We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where did the 'wow' go?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mandarin Room

The Mandarin Room
Ranked #91 of 221 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Where did the 'wow' go?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went to this restaurant because of a excellent reviews. They were very busy and had a large party in. Perhaps as a result of this the service seemed quite slow.
We have been to many Chinese restaurants in several countries and found the food here to be very much run of the mill. We have had many better meals elsewhere. Having said that it was not particularly expensive although it did seem we were almost encouraged to order more than we could possibly eat. We had no complaints about the food but would not go out of our way to eat there again

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    58
    7
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wow wow and a extra portion of wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Booked here after a recomendation and we were not disappointed.
The choice of food was vast but the menu was not too big.
We chose a few starters and mains. All tasted fab, infact 2 meals we too much but it was supper tasty.
We were offered to take the rest away but were unable to as only on holiday.
Highly recommend here as the atmosphere was good and the service and food all top notch

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very friendly service and great food. The double cooked pork and the tempura vegetables were excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NealH200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived without booking a table after a very busy day. They fitted us in without any trouble at all (probably very lucky on that point as they are very busy).
The staff were very efficient and friendly allowing plenty of time to settle in before ordering food and drinks.
The prices were good and the service and quality of the food was excellent.
All in all a very enjoyable meal at the Mandarin Room.
Highly Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“food great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

this restaurent was great lovely food fast and friendley service would recomend would go again some day only wished we found it earlier

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mickymouse2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mandarin Room also viewed

St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Aubin, St. Brelade
 

Been to The Mandarin Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing