We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2 night stay”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Lovely hotel in a great position - walking distance of the town. Nice room but overlooked side street opposite a snooker bar which was very noisy until very late(it was over a bank holiday weekend). Staff were great. Ate in 'Cafe' bar, fodd good but service a bit indifferent and a bit slow. Overall I would recommend and would stay there again myself.

Room Tip: Rooms onto the side street are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicci438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    490
    129
    30
    16
See reviews for
182
789
50
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The room was huge, more like two rooms without a wall separating them, and had a nice view of Liberation Square. Very nice amenities (flat screen tv, free wifi) and conveniently located near the bus station so getting around the island was that much easier. Can't think of a negative. Also, it was within easy walking distance of a delightful chippy, Seafish Café, as well as a very nice, more upscale restaurant, Merchant House.

Room Tip: I think ours was 338, if having the view I described is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank basil11375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, we arrived at the airport and immediately got on the bus to the hotel - it couldn't be easier. The bus station is just around the corner from the hotel and within 2 minutes of getting of the bus we were checking in. Very good staff, pleasant and helpful. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the street, not much of a view but if I had wanted a view I would have paid for it. The rooms were excellent, very clean and comfortable. Windows are double glazed as there was a little bit of noise in the evening but nothing terrible Good supply of tea,coffee etc. Toiletries were provided but there was no body cream, or hair condition. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice and plenty of it. The hotel is probably in one of the best positions for location, walking distance of the shops/bars etc. Liberation Square is the central point for coach trips etc. We decided to have dinner in the hotel on our second night, unfortunately this was a bit of a let down, the buffet starter was excellent - lots of choice and it was delicious, but there were just not enough staff to serve the main course, a couple of times the Chef had to leave the kitchen to get the waiters to serve the food. I also had to complain because my meal was stone cold, also a fellow traveller has a fish allergy and had to return her plate 3 times because they served it with fish - not so good. I would recommend this hotel, and would stay there again but would not have an evening meal there.
We went for the train ride to St. Aubin Bay, wouldn't do it again. £7.50 per person and they squeeze too many people in. It would have been cheaper, more comfortable and warmer to get the local bus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S.S.S.M.L.A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our first visit to Jersey and picked Pomme D'or for its
poison in St Helier on Liberation Square just across from the marina
We arrived at 10-00 am the reception staff were very helpful
as we did not expect to be able to get in to our rooms
but know they were ready for us which was a great help.
We booked a package of flights and hotel so did not have the best room
in the hotel but it was fine.
The breakfast was one best I have ever had in a hotel.
Full English inc black pudding fried bread was fantastic.
The service was excellent.
Also a great room for dining in with a view towards the Marina
I highly recommend the Pomme D'or and would return only
we found St Helier poor for Restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KoiSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was my first time in Jersey, and we chose the Pomme d'Or through recommendation. The Hotel is in prime position on Liberation Square and the harbour. The room was adequate although a little tired in places. The bed was hard but to our liking. Staff were pleasant but at times a little too pushy for my liking. Cannot comment on the food as we ate out all the time to give us some variety.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not adjacent to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringmer
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights at hotel last week. Super service, absolutely superb location right on liberation square. Nothing was too much for the staff and its 5 class on service. Having entered into a very plush reception and bar area I just felt the rooms were little dated for the price. The breakfast was the best I have ever had at hotel. So much choice inc porridge, every cereal imaginable, full English inc black pudding, fried bread, which often get missed in other hotels. Loads of different cheeses. Kippers, yogurts and pastries. Super brekkie

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay at in St Helier, right at the centre of things, location therefore brilliant.

The staff are very friendly and seem to enjoy their job - the girls on the front desk are excellent some of the best receptionists I've come across nothing was too much trouble for them.

Breakfast was very good and the restaurant run very efficiently reminding me of a 1930's film, staff dress in uniform black aprons and white shirts and black tie and worked at pace.

Another good idea was to have a computer and printer in reception area, so you can print off your boarding passes - icons already loaded by airline to make it easier.

We would stay again - no problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NATBET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Property: Pomme d'Or Hotel
Address: Liberation Square, St. Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing