We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could Do Better!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Could Do Better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

I have just returned from a short break at the Pomme D'or and although the excellent location, cleanliness of the rooms and the wonderful in house cafe cannot be faulted, I do feel there are a few issues at the hotel that need resolving for it to be worthy of a 4* rating.

Firstly the food at the Harbour Room Restaurant. It is "Carvery Style" and I don't know whether we were just unlucky on the night we ate there - but the beef was tough, and very fatty, the vegetables had so much "crunch" they were nearly raw and the desserts were very average indeed. We did share our opinion with the waiter, but he just said "Sorry you didn't enjoy it" and walked away. In fact this experience put us off eating at the hotel (apart from breakfast) for the rest of our stay. Instead (on another guest's recommendation) we ate at the quaint and charming Candlelight Restaurant at the Hotel Revere, which was absolutely first class - in food, service and entertainment.

On our morning of checkout (Sunday) we found that the Breakfast Room did not open until 8am and that was too late for us, as we had an early flight and had to be at the airport by 8am. So I rang the front desk and politely asked for a pot of tea and some toast or bread rolls in our room, as the Breakfast Room was closed. I was told that I would have to pay a £4 "tray charge" for this. As I had already paid separately for 2 full English breakfast's that we would not be able to eat, I did feel this was not fair and pointed this out to the Front Desk. I even said I would come to the kitchen to collect the Tray myself! It was not the £4 cost that was the issue - it was the "Take it or Leave it" attitude of the staff. Eventually after some heated discussion, the front desk agreed to waive the charge for the tea and bread rolls. This event did somewhat affect our opinion of the hotel in general and should be sorted out. I am not a mean person with money and will always pay for good service - but this was in no way good service!

The maids did an excellent job and the rooms and bathrooms were spotless. There was no real bar area at the hotel - we had drinks in the reception area at night, but this was sadly lacking in atmosphere and there was no music. In contrast the Hotel Revere had a very atmospheric bar with a great live pianist playing. All in all I think the Pomme could do better!!

Jersey itself did not disappoint. It is a great short break destination and we thoroughly enjoyed the Zoo, the Pottery, St Aubin's, Gorey, and the shopping in St. Helier.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Food and unhelpfulness of some staff
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bella36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    472
    124
    30
    15
See reviews for
176
761
48
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2007

Just returned back form the pomme d'or hotel on the 19th August
what can i say, great 4* star hotel, Great Location, bus station next door and so is the taxi rank. Very central for all shops and amenties.
We had a family room room 431, great size with two large beds and a set of bunk beds, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and so was the service.
Every Friday night the hotel offer a seafood buffet in the hotel restaurant this is fantastic as much seafood as you want. It is extremly popular so you must book early to avoid dissapointment. This was our 4th visit to the hotel and we will be back again next year.

  • Liked — The service, Location and value for money
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HamptonSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2007

We stayed at The Pomme d'Or Hotel from the 14th to 16th August
we booked via their website because of the reviews on Trip Advisor.

What a great couple of nights we had even when the weather wasnt that hot.

Bonus for us was seeing the Junior Scotland International Football squad who were here on a training trip. The Beat Jersey junirs 4-0 and 2-1!!

Back to the hotel. The staff are wonderful - so polite and courteous all of the time. The food in The Harbour room was exquisite and oh so much choice. I wanted to try the A la varte restaurant because they have a summer menu consisting basically of oysters, lobster and Strawberries - but the missus doesn't like seafood. MAybe next time i will leave her at home.

Well done tothe staff and management of this very well run establishment.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Not enough time!! wanted to stay longer
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scotsman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAILLE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2007

I stayed here 1st August to 4th August, and have to say that the Pomme d'Or Hotel completely lived up to our expectations and also beat them.

Coming over from France on the Condor 10 Ferry, we were firstly surprised how eay the hotel was to find, it took 10 minutes to get there from the terminal only.

We were checked in by what seemed like a new member of staff who did very well she let us know about the 2 restaurants in the hotel and got a porter to help us to our room. he was very chatty

we ate in the Harbour Room for breakfast and at dinner every meal was perfect and the staff serving us brilliant, Friday night was a seafood buffet, my god i havent seen anything like it and the place was packed, and no wonder it costs less than 20 pounds per person.

i coulld go on and on, but i feel i will bore you, needless to say though i will definately be back, and would not hesitate to recommend the Pomme déOr Hotel to everyne i meet.

  • Liked — bright, spacious and spotlessly clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KARINEMED1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2007

The Pomme D'Or is perfectly located in Liberation Square in St Helier. It is close to the bus terminus, where you can catch a bus to any part of the island; Albert Pier, where you can catch ferries to the other Channel Islands and France; and, to Elizabeth Castle. The main shopping drag is also 5 minutes up the road behind the hotel. I can't think of another better located hotel in Jersey.

It has recently undergone a multimillion pound renovation, so at the time of our visit in Aug 2007, the decor, its rooms and dining areas were pristine. With the staff being helpful and friendly our stay was extremely pleasant.

Breakfast and dinner are buffets. The food is of a high standard and there is plenty of choice. Breakfast is £9 and Dinner is £15 (Friday's fish buffet is £19). A little expensive, but that is Jersey generally rather than a particular problem with the Pomme D'Or.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2007

Stayed for a four night break, booked directly on hotel website. I was extremely pleased with the price in comparison to some 2 star establishments. The room was excellent, spacious and maintained daily by the maid. Location is excellent and central. The buffet breakfast served both english and continental. The continetal included samon, mackerel, ham, cheeses, fruits, yogurts and pastries. The full english( which kept us going all day!) included scrambled and fried eggs, bacon, sausages, black pudding, beans, mushrooms and tomatoes. What more could you ask for! My son even had hot chocolate each morning which kept him happy. Overall we had a great stay and were sad to leave, would definately return.

  • Liked — Immaculate hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holihay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2007

Really looking forward to staying here and overrall met those expectations. The location is fantastic, very close to all the restaurants and shops you need. Reception were great at check in/out and the breakfasts were really faultless. The downsides were the room which although was acceptable, didn't quite reflect the grandeur of the lobby and other parts of the hotel. The hallway on the fourth floor felt a bit out of the 70s, but everywhere was spotlessly clean, so it was liveable. One big downside was the locking of the hotel doors after about 12am. To get in a bell had to be rung and we had to pass an interrogation by the reception to make sure we were staying there. A bit embarassing to be honest. I understand the reasons, but really there must be easier ways.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeybot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Property: Pomme d'Or Hotel
Address: Liberation Square, St. Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing