We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We just stopped in for a quick coffee. The staff were great and the coffee was lovely. Definitely a place to stop if you are in need of caffeine. The menu also looked good! But expensive! The service was a tad slow but that was because they were quite busy, so it is not really the staffs fault as they had a lot of people to please!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    493
    133
    31
    16
See reviews for
184
799
50
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Pomme D'or in St Helier over the Easter Weekend, we arrived early in the morning around 9.00am and we were looking to leave our luggage with the hotel until later that day. We were met with a very warm welcome (on a very chilly day) and to our surprise offered our room! Throughout our stay the staff were very friendly and informative about things we could do over the weekend. The Breakfast buffet was fabulous and had everything you could wish for, we never ate in the hotel in the evening so not able to comment. All in all a very nice hotel with good service and would happily recommend a stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiftydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have never been to a hotel where all the staff has been as attentive and really friendly. Management need to give them a big thank you!

The room was a comfortable size and had all mod cons that are required of a hotel room. The only down side is the room could provide water and mini bar.
The bathroom was a nice size and I was impressed that the bathroom had a speaker connected to the TV (this pleased me), it was very clean and tidy.

As for the moans on the décor, this is in the back hallway and it is perfectly fine, it may not be of a modern standard but its clean and tidy looking.

I was surprise that the hotel doesn’t have any information about the role it played during WW2 (we found out this information from the tunnels, which was very interesting).

As for location, it’s in walking distance to the town centre, next to the bus station, close to the ferry, close to the maritime museum, basically perfect location for exploring Jersey.

Breakfast was lovely and fresh, it had a wide selection of food and juices, plentiful tea and coffee.

I would 100% recommend this hotel to future Jersey travellers who don’t have children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beddown78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ideally situated, well established and with a happy, friendly staff the Pomme D'or is a little gem in St Helier. The general ambience, comfort and standard of rooms were excellent. The food was good standard hotel fare apart from the Friday night seafood buffet which was exceptional value. Certainly a hotel I would recommend and to which I'd make a return visit. Only slight niggle being the rather tired decor in the corridors.

Room Tip: Can be a little noisy in some rooms - opt for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on many occasions (easily 20+) and each time I think the service is excellent. Managed this time to get a cheap upgrade, plus choccies plus flowers and some champers. They really go out of their way to impress. I agree with previous comments re the decor but that is really only in the corridors and on the stairwells - the rest of the hotel is modern and up to date. Can't fault the staff, or the food, but be warned that there is a taxi rank just around the corner and the Friday / Saturday nights can be noisy with drunken screaming girls. Not a fault of the hotel of course - but if you can get an inward facing room then go for it. The next time I go to Jersey, I will of course, stay once more at the Pomme. The Royal Yacht over the square looks OK but I much prefer the service at the Pomme.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The entrance and downstairs areas look nice but when you go upstairs the hallways and bedroom decor are rather dated. The (executive) room was a nice size and was cleaned and tidied daily, but we had an outside room which was very noisy at night, even with secondary double glazing, so ask for an inside room if you are not a partygoer who plans to stay out until the early hours!. The staff were excellent, as was the daily breafast included in the price. All-in-all £80ish per night was good value as the location is fantastically central and across the road from the bus station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 10:30am and our rooms were available so we were allowed to check in immediately which was very welcomed after an early start.

During checkin the staff provided all the information required, very welcoming and friendly.

On arrival day, we received a phone call to the room to ask if we were happy.

Every time we left or returned the front desk staff greeted us or wished us a nice day.

Breakfast service is excellent and plentiful. The food quality is excellent. With daylight saving causing an oversleep, we were still allowed to have breakfast.

Having learned about the role the hotel played in WW2 it would be nice if there was an exhibition in the hotel lobby.

The rooms are comfortable of a nice size. An addition of a mini fridge and complementary water would be a welcome addition. The bathrooms have a strong powerful shower although a decorative uplift would be welcome.

If I were to visit the island again, which I doubt, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
1,879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
1,625 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in St.Saviour
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Property: Pomme d'Or Hotel
Address: Liberation Square, St. Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing