We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Golden Apple with a Harbour View”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel most years for the last twenty four years we keep returning for the comfortable rooms with excellent food.
The views from the restaurant across Liberation Square to the harbour are second to none.
Friday evening dinner is a speciality that brings additional clients other than hotel guests as the buffet provides an abundance of sea foods to satisfy most palates.
The hotel staff give special service to their guests with nothing being too much bother whether it is different dietary needs, remembering your name from past visits,room service all adding up to making you feel at ease,

Room Tip: Corner Harbour View provides the setting sun over St. Aubins. Premier Rooms have separate seating a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TisMeWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location in St Hellier, easy from the bus and in nice part of town. The public rooms are excellent and very smart but the bedrooms could do with an update to match this style. However, they are clean and a good size, bathrooms spotless. The breakfasts in particular were very impressive with a wide range of cooked foods as well as cereals, fruit etc and the view over the Liberation Square and onto harbour from the large breakfast room was also particularly nice.This is a very good hotel, but just needs some of the rooms updating, would still recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ullysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Pomme D'Or is perfectly located for exploring Jersey, right next to Liberation Square and within sight of one of the Marinas. The Bus station is a stones throw away, which provides access to all the attractions Jersey has to offer.
We arrived early in the morning, I had requested an early check in and was delighted to find this was available for us. Our room was perfectly OK, just a standard double, but this room was spacious and more the adequate for our needs....
The breakfasts were amazing and I would challenge anyone to complain....
The reception staff were incredibly helpful and went the extra mile to help.
The bar staff in the evening were lovely to talk to and made us feel very welcome.
Overall, whilst some may say the Pomme D'Or is dated...... well maybe it is, but for me, this is all part of its charm and should not be made into a 'Chic' hotel, it should be kept as it is

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel right in the centre of St Helier offers first class accomodation and food. It is ideal as a base to visit the islands attractions, either on foot, by bus or by car.
The rooms are clean and tidy, have air conditioning and triple glazing.
Breakfast is wonderful! What a choice and all you can eat. It will keep you going all day!
Staff and friendly and helpful.
I would be very happy to stay at the Pom D'or again when next I visit the island.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart6A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a room overlooking the Harbour which was beautiful and very comfortable - excellent shower and there was also a separate bath. There was a lovely separate seating area and desk and a TV with satellite channels. All facilities were excellent and well maintained and the bed was very comfortable and the bed linen and duvet was luxurious.

Our teenage sons had a separate standard twin room which was also very clean and comfortable and had everything they needed.

The buffet breakfast was excellent and we also enjoyed the Harbour Room Carvery on several occasions.

The café food was good but choice was limited and the portion sizes were a little small for my teenage boys liking. However, they did have Sky TV so that was plus point for the boys!

The customer service in this hotel is second to none, everyone is friendly and helpful. This seems to be standard across the whole of the Seymour Hotel Chain. The Merton, one of their sister hotels, also provided excellent service both in their dining room and in their lounge bars when we used them.

The location of the hotel is great for shopping and if you don't have a car, the liberty bus station is only a minutes walk away and you can get to see most of the tourist attractions using the excellent bus service.

We hired a car and the one downside of the hotel is that they don't have their own car park. I never thought to check this when I booked originally so please be warned. You can park in the public car park near to the bus station. ( only 5 minutes walk away), but you have to ensure that you pay for parking between the hours of 8am and 5pm Monday to Saturday. This is 73p per hour ( one unit) using the pay cards. The hotel did arrange for us to park at their Sister Hotel, The Merton which was 15 minutes walk away, but they did warn us that the car park can get busy so there is no guarantee that you can get a space. Although we never had a problem during our weeks stay.

We were able to use the Merton leisure facilities for free during our stay which was brilliant and you can book for any of their restaurants which we made use of too.

The only other negative point is that it can get quite noisy at night particularly on Friday and Saturday nights - the downside of being in the centre of town I guess . This isn't a problem if you have your windows closed as the double glazing is excellent. However, we found that the air con was too noisy at night and preferred the window to be open instead, which was okay most nights except Friday, when we had to switch the air con on as it was so noisy outside it was impossible to sleep with the window open.
We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank footballfanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed in this Hotel for 1 night, had a family room which was all very nice a good size etc.lovely helpful staff, a great breakfast with loads of choice.the Hotel has no pool but you can use the aquadome at the sister Hotel called The Merton which is very good indeed but it is the other side of town about 10-15 minute walk (not sure if there is a courtesy bus).The only gripe we had was that our room on the 5th floor was overlooking a large flat roof and was near to a lot of noisy generators or aircon units which were quite noisy and once i was awoken early morning could not get back to sleep.If you can get a room at the front of the Hotel away from these it would be a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the flat roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guernseyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff were fab couldn't do enough to help. Would recommend this hotel to everyone. Location is the best you could ask for, close to town, beach and bus station. The breakfast was very good lots if choice. When we did have a problems (not with the hotel) the reception staff did very thing to help us.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1pippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St. Helier
2,085 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
806 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St. Helier
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Address: Liberation Square, St. Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $127 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing