We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must when visiting St Helier.”
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #81 of 228 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A must when visiting St Helier.”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Didn’t read the reviews before we went but certainly agree with the positive one’s. Turned up on Dec 14th at 7pm without a reservation. The manager quickly sorted us a table despite there being a number of tables reserved for Xmas parties. He spoke with us a couple of times after that and showed genuine interest on where we were from etc.

Food was very good, particularly the Chicken Korai. Even though we were accommodated at short notice we were not rushed at any stage and given a proper complimentary drink at the end. Our advice for visitors to St Helier would be to seek this place out and enjoy the hospitality and quality food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clifftours_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    57
    8
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food, great atmosphere and costumer service of the highest order!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Thank you to Jay and his team for making our first anniversary meal one to remember.
I had heard great things of the restaurant from my girlfriend who has been a regular for years. They definitely delivered finess with every aspect of the meal from start to finish making it a night to remember.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adzolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Again an excellent meal”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great value, excellent food service and wine.

Again Jay and his team looked after all of us wonderfully, with no pressure to move on because of others wanting your table. For us a starter was not necessary apart from the poppodoms and dips etc, as we knew from previous great experiences that the main dishes would be enough.

Definitely going back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tycariadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Best Indian on the Rock food is good and the staff are brilliant and no rush allowed to take your time and enjoy the atmosphere Well worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Speechless”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting the Tamarind last night for a friends Birthday. From the minute we were given a very warm welcome, coats taken, chairs pulled out, a discussion on what would be the best wines. They gave us a good description of the food and made sure we were ok with everything, topping up our wine etc. The food was fabulous. Easily the best indian restaurant on the island. No rushing us to leave telling us we could take as long as we liked even though the place was packed out on a Thursday night!!. Great atmosphere. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing