We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully served,wonderful food”
Review of Longueville Manor

Longueville Manor
Ranked #1 of 228 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $110
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Andrew Baird's food is all about the very best of local produce as well as the abundant harvest from the Longueville Manor's own kitchen garden. Andrew's style of food is all about simplicity and flavour. It's about celebrating the produce and presenting it in an uncluttered yet appetizing way. Steeped in the classical traditions of fine cuisine, the Longueville kitchen continues to innovate, stimulate and surprise,
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautifully served,wonderful food”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a wonderful evening for my parents Golden Wedding Anniversary. All our requested and dietary requirements were catered for. Service was discreet and professional.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    54
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Unmissable experience you have to try”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

6 of us booked in for dinner on a Friday night. The Manor looked fabulous as our taxi drove up their drive and the experience started with staff coming out to open the car door and guide us inside. They had a room reserved just for our party for pre dinner drinks while we made our menu choices. Some of the most delicious plump olives I can remember were provided along with prawns and cheese balls and crisps warmed our taste buds. A good start for the islands only 5 red AA stars.

We ordered starters and mains off the £60 menu options. We all found plenty to suit our diverse tastes. We ate in the Orange Room rather then the dining room to which it was attached as the latter tends to be quieter and we are not that quiet! We ordered a sensibly priced bottle of bubbly and a merlot both of which led to second bottles of each as they were very good. The sommelier's put on a great show with the candle and decanter preparing the red wine. Worth the money alone!

The starters came as a series of artistic presentations and all had tastes out of this world. (Some of my party thought the perceived small portions would mean a visit to the chippy on the way home but not at all. By time the mains had been consumed we were all full having to make room for dessert!) The seafood selection and the lobster tail were particularly good.

Our mains choices ranged from halibut fillet to angus steak. My wife constantly asks for medium steak with no blood and they constantly get it wrong either well done or too bloody. This was the second restaurant to get it right (Rick Steins being the other one). We all were impressed with our choices. The daft thing was even the new potatoes tasted out of the world! All the time the staff were attentive, topping up drinks in a friendly efficient manner.

Deserts again varied and again didn't disappoint. The cheese board was a trolly and the sommelier knew his stuff and talked through the various choices and accompaniments, mashed prawns, honey etc. first class and highly recommended option even with a supplement. The liquors and Ports are optional, v good and pricy. We had the Dows 77 Port with the cheese reputed to be the second best vintage. At £22 a glass it needed to be and it proved a treat.

All together a splendid experience a treat at an average price of £100 a head inc drinks (we didn't hold back) and service and tax. A great mix of top service, excellent environment and top class food and drink. A treat I recommend and cannot wait to revisit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmdgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Faultlesss Food & Service”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

An amazing meal with excellent service in the most beautiful surroundings. The restaurant was buy but this did not impact on the service whatsoever.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2013AJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Jersey”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The excellent choice, taste, presentation it is all perfection on a plate. The dining rooms of which there are two, the Garden Room and the Oak Dining room, they are both superb. The experence of dining at the Longoueville Manor is just wonderful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I was really impressed by the attention to detail and exceptional service - nothing was ever too much trouble, the staff were friendly and always smiling and the food was exceptional! I can highly recommend the Longueville Manor to anyone visiting Jersey!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJTB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longueville Manor also viewed

 
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Longueville Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing