We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel bad resort”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good hotel bad resort”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our first visit to Jersey and picked Pomme D'or for its
poison in St Helier on Liberation Square just across from the marina
We arrived at 10-00 am the reception staff were very helpful
as we did not expect to be able to get in to our rooms
but know they were ready for us which was a great help.
We booked a package of flights and hotel so did not have the best room
in the hotel but it was fine.
The breakfast was one best I have ever had in a hotel.
Full English inc black pudding fried bread was fantastic.
The service was excellent.
Also a great room for dining in with a view towards the Marina
I highly recommend the Pomme D'or and would return only
we found St Helier poor for Restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KoiSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    504
    137
    32
    18
See reviews for
193
838
50
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was my first time in Jersey, and we chose the Pomme d'Or through recommendation. The Hotel is in prime position on Liberation Square and the harbour. The room was adequate although a little tired in places. The bed was hard but to our liking. Staff were pleasant but at times a little too pushy for my liking. Cannot comment on the food as we ate out all the time to give us some variety.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not adjacent to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringmer
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights at hotel last week. Super service, absolutely superb location right on liberation square. Nothing was too much for the staff and its 5 class on service. Having entered into a very plush reception and bar area I just felt the rooms were little dated for the price. The breakfast was the best I have ever had at hotel. So much choice inc porridge, every cereal imaginable, full English inc black pudding, fried bread, which often get missed in other hotels. Loads of different cheeses. Kippers, yogurts and pastries. Super brekkie

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay at in St Helier, right at the centre of things, location therefore brilliant.

The staff are very friendly and seem to enjoy their job - the girls on the front desk are excellent some of the best receptionists I've come across nothing was too much trouble for them.

Breakfast was very good and the restaurant run very efficiently reminding me of a 1930's film, staff dress in uniform black aprons and white shirts and black tie and worked at pace.

Another good idea was to have a computer and printer in reception area, so you can print off your boarding passes - icons already loaded by airline to make it easier.

We would stay again - no problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NATBET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel to be in St Helier for a wedding being held at another Hotel along the seafront and despite a preferential rate being available at the host hotel, wanted to search for an alternative.

This Hotel came reccommended highly from our Jersey friends, booked direct a standard room for two nights. Having never been to Jersey before, it really was very easy to get from the airport to St Helier, one way on the bus for £1.70 per adult ~ and it drops you right across from the Hotel in Independence Square.

Staff have been fantastic, very friendly and very committed. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room, standard booked, was large spacious and on the corner of the top floor which allowed for plenty of space.

Air conditioning, quiet rooms ~ the windows are double glazed with two seperate UPVC windows so you could say quad glazed!!! Comfy beds and clean, everything that you would want.

We took the seafront trolly train to St Aubin and walked back ~ great views and took in the sea air. I hope we will return to Jersey soon and base at the Pomme D'Or again. After that walk we enjoyed the regular friday night seafood buffet in the Hotel restaurant. You may think that £26.50 per person is expensive but when you experience the range of fresh seafood and the volume one can eat - its well worth a try.

A great stay with fond memories, oh and a propper hot full english breakfast!

Room Tip: Request 513 or similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonUpchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is the second hotel I've stayed at in Jersey. The first, l'Horizon in St Brelade is excellent, but its location is such that there's nowhere to escape to - which for me, on a conference, is a problem. The Pomme d'Or on the other hand couldn't be better. It's right in the centre of town, and escape to bars and nightclubs (not my thing, but it might be yours) is easy.The hotel itself is comfortable, the food excellent, the service just as it should be. The conference facilities are fine and they succeeded in serving a ballroom full of people a choice of evening meals all arriving at the same time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank robjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was our first time in Jersey and we were not disappointed by our choice of hotel.The location of the Pomme D'or is excellent facing the marina and very close to the bus station.A great selection of bars and restaurants- everything from casual dining to Michelin star-is within easy walking distance. We had a warm welcome from Ewa and Christabel on reception and they were delightful and helpful throughout our stay.Our room was on the fifth floor and we found it comfortable with a high standard of housekeeping. An excellent buffet breakfast which caters for all tastes was available. The breakfast staff also offered to serve us breakfast at our table if we did not want to serve ourselves. I must make special mention of Nicole in the cafe bar. A lovely girl and a delightful ambassador for the hotel.

Room Tip: If you wish a view you must request front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STARKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,028 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,945 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in St.Saviour
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Property: Pomme d'Or Hotel
Address: Liberation Square, St. Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing