and past the General hospital.

The reception area is quaint - heavy antique furniture and an eclectic mix of fabrics and styles in the various areas off reception and the bar. Our room (47) was.....unusual. The layout was great - me and him had a double bed in the room, which led to a second room for daughter. Bathroom and toilet divided the two rooms. The decor in the room was surreal - imagine seedy bordello bed linen and chairs meets rose chintz curtains and pictures. There were damp patches on the walls, patches of wallpaper torn off, most of the drawer handles and towel rails were loose, the tap dipped, the paint was peeling off the skirtings, etc, etc. The view from the room was of the kitchen extractor fan. As the room was over the kitchen exit every night was noisy with staff talking loudly when they went home and bottles being tipped into the bins. And in the morning the staff arrived early and again woke us up.

The staff were OK, but we felt very unwelcome at breakfast the first morning - service was from 7.30 to 9.30, and we arrived at about 9.10. By 9.25 all the other tables had been cleared and set for lunch, and the staff were prowling round waiting for us to finish.

We didn't eat in the hotel, but ate several times at Casa Mia over the road which was very good.

Overall? Room cost £170 per night for the room, b&b. For this I expected more - it was a 3* but was rather tatty and run down. Wouldn't go back, although the hotel was very individual in character and some people may overlook the shabbiness in favour of this individuality.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nildesperanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St. Helier
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 31 in St. Helier
862 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#20 of 31 in St. Helier
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Revere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Revere Hotel

Address: Kensington Place, St. Helier JE2 3PA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $64 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Revere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching house and family owned, the Revere Hotel is St Helier's most authentic and charming boutique hotel with decor that is rich in olde worlde ambience and character. The team at the Revere is focused on affording a sincere warm and welcoming service that has distinguished the organisation through the years. The Revere is situated in close proximity to the town centre, the financial district, the marina and the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Revere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Revere Hotel St Helier
Revere St Helier
The Revere Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing