We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STAYED HERE 9 TIMES” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Revere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Revere Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“STAYED HERE 9 TIMES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

I think you might guess we love this place as we have stayed here over the years 9 times. We have also gone for Christmas lunch, boxing day lunch, birthdays, valentines and lots of other family occassions when we are in Jersey.
It has changed a little over the last 3 years, with new management, and we miss the funny old fashioned ways, but we still love it.
Had a meal here at Christmas, and stayed last year (2010) and it just has the most perfect old world atmosphere as soon as you walk in.
In winter the roaring log fire and comfy sofas are wonderful, and the staff are always lovely.
There are lots of little hidden nooks and crannies to sit and hide in.
We like the new buffet breakfast, the old way was nice, but at least now if you are gluttons like as you can help yourself and pile your plate. As my dear old mum would say ''how common'' !!
if you want to step back in time, have a sumptuous room, plush furnishings and a great choice of food, this is the nicest quaintest old place in Jersey.
Christmas is the best !

Room Tip: Go in winter and soak up the olde worlde atmosphere and log fires.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Teddybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    334
    84
    32
    15
See reviews for
111
515
51
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

The hotel is quite nice & staff very friendly. Its near to the beach/sea & several nice restaurants. Its own "the candlelight" restaurant was a little dissapointing being a bit too pricey for its Valentines menu with quite small portions. They were also serving the day befores bacon & sausages @ breakfast re-reheated. I complained & received apologies & fresh options the following day. Overall the restaurant took the shine off quite a nice mini break

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austin_fears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We had a weekend stay here. Food was very good and plenty of it. Weather was pleasant considering it was november

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shonagh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days for my husband's 60th birthday in January and had a lovely time. Our room was comfortable and spacious. The log fire in the bar area was a big plus and we enjoyed our drinks from the bar whilst toasting our toes. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were very good with a large selection to choose from. We ate at the Courtyard restaurant on a few occasions and had very good meals in this wonderfully atmospheric eatery. We also ate at the Candlelight restaurant on our last night there and could not fault anything. The meal was delicious and to be commended. The hotel is situated quite close to the centre of St Helier and is a pleasant stroll from the marina too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

This hotel is very conveniently situated for the centre of St Helier. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice of dishes. Though not a problem for me, there was no lift. However there was always a porter available to take luggage up and downstairs. As it was near Christmas when I stayed there, it was nicely decorated. The en-suite bathroom was very up-to-date and spotlessly clean. I would certainly go back there as It was reasonably priced, too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed at the Revere for 5 days in August. It is simply a wonderful place to stay...it's warm, friendly, atmospheric and the staff are fantastic. The room was very comfortable, with great beds and a nice bathroom which had a bath and a very good shower. The well-stocked tea tray had plenty of hot chocolate...my favourite! And tea and coffee as well. I was pleased to see that the beds had a top sheet as well as a duvet as it was very hot when I stayed and I could throw the duvet off. Other hotels please take note! The wi-fi was excellent...I used it A LOT, and it always worked. And unlike a previous reviewer, I was able to close the window despite the vines. My room (Room 7) was at the front of the hotel but it wasn't particularly noisy with the windows closed. I should imagine the rooms at the back would be quieter, though.

I ate in both the Candlelight restaurant and Doran's and they were both excellent. The staff were very friendly too.

The location is fantastic...in the town centre near the shops, etc.

If you are looking for a modern hotel with long, brightly-lit, characterless corridors then the Revere is not for you. It is a very old, rabbit-warren type of building with loads of character and charm. I loved it and I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coralie_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Thank you very much for the review you posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Revere Hotel.

It is very pleasing to receive such nice comments and we will make sure we pass this on to all of our staff menbers.

All guest reviews are very much appreciated.

Yours sincerely
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a hodge podge of merged smaller hotels (or houses?) and the rooms are of varying ages, some look like they haven't been updated in quite some time and have a variety of mismatched furniture in. There is a general feel of going back in history and they try to play to that but really I think it's just a lack of renovation.

There wasn't enough hot water for two people to have a shower (despite the room sleeping 3). When we ran a bath the cold water had black particles in it. Rooms were unreasonably hot. Wifi almost never worked. The bed was listing and you felt like you were slowly rolling out during the night. Sheets were not changed daily but were changed on request.

Odd light bulbs were out each time I visited - in different rooms, not a big deal but not ideal. Windows couldn't be closed due to vines growing, was obviously keen with the pigeons too as there were anti pigeon spikes covering the window ledge.

There were dangerous split floor levels, watch your step! Our room had a door ajoining to a room next door and you could see between the rooms through the keyhole. The hotel definately has an odd layout in places.

The food was edible but I wouldn't eat there again. There is talk of multiple restaurants ("Dorians", "Candlelight" etc) but in actuality I think there was just a single kitchen as even when Dorians was closed the kitchen in the courtyard was running. The kitchen was in a single storey building in the courtyard and just outside our window. They propped open the door (presumably because of heat) so we got to hear them clattering and had the smell of burned toast every morning. There are much better restaurants in the same street - try the Italian on the other side of the road and towards the beach. Breakfast was uninspiring with undrinkable tea. It was hard to get a croissant or other pastries as they only put a minimum amount out at breakfast. We asked multiple days and were told "another guest must have eaten more than one hence there being none left".

The bathrooms have obviously been done recently and could be nice except for the hot water problem, also the towel rail had electrical tape keeping it together which wasn't too comforting.

Room service was limited by the amount of choice (if you are vegetarian you can have a cheese sandwich, that's it) and also hours it was available.

The tea and coffee making tray was on a chest (which when we opened it was full of dusty old fans, we thought it might have towels or bedding) rather than the table which meant we had to stoop to make tea. There was no fridge in case you were expecting one.

It does have a good location as long as you can ignore the noisy hostel nearby and don't get a room next to the noisy street.

Room Tip: Avoid the street due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EthanAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Revere Hotel.
We have no intension of disputing the version of events you outlined; we do not believe that benefits either party. However we would like to respectfully make a few comments of our own:

The hotel refurbishes several rooms every year. The so-called mismatched furniture is subject to individual expression and characterise the charm of this hotel.
We do have some problems with the water pressure. However the management is informed and we are expecting that the issue will be resolved this week.
Please be aware that due to the age of the building, if everyone is having a shower/bath at the same time, the hot water might take a few seconds longer.

The wifi is a complimentary service which the hotel offers. The reception computers do not work off wifi, therefore we only get to know problems if guests advise us of them. If we have any queries about the Wifi we will contact our provider straight away in order to solve problems.

The rooms are cleaned every day, the linen will be changed every second day.

Unfortunately we do not have the ability to foresee when a light bulb burns out. Our Porters and Housekeeping team checks the bulbs on a daily basis.

The Revere Hotel is a town centre hotel and Jersey is well known for a high number of pigeons. However under animal protection law no poison may be used to kill them. In order to reduce the number of pigeons on the hotel site, anti pigeon spikes have been placed on the window ledges of the rooms.
In none of the rooms are you to see other rooms through the keyhole as you described in your message. If you look through the keyhole of the mentioned room you will see the door to another room, which is also locked, and not the interior of the other room.

The Revere Group hosts 2 restaurants, the Candlelight Restaurant and Doran’s Courtyard Bistro. Both restaurants have their own kitchens and staff. Different types of food are served in both restaurants. Doran’s Bistro is open only in the evenings; therefore the smell of toast in the morning cannot possibly come from Doran’s Bistro.

The tea we serve at the hotel is from Twinings, which is a well known British tea company. We do offer all sorts of tea flavours in the restaurant for breakfast. If a customer is not happy with the served tea, we are able to offer a different tea from our wide range of flavours.

Croissants are an addition to the breakfast. Full English Breakfast doesn’t include Croissants, therefore to offer them is a plus from our side. Unfortunately we cannot ask guests to take only 1 croissant each and if all the prepared croissants have been taken there is nothing we can do about it. We always calculate the number of croissants based on the breakfast occupancy.

Our Room Service Menu offers a limited amount of hot dishes during a specific time. Other (vegetarian) dishes are on a request basis and we always try our best to satisfy each customer.

We do not advertise having fridges in the rooms. For your own information fridges in guest rooms are not standard in 3 star hotels.

The picture of the men’s toilet is not accurate. It would have been helpful if you had included the hand dryer and the paper towels which are on the right hand side of the door.
The toilets are cleaned every morning and they are checked during the day. However we do not have a person employed to sit near the toilet and check it after each use. Therefore we have no control over a guest who uses the toilet paper to dry his hands.

In order to solve issues on the spot, we appreciate if guests contact the reception during their stay. If we haven’t been informed of problems it is very difficult to solve them. In this case we were not informed and were surprised by this review. We found this review very aggressive and judgemental, especially as the hotel was not notified or given the opportunity to resolve any problems.
We do appreciate if guests post their reviews, as we always try our best to offer the best possible service to our guests. We take any comment seriously in order to improve any lack of satisfaction.

Once again we thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.

Yours sincerely

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Revere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Revere Hotel

Property: The Revere Hotel
Address: Kensington Place, St. Helier JE2 3PA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Revere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching house and family owned, the Revere Hotel is St Helier's most authentic and charming boutique hotel with decor that is rich in olde worlde ambience and character. The team at the Revere is focused on affording a sincere warm and welcoming service that has distinguished the organisation through the years. The Revere is situated in close proximity to the town centre, the financial district, the marina and the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Revere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Revere Hotel St Helier
Revere St Helier
The Revere Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing