We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week in Jersey”
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
stourbridge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One week in Jersey”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I had a weeks holiday in the Pomme d'Or hotel. Jersey
Every thing was so perfect it was untrue, the staff treated every one like royalty, nothing was to much trouble.
The breakfast was superb, all the English grilled and fried stuff and a huge array of cerials including porrage. Fresh and dried fruit, jams,cheeses ect.
Just down the road was the bus station where buses left for all areas of the island. No need to hire a car
The indoor markets were amazing with fresh fish and shell fish.Exotic flowers and veg and much more, even a huge indoor fountain.
The marina is just across the road and also a new shopping center.
The rooms are large with flat screen TV, easy chairs and plenty of storage space.
The windows are triple glazed, some noise did creep through, but not enough to worry.
We went to various restaurants some in the royal square which were good, be careful though a lot of pubs do not serve food weekends. There are lots of stag and hen nights going on, because Jersey has long been known as the wedding island.
So plenty going on around, a super hotel and lots of friendly people about
Alan Wittin
Stourbridge

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan_wStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    504
    137
    32
    18
See reviews for
193
838
50
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel for a visit to St Helier. The staff were friendly and helpful, yet professional, and the room we stayed in was brilliant. A very good breakfast with very friendly restaurant staff. There was a lot of noise made by youngsters visiting the nearby nightclubs and bars on Friday and Saturday night (we don't like to sleep with the windows closed normally but had to during our week-end stay) maybe quieter during the week. Would most definitely like to return, but for a midweek break!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay near the marina and central to St Helier. The Hotel room/service/food/check-in/check-out were all exceptional and the staff were eager to please - nothing was too much trouble. Even when it seemed that everyone wanted their breakfast at around 9am, Carlos (the 'Breakfast Manager' [sorry, I don't know his proper title]), didn't flap and calmly directed proceedings so it all ran smoothly even though over 90 hungry people turned up.

Some people mentioned the difficulty of parking but I didn't hire a car because the bus service was excellent with the bus terminal being less than a 2-minute walk from the Hotel foyer. Jersey is a small island, (only 9x5 miles), so taxis and buses are inexpensive and frequent.

If you are on holiday in Jersey, I recommend 'the petit train', very twee but most informative about the island and things to see and do.

Also, don't leave Jersey without tasting the 'Real Dairy Jersey ice cream' from the kiosk in Liberation Square - DELICIOUS!

Room Tip: Room 539 is large with a view over Liberation Square and the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowfoxrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel whilst visiting my niece. The staff were very welcoming and the room was very comfortable. The hotel is very convenient for tours and shopping. The breakfast was excellent. Nice big bath towels! Slept really well and not affected by any external noise - windows were quadruple glazed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is good the staff are friendly and they are happy to help you wherever possible. The location of the hotel is ideal right in the centre. The only criticism is there is no parking available there is a busy car park where you must pay with scratch cards from 8am until 5pm. This was not a massive issue for us as we were visiting other areas of jersey during these times.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashash2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great staff, nice clean room, fantastic food, sadly if you are at the rear of the hotel you may need ear plugs due to the busy and noisy pubs and clubs behind the hotel, even the double double glazing isn't enough and there isn't much else they can do to make it quieter.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow Essex
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We had a Premier room which was excellent overlooking the harbour. Reception staff were very friendly and always helpful and so where the vast majority of all other staff except one restaurant manger who was rather abrupt and in polite. Down side if anything of the hotel is the poor choice of evening food in a lovely restaurant. A carvery meal consisting of just two meats beef and turkey the later not even a full turkey only a rolled breast joint, and a starter of a help yourself buffet all for £18.50 not great value for money. For a 4 star rated hotel the menu in the restaurant could be so so much better. The menu in the Cafe Bar was more appertising looking but lacked the ambience wanted whilst celebrating a silver wedding anniversary.

Breakfast was a buffet affair again but provided ample choice for all. Only complaint was that the offer of anything else was not forth coming, poached eggs where stated but never offered.

Downside was that the hotel puts a lot of effort into the conferencing side with lots of delegates at the hotel all the time.

Location wise this was superb for the centre of town and if your mode of transport was bus the main bus station was just across the road from the hotel.

Room Tip: If you can opt for the Premier Rooms if on pleasure for peace and quite and a bit of luxury very spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.0 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,028 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,945 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in St.Saviour
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Property: Pomme d'Or Hotel
Address: Liberation Square, St. Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Business Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing