We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Savoy Jersey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Savoy Jersey
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Really nice boutique hotel. Stylish decor, attentive service. Not right on the sea front but not far and by far the best value for money. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: lovely swimming pool area - take swimming costume.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poshjwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    381
    120
    28
    13
See reviews for
153
607
29
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

My Husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. Arrived a lot earlier than check in, due to early flight. Staff were very welcoming and were more than happy to store our luggage until we checked in, later in the day. After hearing the comments from other reviews, we were a little concerned about the noise from near by police/fire and ambulance stations, however our room was at the back and didn't hear anything the whole time we were there. There was a party on the Saturday of our stay which they informed us about. We went out for the evening and arrived back after the party had finished and heard nothing. My only critisism is that they took the deposit twice (booked via booking.com) and when my husband ordered the vegetarian option at breakfast each morning they only got it correct twice. On the first 2 mornings his plate came with bacon and sausage! We did point this out to them and they apologised and came out with another breakfast minus the meat. On the last morning the breakfast came without any eggs!
All in all though a great location and we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotsstill2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

On arriving we found the hotel to be clean, tidy and with friendly and helpful staff. Our room was nice and it was a pleasant surprise to find a bath (especially given how cold January was!). The dining room was beautiful and our breakfasts were lovely with a traditional buffet but all hot food prepared to order - a much nicer way to enjoy breakfast!
Ideal location for wondering into the town although I would recommend hiring a car as there are so many places to visit in jersey not easily accessed by public transport.
The only minor downside was that the hotel was carrying out some renovations, however it was off peak season and the builders/decorators were always polite and keen not to disturb.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcgrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyBusinessTeam, Business and Sales Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Hcpotter,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Savoy Jersey, it is greatly appreciated and we were very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It was rather unfortunate that you were here during the time of our maintenance but I am glad that the team tried to work at times that would not disturb your stay too much.

We would also like to thank you for your comments on our breakfast menu as we are very proud of it and so will be passing this on to the chef!

Hopefully we can welcome you again in warmer climates as January was particularly cold this year.

Best wishes
Karen Looker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Tip for future guests- if they check you into room 30 or 39, decline! These rooms are located above reception and off the main entrance stairwell. The worst nights sleep I've ever had. The cleaners hoovering at 8am, the parties of guests checking out at 7:30am shouting and cheering, or the general chatter of guests returning after a night out are all enough to wake you up and drive you mad. If it weren't a full hotel I'd have expected another room, and if indeed it wasn't full, then I'm angry that theyd even consider putting guests in these noise boxes.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wadzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyBusinessTeam, Business and Sales Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Dear Adam,

Thank you for your review and taking the time out to give us your feedback.

First of all please let me offer our apologies that your stay was clearly affected due to noise and I am confident that reception would of tried their very best to relocate you had they been made aware of the issue.
We have had a very busy few weeks with the hotel at full capacity on several occasions but will use your comments to ensure that we can test the sound levels in these rooms and find an appropriate solution.

Should you return to Jersey in the future then we would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back and will ensure that every effort is made to give you a comfortable and relaxed stay.

Kindest regards
Karen Looker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Well, what can we say! My wife and I finally found time to get away for a few days following our wedding in late February. Took the 'Lastminute.com' route, and plumped for 3 nights at the Savoy. While we were working to a budget, we couldnt quite grasp the quality of what we had stumbled upon. Very tasteful decor, attentive and helpful staff, and a lovely buzz about the place. The room while basic, was clean and well presented, as were all of the public areas.
What we were not quite prepared for was the quality of the food in the restaurant. Quite simply it was stunning. £24 for 3 courses of sheer excellence, the like of which I had never eaten before.
We will return!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HamiltonBrownJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyBusinessTeam, Business and Sales Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Savoy Jersey.

We greatly appreciate any feedback as it helps us to grow as a business and improve guest satisfaction. We were particularly pleased to see that we became part of such a special occasion.

Hopefully you will get the opportunity to take another break in the not too distant future and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Karen Looker
Business and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

The Savoy has a professional atmosphere dedicated to to their clients - a friendly atmosphere and no quibles about sorting anything you need.

I stay there regularly on business (approx several days per month) and I would and probanly will do so privately. The rooms are excellent, there is the swimming pool, bar resturant and guest lounge, and wi-fi througthout - essential on business.

From a business perspective it is ideal - situated only a short walk into the cente of St Helier, but it also has a good size car park if you need to travel further afield.

There are many other good hotels in St Helier but the balance of excellent room rates, the atmosphere and service will always draw me to the Savoy.

And the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyTelfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyBusinessTeam, Business and Sales Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your review of The Savoy Jersey.

Feedback is absolutely key to keeping up good standards of service and we appreciate it when guests take the time to post their comments.

We appreciate that you choose this hotel because of the servie and value for money and will pass on your comments to staff to ensure that this is continued.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit and hope that you can enjoy a holiday to Jersey in the future as well as the business trips.

Kind regards

Karen Looker
Business and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Great short break in the depths of horrible winter, though hotel was in midst of minor refurb there was no serious disruption. All in all much enjoyed so much so we have changed accommodation plans for Jersey this June and will use Savoy again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mychal1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyBusinessTeam, Business and Sales Manager at The Savoy Jersey, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Mychal,

Thank you for your recent review of The Savoy Jersey.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you experiencing the now completed pool area and whirlpool in our Courtyard. Thankfully the works did not impact too greatly on your stay and we think you will be happy with the results during your visit in June.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave comments about the service and overall experience as this is vital to the hotel's development.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Karen Looker
Business and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.4 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Jersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Jersey

Property: The Savoy Jersey
Address: Rouge Bouillon, St. Helier JE2 3ZA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#5 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#5 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#6 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Savoy Jersey 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Jersey's capital, St Helier, The Savoy's central location makes it the perfect base from which to explore the Island. Located only a few minutes walk from the town centre and main shopping district, a unique shopping experience, great restaurants and nightlife are close at hand. If you want to see Jersey's many attractions, most of these are within a short drive from the hotel, and with plenty of free on-site parking, hiring a car or bringing your own gives you freedom to roam. Upon arrival you'll discover Montana restaurant that offers the perfect place to indulge in culinary delights and a cool Jazz bar that hosts live music every week with occasional artists from abroad. Also you can enjoy our sunny courtyard with its crystalline pool to while away Summer days, or the modern and stylish gym with the latest equipment if you feel like keeping in shape during your stay. The Savoy is an intimate boutique hotel, providing superb cuisine with inviting guest rooms, making it an ideal choice for a relaxing & comfortable stay in Jersey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Savoy Jersey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Savoy Hotel St Helier
Savoy St Helier
Savoy Hotel Jersey
The Savoy Jersey St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing