We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top service.”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Visited the Pomme D’Or on 14th & 15th of December and have nothing but praise for the hotel. Emailed in advance to confirm booking and mentioned it was for my wife’s birthday. Within minutes of arriving in a super spacious premium room overlooking the harbour there was a knock on the door with a very nice birthday cake. Lovely touch.

Check-in girl was really friendly and helpful, asking if there was anything we needed to know about the hotel, St Helier or the island. The hotel has a historic past and the pictures on the walls were interesting and thought provoking. Exemplary service from start to finish during our stay. Bar area very comfortable, again with really good service and prices no different to the local pubs. As per many reviews, our view of the breakfast is that the food was plentiful, fresh and very good quality.

The harbour location is excellent for a wlak along to the seafront to work off the breakfast and the previous night. Would not hesitate to return or recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you want a view go for the harbour facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clifftours_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

937 - 943 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is an historic building due to its use during the Liberation celebrations in 1945. However, the hotel has been substantially upgraded from those days and now provides high class accommodation and simply excellent service.
The front desk staff do not appear to be able to do enough for clients and the restaurant staff at breakfast were attentive but invisible.
Couple all of this with the reasonable prices and one has a magical cocktail.

Room Tip: No on site recreational facilities but they do have arrangements with a nearby hotel for this if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1957Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent New Years Eve in the Golden Apple Suit. At £55 per person for a buffet dinner, it isn't cheap. Upon arriving we waited 20 mins for a drink. The buffet was in the middle of the room, which meant queuing around other tables. Instead of being called up by table it was a 'free for all'. By the time we made it up for our starter there were no plates & no salmon! Our main, the veg & potatoes were cold, dessert, hardly any left and no biscuits left for the cheese! The atmosphere was non existent and the 'DJ' well ..! And to top it off my card was over charged by £55!! All in all, not a good start to 2014! Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoltonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymourgroup, General Manager at Pomme d'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear BoltonPrincess
I’m really sorry that you did not enjoy your New Year’s Eve.
Having pointed out at the very start of the evening that a buffet was not what you were expecting, it is regrettable that you turned down my offer for a full refund at that stage.
I appreciate that your party decided to remain, however, I must disagree that we ran out of anything on the evening as the buffet was continuously replenished.
I am pleased, too, that the mistake on your bill was rectified swiftly as soon as you called us last week to point it out.
Nonetheless, my apologies once again that the evening fell short of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A great many people were stuck at gatwick North on Xmas Eve and could not make their journeys. Our daughter and son-in-law were just 2 out of thousands who di dnot get away as planned. They were due to join me and Mrs EastYorkshire Fingers at the Pommme D'Or for a lavish 7 course Xmas lunch and two nights at the hotel. As it was we were alone for dinner on December 25th and our daughter and her husband had had to head home from gatwick at 02:30hrs after an 8 hour wait and with no-one knowing the whereabouts of thier luggage- which was full of Xmas prseents, naturally!

We had a stressful Xmas Eve but teh team at P D'Or could not have been better. They were simply superb- supporting us and our daughter as we tried in vain to get them across to the Channel islands. Dinner- all 7 courses- was magnificent and the service was courteous and efficient. We have eaten a few times previously at the P D'Or so the quality of the food came as no surprise to us (just try the seafood buffet/ the Sunday Carvery/ or the fabulous breakfasts- no wonder so many jersey people eat there with their families!).

We had not, however stayed at the P D'Or before. Like so many of the hotels in St Helier it caters for large groups of people and although the rooms are immaculately clean, they are a bit on the small side although comfortably appointed. Being in the centre of the town with a splendid view of the harbour, this place takes a bit of beating because of the value for money; the quality of the food; the dedication of the staff; and the position of the place.

Thanks very much for making what could have been a disastrous Xmas into a wonderful time and a much-needed break.

Room Tip: Paying the supplement for the harour view is very worthwhile if you are staying for a short break- s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastYorkshireFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have just returned from three excellent nights at the Pom d'Or Hotel in Jersey. Our Executive room was excellent as were the facilities. The staff were more than helpful in every aspect. The food was very good. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at this centrally placed hotel for the duration of the Christmas holidays & what an excellent choice it turned out to be. The staff & food were of the highest standard and everything was done to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We thought the cost of the stay was very reasonable, considering what was on offer. My only disappointment was at the bar, where a young inexperienced barman stated they didn't do cocktails there, in spite of a menu offering them!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quiet but overlook some very uninteresting roof tops. If you like a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojogluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Comfortable well appointed rooms,friendly attentive staff,not over powering,just the feeling that they are their should you need them.
Food is of a consistent high quality.
An excellent central location for shopping and transport.
When returning to Jersey,would make this hotel my first choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donchemney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St. Helier
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,723 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St. Helier
790 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St. Helier
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Address: Liberation Square, St. Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $121 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing