We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bar & Canteen

The Bar & Canteen
Ranked #94 of 222 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tel: 00 44 1534 789431
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Would return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice place to go as a family for a meal or drinks outside.Quite a busy restaurant good menu at a reasonable price for Jersey!We sat in front of the window which have low soft seating which is a bit strange when eating food apart from that could not fault the food it was very nice.Staff and manager very helpfull and friendly would return when back in Jersey.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank helen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    60
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North East UK
Level Contributor
165 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Won't Be Returning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We visit Jersey frequently in the summer as we have family here. As we had a rainy day, we watched a film at the cinema with our two kids, and had lunch here at The Bar & Canteen.

We had booked, and were shown to what appeared to be a lounge area with very low seats and tables...clearly designed for relaxing with a drink. To be told this was where I was expected to eat a meal was ridiculous, and we politely asked if we could move into the main restaurant area to eat. You would think I had asked the waiter something outrageous judging by the expression of pain on his face! Maybe they think that families like to sit in that more informal area, as there were quite a few, but we don't allow our kids to run around in restaurants and expect them to sit at the table like human beings.

Once settled, and drinks were ordered via the bored waiter, we asked if the restaurant could alter a particular meal for our son. Again, you would think we had asked him something outlandish, and it was met with sighing and eye rolling. If we hadn't been hungry and pushed for time, I would have walked out at this point. Why should I hand over my hard earned cash to pay this guys wages? Grrrrrr!

We stayed, the food arrived via a different member of staff - and what a difference! She was lovely and friendly and couldn't do enough for us :-)

Food-wise, the menu was basic gastro style food I suppose, but it was well cooked, good portion sizes and reasonably priced. We all enjoyed it, but it was nothing special.

Would I return? No. I found the lounge seating area a bizarre place to attempt to serve food, and then the main restaurant was also uncomfortable....the wooden seats were ramrod straight, hard and just unpleasant to sit on. There was no ambience to speak of, and with the snappy, bored waiter spoiling things, there are plenty of other places we can go to. It's a pity, as it's a great location and we aren't keen on eating in the other 'restaurants' around there when we go to the cinema (KFC and Pizza Hut) but I get the impression that I was 'supposed' to be in those other places with my kids, and that they prefer the young professionals in The Bar & Canteen!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pidge_Pooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Good staff, location and did I mention the ribs?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

A good place for just a drink, a meal or both.

Menu has a lot of choice and the rest you need to know is in the title above!

On a sunny day there is a large balcony upstairs and also room outside on the ground floor, prices very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Gurnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, null, Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant/bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

nice restaurant/ bar to go once in a while... especially nice when the weather is nice and hot as its got outside areas.. big portions

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Big menu - something for everyone, nice staff, good prices
clean and comfortable
would recommend for a quick lunch or supper

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whereshalligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bar & Canteen also viewed

 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to The Bar & Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing