We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Stuffed"”

Barros' Tropical Bistro
Ranked #36 of 222 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"Stuffed"”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

While visiting relations on the island we booked a table for four in the restaurant during the "Tennerfest" period and boy did we get our moneys worth. We chose the two course menu with the option of dessert for a third course but after our second course we were "stuffed". The quality and volume of the meals were excellent and the staff worked very hard to satisfy a full restaurant. The restaurant was also very busy dispensing "take away" meals. Highly recommended

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hugh1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    69
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You won't leave hungry!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Visited Tropical Bistro last night and used the Tennerfest meal. It wasn't quite Tennerfest prices as 2 courses were £12.50 and 3 courses £15 but I have to say two courses was more than enough. I went with 3 other people and none of us could manage a dessert. We all had an Espetada which I highly recommend. That comes with rice, chips, herb flavoured new potatoes and salad. We also had a bottle of house white wine which was very pleasant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeniF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bistro food”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our visit coincided with 'Tennerfest' menu. Great value, friendly egg incident service, good quality food. Average wine!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sailingdrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great food - a bit of a surprise.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect with a name like "tropical bistro" - maybe food with pineapple and raisins as standard. Partly went as it was raining and close to our hotel. Loved the atmosphere- busy and bustling. Staff very pleasant and efficient. Food fantastic , tasty and lots of it. Made the mistake of having a starter the first time. Very tasty sausage, but filling ,and the skewered meat a meal in itself.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Docrioja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

3 course set menu absolutely great taste and value for money.
Atmosphere very good and staff splendid!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RECBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barros' Tropical Bistro also viewed

 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Barros' Tropical Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing