We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite an experience”
Review of Thai Dicq Shack

Thai Dicq Shack
Ranked #41 of 228 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Description: The first and still the firm favourite after 13 years of authentic Thai food . The one and only feet in the sand cafe , directly on the beach .Grab a table bring a bottle or two and you could be on that dreamed of holiday in Thailand .
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quite an experience”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were lucky enough to get seats at a table, literally at the water's edge as the tide was in, good job we had flip flops on! We'd bought a few Singha beers and some wine at the corner shop, together with plastic cups. There was a long wait to order food from the shack and it's absolute bedlam...about 12 people in the kitchen all shouting over the Thai pop music being pumped out. You can't hear that at the tables though. We had another long wait for our food to arrive, but it was most certainly worth it. Totally delicious food in a beautiful relaxed setting with a great amosphere. What more could you want! Would definitely go back if I return to Jersey

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wightrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    64
    15
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely Incredible”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Stunning setting and the best Thai food we have had outside of Thailand, BYO is a bonus too. Couldn't recommend it enough...

Helpful?
1 Thank Bambi_Jago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and fantastic setting”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This place is mega.. Fantastic food at this place, whilst in a great location. You can bring your own booze if you want, a great place to spend your evening. Definitely worth the little bit extra you might normally pay. 11/10

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The waiter (due to his very poor english) misunderstood our order and therefore brought us something completely different which we had to pay for. He then blamed his fault on us and argued that we ordered this, when in fact i didnt even know this dish was on the menu. He had an argument with us saying he cannot exchange it. Our cutlery was dirty and had dried bits of food on it. Afterwards when consulting the manager we were told that an apology is all he could offer. The food was fine, however it was overpriced, especially with the poor service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank badman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thai on the beach with bubbles”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The name says it all. It's a shack on the beach that servers Thai food. It's BYO, so we brought bottles of Prosecco and had a marvellous afternoon in the sun with friends.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank American_in_LON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Dicq Shack also viewed

 

Been to Thai Dicq Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing