We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel in Jersey on Channel Islands, United Kingdom”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 20th September to 24th September during my trip to Jersey. I normally stay at the Radisson but because there was no availability on this trip I stayed at the Pomme d'Or. The hotel is a very good hotel. They have a restaurant at the first floor which serves buffet dinner. It is actually a feast going for this buffet. The hotel is right opposite to the bus station. All you have to do is get down and cross the road to get a bus to any place on the island. Rooms are big and spacious. Beds are comfortable. Cleanliness is maintained. Staff is helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelhiGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a really difficult review to write – everything that the other reviewers have said is by and large true – it is a really nice hotel. The staff are excellent, the rooms are clean and spacious, the restaurant is very good and the breakfast buffet is one of the best. So your thinking what has happened to call it the worst hotel I have stayed in – quite simply it is the lack of basic fire safety standards throughout, it reminds me of an early 1970’s hotel – a very basic fire alarm system (Category L4 – should be L1) with no smoke detectors in the bedrooms, the fire doors to the bedrooms themselves do not have self closers and with few exceptions no fire doors have an intumescent strip/cold smoke seal fitted – these are all very basic precautions that even the most modest UK B&B’s have – they are all designed to first of all give warning of and then contain a fire and so allow the occupants to escape safely. At the moment if a fire starts in a bedroom (or any other room without detection) the first anyone will know about it is when it breaks out of the room and into the corridor, unless, and this is possible, there is a common ventilation system between rooms, in which case the smoke will spread throughout the building. How it has been allowed to carry on as a hotel without these basic requirements I do not know, presumably the local fire service don’t carry out fire inspections like they do in the UK, or perhaps there is no requirement for these basic standards in Jersey. So my tip is – if you are going to stay there take a domestic smoke detector with you.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are a bit dearer but you get a lovely view of the marina over the dual cariag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silfinfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymourgroup, General Manager at Pomme d'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel but extremely disappointed to read your further remarks about our fire safety standards. We are pleased to advise that the Pomme d’Or Hotel is regularly inspected by the States of Jersey Fire Service and is fully certified as such. The safety of our guests is absolutely paramount and we would have welcomed the opportunity to allay any concerns you had in person, whilst you were staying in the Hotel, rather than learn about them through this medium.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Pomme d'Or Hotel friday through Monday. It was superb. Friday night was seafood night,..superb, and saturday night was carvery plus sea food. Was the best culinery weekend of my life.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rayambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Central St Helier, Jersey's capital, hosts the traditional hotel the Pomme d"Or. On the first floor balcony liberating troops read the King's speech on the day of Liberation in 1945. But what does it offer the traveller today ?

Rebranded and modernised some years ago the Pomme fits that category of hotels that are familiar to the regular traveller. The occasional logo reminds you of its ethos, but the friendly staff are the same in many hotels in many cities. In truth its missed it opportunity to be special, given its central location and its past.

The staff are great, the rooms are fine, the fare is reasonable, the prices are hotel - so of course you take the chance on a warm evening and discover a wide selection of eating houses in St Helier, and some are very good.

The Pomme was a nice, not expensive stay, but the operative word is nice. If you are Mr & Mrs Weekend Break from Suburbia this is just the hotel for you - no shocks, no surprises all very familiar and very expected. That might have worked in the '90's, but discerning business travellers - who provide regular return traffic - tell me they are trying the new usurpers across the way like the Yacht Hotel. Perhaps next time I'lll try a change and 'compare the market'.

Room Tip: Ask for the seafront on the second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Went with our friends. Staff very friendly and welcoming, Rooms clean and comfortable, Breakfast was good too. Excellent central location overlooking Liberation Square and Harbor, with great buses. good place for walking and cycling did not need a car. Great restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My partner Robert knew I had always wanted to visit Jersey so I was thrilled that on my birthday not only did he arrange a surprise party but also a holiday to Jersey.The hotel was excellent.Central location with an amazing choice of restaurants.The staff were efficient and friendly.When they realised it was my birthday a cake was sent to our room.Breakfast was first class with high quality staff.It is worth paying the extra for the upgraded rooms.We hired a car for our stay and travelled all around the island.We flew from Cardiff on the 8thSeptember 2013 and stayed for 3 nights.To finish the holiday on a high note as we were about to board the plane the RED ARROWS actually landed on the runway.It was an amazing sight.We both would highly recommend Jersey as a holiday destination and this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a lovely long weekend trip. We booked for our silver wedding anniversary having had our honeymoon 25 years previously on Jersey.

We wanted the weekend to be special so booked a premier room. The room was fantastic and all we expected from the website photos and descriptions. Ideal, with a view over Liberty Square and the port. The bed was very comfortable and the bathe and shower room was luxurious.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

A highly recommended, top quality hotel, and our only regret was that we had to come home after only three days

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Premier rooms - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St. Helier
2,084 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
806 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St. Helier
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Address: Liberation Square, St. Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $127 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing