We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classic Italian restaurant”
Review of La Capannina

La Capannina
Ranked #88 of 223 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $198
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A classic Italian restaurant”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

La Capannina has not changed in years - this is part of its charm . It offers a wide menu of traditional Italian dishes. Seafood and fish , roast lamb from the trolley and grouse are all consistently good. The langoustines with the house mayonnaise are fantastic. Tiramisu outstanding and if you would like strawberries and raspberries with it just ask.
This is not modern dining but traditional dining. Our family regularly enjoys it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mangerbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    38
    19
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent wine”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A local client recommended that we eat at La Capannina as it is something of a local institution. We ate fresh prawns, lamb chops and saddle of lamb which is one of their house specialities and it was pretty good. The Italian red wines made the evening and two bottles accounted for 50% of our bill of £300 (three people, three courses).

Not a great deal of atmosphere but the staff were courteous and efficient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy_E68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Excellent Service and good atmosphere. The table d'hote menu looked reasonable but we didn't like the choice. That's the good. The a la carte was very expensive and nothing special. I ordered Turbot in a champagne sauce and the fish came completely drowned in a thick, cheesy, floury sauce - no evidence of champagne though I'm sure it was in there somewhere. I feel this restaurant is living on its past reputation and is lucky enough to have a loyal,local customer base who like the 70s feel to the menu and food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fruitfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simple Excellence”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The best thing about this restaurant is that they cook simply and well. You get all the old-fashioned extras like the served vegetables and desert trolley but the way everything is put together is quite superb.

For special occasions this is a good choice because there is a nice ambience and a relaxed atmosphere. Service is excellent without being too formal.

I think the specialities of this restaurant are the fish starters and the meat main dishes. The salmon starter with prawns is particularly good, and all the meat dishes are cooked perfectly. My brother even asked for steak tartare (not on the menu) and they served it up.

For vegetarians, the risotto is nice and very filling.

They made a birthday cake with fresh raspberries and it was delicious..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simonsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We are regular visitors to Jersey and La Capanina is one of our 'must do's' whilst we are there. My husband sticks to the Smoked Salmon starter and roast of the day (which is generally Lamb!), there is a reason he does that, every time, without fail, it is excellent. I vary things a bit more but am always happy with what I get.

The menu is maybe a little dated but the food you get always extremely tasty and they are not the type of restaurant that has to 'mess about' with the food, it tastes good enough cooked plainly.

I do not understand the review below as we have found the staff there to be very friendly and attentive without being overbearing.

We will be back again later this year and will definitely return to La Capanina.

Incidentally, we have stayed at a number of hotels on Jersey (Longueville/St Brelades Bay/Chateau La Chaire), when we have asked for a recommended restaurant or their favourite place, they have always said La Capanina?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCH5560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capannina also viewed

St. Helier, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to La Capannina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing