We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best value for money hotel in Jersey!”
Review of The Revere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Revere Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Revere Hotel.
My wife and son stayed here in Feb 2007 and came back with rave reviews, so we went back this year.
Their reviews were absolutely spot on!
This hotel is most probably the best hotel for the room rate in Jersey.
It is a quaint, family run hotel just of the Esplanade in St. Helier.
Superb location for getting around both St Helier, by foot, or the rest of the island - we used both bicycles and a car, both of which the hotel staff arranged.
The hotel has 2 restaurants attached - for both of which I recommend making a reservation, as they were fully booked every night. The standard of the food is absolutely excellent!
The staff were totally customer focussed and could not do enough to help. We have already recommended this hotel to our friends whilst we were there, and will definitely stay here again when we return to Jersey. Great hotel!

Stayed: March 2008
4  Thank PhilDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 970 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2008

Absolutely loved our 10 day stay in the hotel. We were on the top floor (room 44, which was a 4-poster room). Spacious room, brand new bathroom (very nice!), lots of space and great view. We had no problems with noise at all, and if the room was too hot or too cold, it was really easy to adjust, either by opening window or by turning radiator up.

Breakfast each day was fab, great choice and we loved the restaurant. We ate in the Candlelight Restaurant several times. Great food but the best thing was how friendly and funny the staff were in the restaurant. They remembered us at breakfast and joked with us - made our trip even better.

The beach was incredibly close, and the town was a pleasant 5-10 minute walk. Good central location for travelling (we cycled) to other places on the island.

Only drawback was that there was no lift and we had several flights of stairs up to our room every day. The porter carried our bags up the first day, but it was quite a hike after that.

Final great thing about the hotel, was the strong wi-fi signal we got in our room.

Stay was brilliant overall - friendly staff, good food, nice room, friendly cleaners, good room service, good internet access, nice view, excellent location. We really hope to stay again this summer!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank savlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

I stayed at The Revere for 3 nights, last week end.
the first impression was great...you walk in and you feel like you step back in time. The ambient and the decorations are amazing. Our room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Bed very comfy and plenty of storage place. Big bathroom, with everything you need: towels, soap, bath foam and shampoo. In the room we had plenty of complementary drinks. And a massive tv.
The hotel is more less 300 mt from the beach and even closer to the centre of St Helier. It's a restaurant and Bar as well, but I can't comment on the food because it was a bit too expensive for us. You'll have breakfast in the restaurant, and you will see how beautiful it is. Breakfast was unbelievably good: full english plus yogurt, cereals (plenty of choice), milk, fruit juices, fruit (fresh and dry), croissants and toast. yummy!! the bar is great as well, sitting in front of the open fire. They have live music on friday (we got piano+saxophone!!! great) and sometimes medieval party.
The only downside is that the hotel is very close to a night club. We had a room facing the main road, so the noise in the night was quite disturbing (especially saturday and friday), but I stuck some toilet paper in my ears and slept like a baby. it's better if you ask for a room on the back, high floor (parties going on into the hotel). But overall, it's been great! Oh, they have a swimming pool as well.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ellie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Hotel is quaint and the food and service are good.

However, I would not recommend staying over the Christmas period, as we never had one decent night's sleep, due to the noise level on the street below. Apparently the building opposite houses the homeless who kept us awake every night of our four night stay until 5.00 a.m. when they seemed to vacate the building very noisily.

Our room was small and clean but there was no bath only a shower which was not very powerful. We booked the Christmas package but I think we were unlucky, as another couple I spoke to had a very spacious room which had both bath and shower, which seems a little unfair, as we paid the same amount of money.

My partner and I are both smokers and this being our second trip to Jersey, fully expected the hotel to have their act together regarding catering for smokers, i.e. a weatherproof area with heating for inclement weather. Unfortunately, this was not the case. There was no undercover area, apart from the front entrance canopy. On Christmas Day it threw it down with rain and I had to stand outside, My partner refused to do this.

As I had booked this hotel for his birthday, (Boxing Day) we sat in the open air designated smoking area. My partner enjoys the occasional cigar. This area consisted of a ricketty table and four chairs with a light and heater on a timer. We were somewhat disconcerted by an irate "lady" who complained that we were talking outside her bedroom and keeping her awake by the light going on and off and the door opening. The said door was opened by a member of staff who was serving coffee to ours (the only table). Hardly our fault that the management gives a room backing on to a very small courtyard and even the reception staff commented later that we were not making any noise.

To conclude, we would not stay at this hotel again unless some changes were implemented, On the plus side, the staff, service and food were all very good.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank lulurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

We stayed at this hotel whilst on a four day break to Jersey in Nov 2007.
Overall the experience was good. Comfortable room which was well appointed. Not big but not tiny by any means.Bathroom with shower/bath was fine.
Breakfast was fine, self service providing the usual fruits, cereals, breads and traditional english breakfast fayre.
The hotel is handily placed about 10 minutes walk to the town centre. Plenty of good quality restaurants within a 15 minute walk. Beware Sundays in winter however (many restaurants are closed). No car park but the hotel is adjacent to the multi storey car park which is free at night (5-8).
Other contributors have raised a question about noise from a disco in the hotel on a Saturday. A disco was held on the Saturday we were there but we were warned by reception and to be fair (and our room was above the dance room) the noise was absolutely minimal and no problem.
We didn't eat in (evening meal) at the hotel retaurant as we prefer to sample local restaurants.
Overall, considering the price we paid, we were VERY happy with this hotel and with Jersey in general.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine-Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

The Revere is a great hotel. friendly staff, brilliant location and hotel has great decor.

If you like your hotels to have a modern look it may not be for you but if you like hotels with character it's for you.

Our rooms were a nice size, clean and had a comfy bed.

TV in room, kettle - coffee and tea supplied and hairdryer.

Breakfast was great and the bar area was fab.

If you like beer (real ales) you must try The Lamplighter No. 9 Mulcaster Street not too far away from the bus station and tourist info office. I hear the food is also good here but when we were there the kitchen was having a refurb I think as they were only serving sandwiches.

The Bridge is another nice pub.

Pizza Express is a must in St Brelades Bay - don't let the name put you off.. OK they serve Pizza but it is a fab restaurant that overlooks the bay.

Another great pub for food is The Smugglers Inn St Ouaisne Bay [--]

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fruitbat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

Spent the night here in november and it was perfect. beautiful oldy worldy feel and fantastic dinner in the candlelight resturant. Rooms a good size with a big TV. will definately be coming back again. fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JerseyCatriona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
2,132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,704 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 32 in St. Helier
1,203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Revere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Revere Hotel

Address: Kensington Place, St. Helier JE2 3PA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $69 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Revere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching house and family owned, the Revere Hotel is St Helier's most authentic and charming boutique hotel with decor that is rich in olde worlde ambience and character. The team at the Revere is focused on affording a sincere warm and welcoming service that has distinguished the organisation through the years. The Revere is situated in close proximity to the town centre, the financial district, the marina and the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Revere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Revere Hotel St Helier
Revere St Helier
The Revere Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing